Paradigm soundscape - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-09-2014, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Paradigm soundscape

Hey guys, I just received my paradigm soundscape 5.1 soundbar. When I turn it on it makes a static noise that increases in volume until it makes a very sharp pop. Is this normal? The pop is pretty loud. After that it appears to work okay but seems kind of quiet. It's hard to hear people talking even with the volume at around 50 units.

I really hope I didn't just buy a 1500$ paperweight...
tetrafluoroethane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-10-2014, 06:27 PM
Member
 
RFK54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've noticed the 50-60 or even 70 volume setting required for hearing dolby and especially dolby 5.1 movies but wasn't bothered by it since going through my TV speaker the volume was often close to 100 and still wasn't clear. When I watch an older title without surround processing the volume is often much louder and I'm fine with volume set at 30-40. I have mine hooked up through my Oppo bluray player since my TV won't output 5.1 sound from optical. I've also connected my CD player through the analog output and background level music listening is fine at 30-35. I'm really very pleased with the sound and clarity of the Paradigm Soundscape and I've never noticed an increasing static and pop at startup, only a five second or so delay as the display starts up. Possibly the optical cable or grounding issue. I hope it works out for you.
RFK54 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-11-2014, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I didn't even consider that the TV may not be able to put out 5.1.. I'll have to look into that. I've already talked to the retailer and they had me RMA. I agree, it sounded like a ground issue. Other than that I really like it.
tetrafluoroethane is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-12-2014, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetrafluoroethane View Post
I didn't even consider that the TV may not be able to put out 5.1.. I'll have to look into that. I've already talked to the retailer and they had me RMA. I agree, it sounded like a ground issue. Other than that I really like it.
Many current HDTVs don't output 5.1. What kind if set (and model) do you have?

Other than that, are your cables fairly new, and are (were) your connections solid?
taichi4 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-13-2014, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
Many current HDTVs don't output 5.1. What kind if set (and model) do you have?

Other than that, are your cables fairly new, and are (were) your connections solid?
I have a Samsung un46eh5300. Nothing special. The connections seemed fine and I was using the optical cable that came with the soundbar. Actually it's me first time using optical so it surprised me how easy it was
tetrafluoroethane is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-10-2014, 06:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the same setup. It does not make any static or popping noises but it does have to run the volume up to 30 before you get anything out for sound
chriscalabro is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-09-2015, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
mmick6175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the soundscape and also having a problem with intermittent static. Did you ever find out what the issue was with your unit after you returned it. Unfortunately, I bought mine by mail order from Audio Advisors so returning will be a pain.
mmick6175 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-09-2015, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Sending a Dolby source into the soundscape the sound lacks- DTS is amazing. The only time I had issue with sound quality was when I was using cheap Amazon cables. I replaced all my hdmi and optical cables with audioquest cables and never had another issues. People who say high quality cables are a gimmick are crazy.
carguy85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off