2017 VIZIO Sound Bar Collection - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 25Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 201 Old 04-25-2017, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brookklyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 15
2017 VIZIO Sound Bar Collection

4 new 2017 models https://www.vizio.com/audio/home-theater.html

DaverJ and dishdude1 like this.
Brookklyn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 201 Old 04-25-2017, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 7
They seem to be putting out smaller and cheaper soundbars. These top out at 36"@$250 compared to the old 54"@$500 and heck last year they went as high as 45"@$500.

Also these new bars seem to have Google Assistant onboard as well compared to last years models which don't

Last edited by Lasnap; 04-25-2017 at 09:46 AM.
Lasnap is online now  
post #3 of 201 Old 04-25-2017, 10:36 AM
Member
 
mastamoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I want to pick up the largest one, after holding off for ages on last years due to what seemed like hideous reviews about connection issues. Hopefully these were reworked and they got their stuff together.
mastamoon is offline  
 
post #4 of 201 Old 04-25-2017, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I bet they launch a larger model later this year...36" isn't that big...I have their older 42" and 44" models and love them.
mercennarius is offline  
post #5 of 201 Old 04-25-2017, 07:02 PM
Member
 
dishdude1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I wish they would get them all short enough to fit under the TV. The 28" is clearly a carry over, where did that 32" come from? Both are 3" tall when all the displays are now using the chicken feet which makes it perfect to nest a sound bar between.

The 36" offerings are perfect with a 2.10" height.
dishdude1 is offline  
post #6 of 201 Old 04-26-2017, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,047
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
I'm thinking about getting the new 36" model to fit under my P50-C1. I currently have a Sony 3.1 bar there now, but want to add surround.

Does the subwoofer need line-of-sight with the front bar?

-
"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #7 of 201 Old 04-27-2017, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
I'm thinking about getting the new 36" model to fit under my P50-C1. I currently have a Sony 3.1 bar there now, but want to add surround.

Does the subwoofer need line-of-sight with the front bar?
No. Distance would be the main issue.
DaverJ likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #8 of 201 Old 04-27-2017, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
I bet they launch a larger model later this year...36" isn't that big...I have their older 42" and 44" models and love them.
They are still keeping their 5.1 sound bars per their website. I don't know if they will have 2017 firmware.
naustin is offline  
post #9 of 201 Old 04-27-2017, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,047
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
No. Distance would be the main issue.
Thanks - ordered the 2017 35" bar direct from Vizio. Hope it's good!

-
"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #10 of 201 Old 04-28-2017, 05:38 AM
Member
 
mastamoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Thanks - ordered the 2017 35" bar direct from Vizio. Hope it's good!
Let us know!!
mastamoon is offline  
post #11 of 201 Old 04-28-2017, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,047
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastamoon View Post
Let us know!!
Will do! Ordered on Wednesday, but as today (Friday) it's listed as "Your order has been received and is being processed for shipment.". I assume it was in-stock when ordered, but maybe Vizio is waiting on inventory?

Anyway, here's a nice review excerpt from here, bolding mine:

Lastly, the final demo showed off the new SB3651 SmartCast 36-inch 5.1 Wireless Sound Bar System ($250). This model features the same subwoofer as the 2.1-channel version, along with a 3-channel sound bar unit, and two separate rear satellite speakers to create a compact surround sound system. For the demo, VIZIO played an action scene from Star Wars: The Force Awakens, and similar to previous 5.1 models I've heard from the company, the results were very impressive. Swooping X-Wings and TIE Fighters moved about the soundstage with surprising precision, naturally transitioning from the left, right, and rear as laser blasts filled the room. Bass was ample as well and speech was properly centralized and nicely balanced. Though it can't quite compete with beefier full surround sound or Dolby Atmos/DTS:X systems, considering its size and price, performance was fantastic.
mastamoon likes this.

-
"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #12 of 201 Old 04-28-2017, 09:48 AM
Member
 
mastamoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sounds good. I just hope it doesn't suffer the same disconnect issues as the last gen. Disconnects won't pass the wife test.. being not theater perfect will.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
mastamoon is offline  
post #13 of 201 Old 04-28-2017, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastamoon View Post
Sounds good. I just hope it doesn't suffer the same disconnect issues as the last gen. Disconnects won't pass the wife test.. being not theater perfect will.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
That appears to have been a quirk of some 2016s. My 2014 54 incher has never dropped the rears.

The way to check: Do you hear surround sounds from the rear speakers. Since they are connected to the sub if they work the sub is working. With a properly balanced sub you shouldn't notice any sound coming from the sub's location, rather you should just hear blended sound.
DaverJ likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #14 of 201 Old 04-28-2017, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,413
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 416
My 2016 Vizios' (two of them) subwoofer and surrounds disconnect when I don't use them for a day or two. So, it will take some time before we know if Vizio really fixed that problem.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #15 of 201 Old 04-28-2017, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,047
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
My 2016 Vizios' (two of them) subwoofer and surrounds disconnect when I don't use them for a day or two. So, it will take some time before we know if Vizio really fixed that problem.
What's the process of reconnecting?

Also, do you use CEC, so the soundbars/subwoofers automatically turn on when you turn the TV on?

-
"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #16 of 201 Old 04-29-2017, 05:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,413
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
What's the process of reconnecting?

Also, do you use CEC, so the soundbars/subwoofers automatically turn on when you turn the TV on?
Turn on/off both bar and sub million times untill they finally connect. There is no other way.

Yes, CEC is on.

Sent from my Venue 8 7840 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #17 of 201 Old 05-03-2017, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 48
No more flat subwoofer? That's probably my favorite feature on my SB4051-D5
dishdude1 likes this.
Jraiders92 is offline  
post #18 of 201 Old 05-04-2017, 06:39 AM
Member
 
mastamoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jraiders92 View Post
No more flat subwoofer? That's probably my favorite feature on my SB4051-D5
Yeah I really wanted one of those.. my living room setup really would benefit from one. Right now my Onkyo powered sub keeps me from putting my couch and end tables where they really need to go.
mastamoon is offline  
post #19 of 201 Old 05-04-2017, 07:50 AM
Member
 
EKinNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
how well do these play with older TVs?

buddy of mine is considering the SB3651 for his family room. he currently has just an STB and 1st gen chromecast, and his tv is an old samsung beast (i think B750 series, circa 2008/9)

what would be his best method of hookup so that he can take advantage of the 5.1? i mentioned that since chromecast passes thru the TV, it will only be 2channel audio, and suggested going STB > TV with HDMI and STB>Visio with optical.

or should he use the SB as a passthru, and stick the chromecast right into one of the inputs?
EKinNYC is offline  
post #20 of 201 Old 05-04-2017, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,413
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 416
He should connect all devices to SB because older TVs probably only allow 2.0 stereo via HDMI. However, if it is like 2016 Vizio, there will only be one HDMI port on the soundbar.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #21 of 201 Old 05-04-2017, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I'm still rockin the big ole S4251w-B4

It's a great setup with a few cons.
The height is imperfect to most sets including my p65 and the volume curve is a little bit much when going from a 1 to a say, 2 on the scale.

I'm looking to upgrade simply to have something "newer" and less tall to fit under my panel.

I honestly don't care much about the whole "google cast" thing as that's just another thing "connecting" to the internet, mining info.

So is the 36" version the only one that is "short"?

2016 Vizio P65
2015 Vizio M50
Fernzilla88 is offline  
post #22 of 201 Old 05-08-2017, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernzilla88 View Post
I'm still rockin the big ole S4251w-B4

It's a great setup with a few cons.
The height is imperfect to most sets including my p65 and the volume curve is a little bit much when going from a 1 to a say, 2 on the scale.

I'm looking to upgrade simply to have something "newer" and less tall to fit under my panel.

I honestly don't care much about the whole "google cast" thing as that's just another thing "connecting" to the internet, mining info.

So is the 36" version the only one that is "short"?
I doubt you will like the smaller sound stage. Before I bought the 54, I tried a 42 incher. The 2016 model 45 inchers with flat sub is still sold by Vizio. With your volume issues are you sending PCM or bitstream to the 54 incher? Is TrueVolume (audio compression) on? I find with a good digital input and no TrueVolume I have to really crank up the volume.

Last edited by naustin; 05-08-2017 at 10:17 AM.
naustin is offline  
post #23 of 201 Old 05-08-2017, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,047
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
I mentioned in the P-series TV thread -- the 2017 36" soundbar I got from Vizio turned out to be faulty. It has problems with often locking up, sometimes with high-pitched and LOUD squealing sound. The only way to stop the noise and/or get it operating again is the pull the plug.

I'll be sending it back to Vizio once they email me a shipping lable to get a replacement. Hopefully second time is a charm!

Vizio support very good to work with, so that's nice. Also, when it was working, the soundbar's imaging was very good, and sound decent enough for the price.

-
"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #24 of 201 Old 05-09-2017, 06:07 AM
Member
 
mastamoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
I mentioned in the P-series TV thread -- the 2017 36" soundbar I got from Vizio turned out to be faulty. It has problems with often locking up, sometimes with high-pitched and LOUD squealing sound. The only way to stop the noise and/or get it operating again is the pull the plug.

I'll be sending it back to Vizio once they email me a shipping lable to get a replacement. Hopefully second time is a charm!

Vizio support very good to work with, so that's nice. Also, when it was working, the soundbar's imaging was very good, and sound decent enough for the price.
Sounds like more of the same coming down the Vizio pipeline.. Quality control issues.. instead of 95 out of 100 being fine.. they run at like 75 out of 100. Great if you happen to get a good one. Please let us know how the replacement works out!
DaverJ and Mauer like this.

Last edited by mastamoon; 05-09-2017 at 07:00 AM.
mastamoon is offline  
post #25 of 201 Old 05-22-2017, 06:20 AM
Member
 
mastamoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nobody else has gotten one of these yet?? Thread seems awfully quiet.
mastamoon is offline  
post #26 of 201 Old 05-22-2017, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,047
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
I wish I had a better report on my soundbar return status -- I keep chatting and calling, and the support person keeps saying I will receive an email update when the replacement ships out, within 2-3 business days. This has been going on since they received my return, 11 days ago.

Vizio's support has been easy to reach and good to talk to, but so far no one's given me a clear reason why my replacement seems to be stuck in limbo.

-
"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #27 of 201 Old 05-22-2017, 06:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I doubt you will like the smaller sound stage. Before I bought the 54, I tried a 42 incher. The 2016 model 45 inchers with flat sub is still sold by Vizio. With your volume issues are you sending PCM or bitstream to the 54 incher? Is TrueVolume (audio compression) on? I find with a good digital input and no TrueVolume I have to really crank up the volume.
I think on my set the audio is set to "auto"
Sound on the tv itself is turned off.

Truevolume is turned off and the bar is simply connecting via optical.

2016 Vizio P65
2015 Vizio M50
Fernzilla88 is offline  
post #28 of 201 Old 05-22-2017, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernzilla88 View Post
I think on my set the audio is set to "auto"
Sound on the tv itself is turned off.

Truevolume is turned off and the bar is simply connecting via optical.
You might want to try Bitstream versus Auto on your TV audio output, also make sure your sources are set to Bitstream not PCM. PCM settings tend to yield a high volume on Vizio SBs over optical & HDMI.
naustin is offline  
post #29 of 201 Old 05-22-2017, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
You might want to try Bitstream versus Auto on your TV audio output, also make sure your sources are set to Bitstream not PCM. PCM settings tend to yield a high volume on Vizio SBs over optical & HDMI.
Okay, thank you I will try this.

2016 Vizio P65
2015 Vizio M50
Fernzilla88 is offline  
post #30 of 201 Old 05-23-2017, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Posted this in the Viz 2016 Soundbar thread but it's actually regarding the 2017 -

Just ran to my local Best Buy while put for lunch and picked up a Vizio SB4031-D5 for 220. It was listed as openbox but had never been opened so yay me for that. Question is, I currently have an LG SH3K for my apartment, my TV is a 2016 Vizio P65 (I am very excited to setup the new soundbar) but I am now wondering if I should just go for the 2017 Vizio 2.1 bar. it's a bit smaller but not sure if 3.1 vs 2.1 is going to be that major in an apartment. Any apartment/Condo folks out there deal with similar situation?
Atharun18999 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off