Harmony One remote with HW-D551 soundbar - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-29-2013, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GWBancroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a hw d551 soundbar, and a harmony one remote. I am having some issues because I have a Blu ray player and my Xbox both connected to the soundbar via hdmi (using the arc input on the tv). The problem is that the Blu ray player is anynet+ capable and so will automatically switch the input on the soundbar, etc...but the Xbox will not. Is there any way to reconcile this with the remote, so it may know which input the soundbar is on? I'm considering buying the newer smart control remote system....would this help my problem?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks folks!
GWBancroft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-29-2013, 10:12 AM
 
ttlnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Connect the blu-ray and the Xbox directly to the sound bar. If you have another device like a cable/satellite box connect the HDMI directly to the TV and an Optical to the sound bar from it. Turn off CEC and ARC (any net) in all your devices. Then set up your Harmony and it should work fine. ARC and CEC interfere with what your Harmony is trying to do. Let the Harmony do the switching of your devices. ARC and CEC is nice in theory but in the real world they tend to cause more problems than they solve.
ttlnb is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-31-2013, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GWBancroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Only problem with that is that ARC functionality is dependent upon Anynet-CEC being turned on.....

GWBancroft is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-31-2013, 10:31 PM
 
ttlnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 47
That's why I said connect the sound bar with an optical cable from the TV and do not use ARC.
ttlnb is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-01-2014, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GWBancroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Guess ARC isn't for folks like me with universal remotes.....oh well. Thanks for the help.

GWBancroft is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-01-2014, 11:39 AM
 
ttlnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 47
ARC and CEC are evil and not for most people:-)
ttlnb is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Logitech Harmony One Advanced Universal Remote

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off