54 Inch Vizio 5.1 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 12:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This new soundbar is really intriguing me..

Here's a question that may sound dumb but here goes: would it be possible to attach it to the bottom of a mounted Samsung UN65H7150 using 3M heavy duty foam tape (or something else)?

As my tv is mounted in a corner, and it's huge, it'd be the only practical way for me to have it unless I shop for a perfect shaped triangle table.

Thanks for your input.
DamTheMan99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 02:21 AM
Member
 
Shockwave199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You'd be much better off going with something like this. Tape will not hold.

http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Direct-...BXTPTXE3QXNNQA
Shockwave199 is offline  
post #63 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 09:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockwave199 View Post
You'd be much better off going with something like this. Tape will not hold.

http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Direct-...BXTPTXE3QXNNQA
Nice wasn't aware that kind of things existed.

Thanks.
DamTheMan99 is offline  
post #64 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The reviews for this soundbar are almost universally great...except for the newest buyeron Amazon (no 16 as of yesterday). He was pretty critical. Given all the glowing ones, it's odd for sure. I wonder if any of the owners on this thread have read it?
taichi4 is offline  
post #65 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 01:26 PM
Member
 
Shockwave199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For every product there's good and bad reviews. You have to see for yourself.
Shockwave199 is offline  
post #66 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I've been pushing for this soundbar for a long time on AVS, based on specs and technology. I'm waiting for Best Buy to actually carry the 54 inch (which Vizio said they would) so that I can hear it.

Until then I'm getting vicarious semi-satisfaction by reading other's reviews.

Did you read that review?
taichi4 is offline  
post #67 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 03:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Another question that I have about it: I did read that most TVs will not pass 5.1 properly to other devices.

Since there is not enough hdmi ports in the bar how do I get true 5.1 to the soundbar if my HDMI sources are plugged in the TV?
DamTheMan99 is offline  
post #68 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamTheMan99 View Post
Another question that I have about it: I did read that most TVs will not pass 5.1 properly to other devices.

Since there is not enough hdmi ports in the bar how do I get true 5.1 to the soundbar if my HDMI sources are plugged in the TV?
Possibly a splitter? Also you can probably run an optical cable from another device into the Vizio, since it has an optical port as well.
taichi4 is offline  
post #69 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Shockwave199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
I've been pushing for this soundbar for a long time on AVS, based on specs and technology. I'm waiting for Best Buy to actually carry the 54 inch (which Vizio said they would) so that I can hear it.

Until then I'm getting vicarious semi-satisfaction by reading other's reviews.

Did you read that review?
Yeah I read it. The thing is that you don't know peoples understandings and attitudes. Many people start from a bias perspective, coming from higher end systems. Some just like to find fault in almost everything, thinking that makes them a know-it-all. I read reviews for trends. If enough people find a common problem, it something to consider. When I bought the 42" I went with Best Buy locally, instead of Amazon. If I didn't like it, it was a car ride away to return it. I didn't hear it there- a store doesn't tell me anything about sound potential, really. It was just for the ease of return if needed.

Last edited by Shockwave199; 07-13-2014 at 06:16 PM.
Shockwave199 is offline  
post #70 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 06:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
Possibly a splitter? Also you can probably run an optical cable from another device into the Vizio, since it has an optical port as well.
I'll check on my prospective TV's owner thread to see how they'd handle this.

How do you guys get the sound to it without an AV Receiver in the mix though and still get 5.1 100%?
DamTheMan99 is offline  
post #71 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamTheMan99 View Post
I'll check on my prospective TV's owner thread to see how they'd handle this.

How do you guys get the sound to it without an AV Receiver in the mix though and still get 5.1 100%?
I don't own one yet, but an HDMI (or optical) cable from a Bluray to the soundbar will pass 5.1.
taichi4 is offline  
post #72 of 160 Old 07-13-2014, 08:57 PM
Member
 
BamaShaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wrong thread.. Sorry
BamaShaka is online now  
post #73 of 160 Old 07-14-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
dollarbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How would you go about setting up the rear speakers? It has no stands. This could be a problem?
dollarbill is offline  
post #74 of 160 Old 07-14-2014, 04:28 PM
Member
 
BamaShaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
I've been pushing for this soundbar for a long time on AVS, based on specs and technology. I'm waiting for Best Buy to actually carry the 54 inch (which Vizio said they would) so that I can hear it.

Until then I'm getting vicarious semi-satisfaction by reading other's reviews.

Did you read that review?
They didn't by chance hint when Best Buy would start carrying the 54" did they? I have some gift cards and gift certs I need to spend there. Patiently waiting...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
BamaShaka is online now  
post #75 of 160 Old 07-14-2014, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaShaka View Post
They didn't by chance hint when Best Buy would start carrying the 54" did they? I have some gift cards and gift certs I need to spend there. Patiently waiting...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
Between Vizio's usual fuzzy response. and Best Buy's uninformed response, I haven't a clue. Based on nothing at all I'd guess a month or two.
taichi4 is offline  
post #76 of 160 Old 07-14-2014, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
rrollens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Any news when places like Costco and Sam's Club might begin selling the 5451?
rrollens is offline  
post #77 of 160 Old 07-14-2014, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Yuppers5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've been waiting for this larger soundbar for a year, so finally I want to pick one up. I read that the sub and soundbar communicate via 2.4ghz signal. Is that true? I remember Vizio stating you need a "a line of sight" to the soundbar for sub placement.

Just want to make sure. I have a huge couch with space and wall behind me. Will placing the sub behind the couch, with no line of sight be a problem?
Yuppers5 is offline  
post #78 of 160 Old 07-14-2014, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I just called tech support at Vizio and they said it should have some line of sight, even if only peeking out from behind the sofa or chair at the soundbar. You might want to wait for an owner on this thread to address this based on experience.

Frankly, if I got one of these I would overlook the advantage of not having to run wires to the rear of the room, get long RCA cables, and put the subwoofer at the front of the room near the soundbar. I would do that because although the lower range of the sub is essentially omnidirectional, the upper end of it may generate some directional cues. Placing it at the front should provide a better, more coherent sound, IMO.
taichi4 is offline  
post #79 of 160 Old 07-15-2014, 12:55 AM
Member
 
ArcticHaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamTheMan99 View Post
Another question that I have about it: I did read that most TVs will not pass 5.1 properly to other devices.

Since there is not enough hdmi ports in the bar how do I get true 5.1 to the soundbar if my HDMI sources are plugged in the TV?
I answered this earlier in this thread...

I have my PS4, XB1 and Oppo Bluray all hooked into http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BB0GY1C

Then I use that to switch the optical signal. My TV (even with its crazy price point) cant pass through DTS or Dolby signal. With this solution I get DTS or Dolby Digital from all 3 sources.
ArcticHaze is offline  
post #80 of 160 Old 07-15-2014, 12:56 AM
Member
 
ArcticHaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dollarbill View Post
How would you go about setting up the rear speakers? It has no stands. This could be a problem?
Cheap satellite stands can be purchased for $25 or so...
ArcticHaze is offline  
post #81 of 160 Old 07-15-2014, 10:53 AM
Member
 
squidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamTheMan99 View Post
Another question that I have about it: I did read that most TVs will not pass 5.1 properly to other devices.

Since there is not enough hdmi ports in the bar how do I get true 5.1 to the soundbar if my HDMI sources are plugged in the TV?
most TV's do not pass 5.1 audio (thanks HDCP) - it gets downgraded to stereo. you would have to get a splitter or decide who gets 5.1 in your device tree. I've tried to get a splitter in the past and it was clunky in my setup. If I bite on this receiver I will probably just hook the PS3 directly to HDMI and run other devices as stereo thru the tv. Sad panda.
squidget is offline  
post #82 of 160 Old 07-16-2014, 05:08 AM
Member
 
schneid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one. Sounds great but some comments.

Only one HDMI input. Originally feeding four HDMI's to Sammy 60" with Optical Out from it to SB. NO 5.1. Sammy downgrades Optical Out to Stereo. Tried my Sony receiver to do HDMI switching. Picture OK but NO audio at all. Ordered an HDMI 5 x 1 switch from Amazon. Experience in the past is that they are iffy. ANYONE HAVE ANY BETTER IDEAS?

Re the question re Sub behind couch. No issues for me doing that. BT is RF and should go right through a couch unless it is one of the one's made from a 60's Cadillac back end.

I thought BT would be flaky but no issues whatsoever. Never disconnects. Never any interference. Pairing with your phone is pretty cool for music.

The remote is kind of hard to read and not very intuitive. Let my Harmony One take over for it. Yes, Logitech already has this puppy in their database.

To me, wider is better to obtain left/right separation. If they sold 60", I would have bought it.

It's pretty plug 'n play except for the dearth of HDMI inputs

Probably not for an audiophile but plenty good enough for me.
schneid is offline  
post #83 of 160 Old 07-16-2014, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Thanks for the clarification on the "behind the couch scenario." I never take what the Vizio reps say as final.

When you say that the soundbar is probably not for audiophiles, is there some audible deficiency that you can point to?
taichi4 is offline  
post #84 of 160 Old 07-16-2014, 11:21 AM
Member
 
schneid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
Thanks for the clarification on the "behind the couch scenario." I never take what the Vizio reps say as final.

When you say that the soundbar is probably not for audiophiles, is there some audible deficiency that you can point to?
All a matter of perception. For $500 it's outstanding too me but I'm sure a $5,000 setup with big amp and speakers would be much better.

I have found my biggest issue is Dolby Digital Plus that evidently Netflix uses. As stated above, I discovered my Sammy TV only outputs Stereo via the Optical Out. On my Roku3, it would not do Surround, just Stereo. Tried some tests. Running the Roku to HDMI In and the HDMI (ARC) to the TV this box will not do Netflix Surround. Until Roku is switched to Stereo there is no sound at all. It does seem to do DirecTV Surround. Since there is no fancy display telling you what is outputted, I watched Batman to see if the rears were just mirroring the front channels or doing there own thing. They seemed to be operating independently of the fronts.

Not supporting all formats could be a big negative for the soundbar. $500 for what may be or become just a stereo is a bit steep. That may be why it would not play sound from my Sony A/V via HDMI. I am becoming concerned but won't know until my 5 X 1 HDMI switch comes tomorrow.

Last edited by schneid; 07-16-2014 at 11:35 AM.
schneid is offline  
post #85 of 160 Old 07-16-2014, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Thanks for the response.

It should play 5.1 out of your AVR. Not playing 5.1 out of the TV is not unusual for many sets.
taichi4 is offline  
post #86 of 160 Old 07-16-2014, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DreamCatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by schneid View Post
All a matter of perception. For $500 it's outstanding too me but I'm sure a $5,000 setup with big amp and speakers would be much better.

I have found my biggest issue is Dolby Digital Plus that evidently Netflix uses. As stated above, I discovered my Sammy TV only outputs Stereo via the Optical Out. On my Roku3, it would not do Surround, just Stereo. Tried some tests. Running the Roku to HDMI In and the HDMI (ARC) to the TV this box will not do Netflix Surround. Until Roku is switched to Stereo there is no sound at all. It does seem to do DirecTV Surround. Since there is no fancy display telling you what is outputted, I watched Batman to see if the rears were just mirroring the front channels or doing there own thing. They seemed to be operating independently of the fronts.

Not supporting all formats could be a big negative for the soundbar. $500 for what may be or become just a stereo is a bit steep. That may be why it would not play sound from my Sony A/V via HDMI. I am becoming concerned but won't know until my 5 X 1 HDMI switch comes tomorrow.
You need a new TV
My Vizio passes Netflix DD Plus just fine to the 5451....

StayThristyMyFriends
DreamCatcher is offline  
post #87 of 160 Old 07-17-2014, 03:30 AM
Member
 
schneid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCatcher View Post
You need a new TV
My Vizio passes Netflix DD Plus just fine to the 5451....
NO TV involved. Roku3 connected to HDMI IN of SB. HDMI video passed on to TV via HDMI (ARC) OUT. Are you using a Roku3? In Roku general Settings, Surround is selected. In Netflix if you Down Arrow twice you get Netflix Audio settings. Selecting Surround there results in NO sound. Picking Stereo produces sound.

Not just me or Vizio SB:

http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php...f7ee8a18ea9d5e

I think the Vizio SB does NOT support DD+. It doesn't list it as supported on the box either.
schneid is offline  
post #88 of 160 Old 07-17-2014, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
It isn't Dolby Digital Plus capable, only Dolby Digital.

And from Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Digital_Plus

"...Much consumer gear, and even some professional gear, does not recognize Dolby Digital Plus as an encoded format, and will treat DD+ signals over a S/PDIF or similar interface, or stored in a .WAV file or similar container format, as though they were linear PCM data. .."
taichi4 is offline  
post #89 of 160 Old 07-17-2014, 04:10 PM
Member
 
schneid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is the Vizio SB should replace the need for an AVR. Anyway, got my 5 X 1 HDMI switch today so I can feed DirecTV, Samsung BD, Roku3 and Chromecast to HDMI of Vizio SB. All work except Roku3 5.1. Stereo only. New issue is Samsung BD will not do its embedded Netflix at all now. Blank screen and no sound. Of interest, the SB will flash a DD symbol for a little bit when decoding it. I going to downgrade to two older Roku's to see if they are compatible. don't know why Netflix would chose a not widely available protocol to do 5.1. I used to have 7.2 and was disappointed little used it. Now I've reversed my issues.
schneid is offline  
post #90 of 160 Old 07-18-2014, 10:40 AM
Member
 
dollarbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this model have headphone-out? And if it does, will I be able to use my headphones on all programming from tv, netflix, amazon?
dollarbill is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off