Comcast 3D topic - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 734 Old 08-29-2010, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
pmalter0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by icerat4 View Post

my god these movies suck big time..if i were to see these 1st id never would by a 3d tv they suck ass...

African Adventure & Haunted Castle are two of my favorites. AF is the brightest 3D I've seen, with excellent 3D imaging--the closeup of the elephant near the end is awesome. Sitting close to HC is just like being on a great haunted house amusement park ride. What did you not like about them?
pmalter0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 734 Old 08-31-2010, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
OK, finally got around to trying to disable the 1080p pass thru on my RNG series box. AND NOW THE ON DEMAND 3D MOVIES ARE GONE here in Northern Va.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #183 of 734 Old 08-31-2010, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
ftn807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmalter0 View Post

Still up and running in Annapolis--but I recorded them, just in case.

Can I ask how you recorded them in a way that will allow you to play them back in 3D? Thanks.
ftn807 is offline  
post #184 of 734 Old 08-31-2010, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftn807 View Post

Can I ask how you recorded them in a way that will allow you to play them back in 3D? Thanks.

If you have a HTPC and a Hauppauge HD PVR you can record it.
babgvant is offline  
post #185 of 734 Old 08-31-2010, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
pmalter0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftn807 View Post

Can I ask how you recorded them in a way that will allow you to play them back in 3D? Thanks.

I've recorded Comcast 3D content on the Comcast dvr--just set it up to watch 3D--then hit record. However, it won't record on demand content; fortunately, they're still available here.
pmalter0 is offline  
post #186 of 734 Old 08-31-2010, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
DLPORLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if it is possible to record/watch the Comcast 3d channels on a computer with a cable card, as I do not own a 3d tv, but I have nvidia 3d vision on my computer.

Thanks

Format Neutral. Living in HD bliss with the A1, A30and PS3.
DLPORLCD is offline  
post #187 of 734 Old 08-31-2010, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLPORLCD View Post

Does anyone know if it is possible to record/watch the Comcast 3d channels on a computer with a cable card, as I do not own a 3d tv, but I have nvidia 3d vision on my computer.

Thanks

It is.
babgvant is offline  
post #188 of 734 Old 09-02-2010, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by icerat4 View Post

my god these movies suck big time..if i were to see these 1st id never would by a 3d tv they suck ass...

I know!!!!! They were horrible. My friend and did have fun laughing and poking fun at the haunted house. I felt like I was playing Dragons LAir.
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #189 of 734 Old 09-02-2010, 09:02 AM
Member
 
Flynful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Cisco RNG200 cable box died the other day. We have a Comcast store nearby and traded it for a new one. Now all of the channels report that they are in 1080i format, even those clearly in 480i. Surprisingly, I had no trouble in accessing the four 3D movies and running them in 3D. I also reset the colors on my Mitsubishi 72838 per a posting on another thread and the result is a more realistic picture.
Flynful is offline  
post #190 of 734 Old 09-04-2010, 01:00 AM
Member
 
Zapix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England 2.0
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I found those free 3D movies available. Haunted House and all that.All four of them not only looked really bad (the effect seemed either weak or extreme), they strained my eyes really badly into almost near instant severe headache. Something that I've never suffered from 3D from any games, theatrical movies, X Games Day 1, PGA Championship, or the World Cup. Family is up visiting and they said the same thing and we turned it all off.

I want to say it's the top and bottom format, but I have yet to make a real conclusion. It will be easier when more content is available. Eitherway, it was an experience I wish to never have again.
Zapix is offline  
post #191 of 734 Old 09-04-2010, 03:23 AM
Member
 
rajibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapix View Post

So I found those free 3D movies available. Haunted House and all that.All four of them not only looked really bad (the effect seemed either weak or extreme), they strained my eyes really badly into almost near instant severe headache. Something that I've never suffered from 3D from any games, theatrical movies, X Games Day 1, PGA Championship, or the World Cup. Family is up visiting and they said the same thing and we turned it all off.

I want to say it's the top and bottom format, but I have yet to make a real conclusion. It will be easier when more content is available. Eitherway, it was an experience I wish to never have again.

For these movies it is necessary to change the "left/right swap", "reverse", or whatever that 3d setting is called on your TV. Otherwise, the experience most likely will result in what you described.
rajibo is offline  
post #192 of 734 Old 09-04-2010, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
AndrewGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapix View Post

So I found those free 3D movies available. Haunted House and all that.All four of them not only looked really bad (the effect seemed either weak or extreme), they strained my eyes really badly into almost near instant severe headache. Something that I've never suffered from 3D from any games, theatrical movies, X Games Day 1, PGA Championship, or the World Cup. Family is up visiting and they said the same thing and we turned it all off.

I want to say it's the top and bottom format, but I have yet to make a real conclusion. It will be easier when more content is available. Eitherway, it was an experience I wish to never have again.

I have the same problem. I've got a Samsung 7000 series LED TV and I've tried the Image Correction (left/right) procedure in the menu. Since the golf in side-by-side format looks great I also think it's an effect of the top-to-bottom format.

I also must admit that I thought 3D was a bit of novelty after watching Monsters Vs. Aliens, but after watching the PGA tournament I'm convinced that it's the future of TV.

The On-Demand 3D is up and working great on my RNG-200 in a Houston suburb. I've just got to call to have ESPN3D and the event channel(s) activated.

EDIT: Looks like the 3D channels won't be available here until November.
AndrewGS is offline  
post #193 of 734 Old 09-04-2010, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are there any thoughts re the RNG box vs. The DCX. I've been thinking about going ahead and swapping my DCT6212 for one of the newer boxes. I've read the DCX3400 locks up periodically. The local comcast office seems to have both in stock and one of the techs said I am eligible to pick one up because I have 3D. What do you think?
Jimmy is offline  
post #194 of 734 Old 09-04-2010, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
peter0328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched some of the Comcast OnDemand 3D yesterday and it sucked. Content wise it was terrible. The African Adventure one was alright for 3D though but a little slow and kinda boring.
peter0328 is offline  
post #195 of 734 Old 09-04-2010, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
They showed back up on the guide, here in Frederick, but still can't retrieve them. message still says resources not available.
Jimmy is offline  
post #196 of 734 Old 09-04-2010, 12:04 PM
Member
 
rajibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy View Post

Are there any thoughts re the RNG box vs. The DCX. I've been thinking about going ahead and swapping my DCT6212 for one of the newer boxes. I've read the DCX3400 locks up periodically. The local comcast office seems to have both in stock and one of the techs said I am eligible to pick one up because I have 3D. What do you think?

The RNG boxes are cisco boxes that will most likely only work in Cisco systems. So you'll probably have to live with the DCX. Although I'd like one to get the larger hard drive.
rajibo is offline  
post #197 of 734 Old 09-05-2010, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Zapix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England 2.0
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajibo View Post

For these movies it is necessary to change the "left/right swap", "reverse", or whatever that 3d setting is called on your TV. Otherwise, the experience most likely will result in what you described.

Yeah, Reverse for my mits. Hadn't thought about that though; I'll give it a shot this evening.
Zapix is offline  
post #198 of 734 Old 09-05-2010, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Dgephri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
reverse (L/R>R/L) works on HM and AF on my Panasonic VT25.

I still think HM is just tedious but at least the S3D is right now.
Dgephri is offline  
post #199 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 01:44 AM
Member
 
Zapix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England 2.0
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I gave the reverse a shot, and it was no longer horribly painful to look at. Suffered a hint of a headache from watching Haunted Castle and SOS Planet, but not enough to get me to take a tramadol.

Some of the 3D in Haunted Castle was a little painful, in particular the stuff blowing out of the screen so to speak. SOS Planet was alright for the most part.

Now if Comcast would add some real movies, I'd be thrilled, even if they cost $ to rent. Or heck, one or more of the movie channels could take some initiative. Oh well. Considering we don't get ESPN3D here, anything is good right now.
Zapix is offline  
post #200 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 02:33 AM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

In some areas Comcast is sending ESPN 3D in MPEG2, in others MPEG4. The older DCH & DCT boxes will only do MPEG2; the newer DCX & RNG can do MPEG2 & MPEG4.

Further, in some areas phone activation is necessary, but in others the channel is active for all.

So it's luck of the draw where you live and what box you can use, and if you have to call or not.

Here is the official Comcast list of 3D MPEG4 boxes:
Motorola DCX3200 (HD set-top box)
Motorola DCX3400 or DCX3416 (HD/DVR set-top box)
Cisco (Scientific Atlanta) RNG150 (HD set-top box)
Cisco (Scientific Atlanta) RNG200 (HD/DVR set-top box)
Pace RNG110 (HD set-top box)
Samsung RNG150 (HD set-top box)

I hope they haven't gone all mpeg-4 yet, i've got a 3dtv but of course, didn't realize the office would be closed today. Called the 3D number and got the channels added, I see the ESPN3D logo in top/bottom right now. Guess we'll see what happens at game time.
rjcc is offline  
post #201 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
peter0328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post

I hope they haven't gone all mpeg-4 yet, i've got a 3dtv but of course, didn't realize the office would be closed today. Called the 3D number and got the channels added, I see the ESPN3D logo in top/bottom right now. Guess we'll see what happens at game time.

If you see the ESPN3D logo in means its MPEG-2 (assuming you only have an MPEG-2 box).

Philly area is MPEG-2.
peter0328 is offline  
post #202 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peter0328 View Post

If you see the ESPN3D logo in means its MPEG-2 (assuming you only have an MPEG-2 box).

Philly area is MPEG-2.

yeah, I've got the older DCH box. sweet then, can't wait for the game to start.
rjcc is offline  
post #203 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 06:00 PM
Newbie
 
sprasad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting the NFL Red Zone splash screen on ESPN3d channel 334 rather than the college football game. I was told by the clueless Comcast support that my box was not compatible, even though I was told before that it was. My box is the DCH3416. I was told only the dcx3200 dcx3400 pacerng110 are compatible. Does anyone else have this problem? Is anyone actually getting the game on Comcast ESPN3D. I am close to switching to Direct TV.
sprasad2 is offline  
post #204 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
peter0328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprasad2 View Post

I'm getting the NFL Red Zone splash screen on ESPN3d channel 334 rather than the college football game. I was told by the clueless Comcast support that my box was not compatible, even though I was told before that it was. My box is the DCH3416. I was told only the dcx3200 dcx3400 pacerng110 are compatible. Does anyone else have this problem? Is anyone actually getting the game on Comcast ESPN3D. I am close to switching to Direct TV.

It depends on region whether your box is compatible. Some areas are MPEG-4 so yours won't work whereas Philly market (mine) is MPEG-2 so my DCH3416 works fine.
peter0328 is offline  
post #205 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
sprasad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the dcx3200 dcx3400 pacerng110 boxes compatible with MPEG-4 then in that case? I wish the Comcast customer support would be able to provide this info, but they are terrible when it comes to 3d.
sprasad2 is offline  
post #206 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 06:27 PM
Newbie
 
sprasad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's strange because the XGames test video on the OnDemand worked fine for me.
sprasad2 is offline  
post #207 of 734 Old 09-06-2010, 11:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post

I hope they haven't gone all mpeg-4 yet, i've got a 3dtv but of course, didn't realize the office would be closed today. Called the 3D number and got the channels added, I see the ESPN3D logo in top/bottom right now. Guess we'll see what happens at game time.

If not all MPEG4 now, for 3D, Comcast systems will be very soon.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #208 of 734 Old 09-07-2010, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
GregK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The On-Demand "free 3-D Movies" returned to Indiana's Comcast, and now work! (Top to Bottom formatted)
GregK is offline  
post #209 of 734 Old 09-07-2010, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Flynful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched the ESPN 3D broadcast of the Boise State/Virginia Tech game last night. Here are my thoughts.

The game was great and exciting to the end. The 3D did not get in the way of the action.

Initially I could not get the darned glasses to work. For the first 5 or 10 minutes I moved closer and then farther from the screen but no 3D. I changed the battery in one pair of the Xpands and that didn't work either. All of a sudden both pairs worked and as far away as 18'. I was going into and out of the menu on the Mitsubishi 73838 turning the 3D on and off when it finally starting working. I had to reverse the glasses to gewt the best picture. Settings were 3D on, checkerboard, reverse and DLP. The 3DA-1 Adapter was set to left on top and right on the bottom.

The game was broadcast in 3D as it would have been in HD. The cameras were not placed in one corner of the field and left on. They were placed strategically around the stadium and picked up all of the action. Good job ESPN.

You could see depth all the way through the stands.

I watched more than three quarters with the glasses on and without experiencing any real discomfort. I had to get to sleep so ended up watching the end of the game on the bedroom TV in plain old HD.

The Ohio State game coming up on Saturday will be broadcast in 3D per ESPN. WOW!

Even the commercials were in 3D and not too bad.

I recorded the game and will go back tonight to see if the 3D works when the game is replayed from the DVR.

Given the choice I would opt to watch future games in 3D.

My Mitsubishi 3DA -1 Adapter worked without a hitch.
Flynful is offline  
post #210 of 734 Old 09-07-2010, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you had reverse on? you should leave it off and the glasses should work the standard way, if i'm understanding your post properly.

yeah I didn't have any issues with the glasses either, I was starting to lose interest in he first quarter when it was looking like a blowout though.
rjcc is offline  
Reply 3D Content

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off