monsters vs. aliens on ps3??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 12:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
yibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 ps3's and updated them both to v3.50. I have monsters vs. aliens 3d blu ray from the samsung starter kit and when I pop it in either one it doesn't acknowledge it. There is no loading and no errors, its as if i didn't put a disk in. I called samsung and they said it only works in samsung 3d blu ray players. Just wondering if anyone can confirm this or if I have a faulty disk.
yibs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 01:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,382
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 60
No, that is false information. Do you have a picture of PS dashboard on the tv? Are you running a reciever in the mix?
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #3 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 01:21 AM
Newbie
 
krackkomik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fat PS3 updated. PN58c7000.
Runs Monster vs Aliens, Coraline and Ice Age in 3D perfectly. Like the ps3 interface much more than the Sammy 6900.
krackkomik is offline  
post #4 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 02:06 AM
Member
 
jonboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yibs View Post

I have 2 ps3's and updated them both to v3.50. I have monsters vs. aliens 3d blu ray from the samsung starter kit and when I pop it in either one it doesn't acknowledge it. There is no loading and no errors, its as if i didn't put a disk in. I called samsung and they said it only works in samsung 3d blu ray players. Just wondering if anyone can confirm this or if I have a faulty disk.

I am having the exact same problem! My Sony titles are loading and playing just fine. Samsung is wrong. The disc should play in any 3D Blu Ray player. Hopefully someone can offer some guidance on this or else we need to call Samsung back. What number did u call?
jonboy71 is offline  
post #5 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 02:31 AM
Newbie
 
krackkomik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure the HDMI is configured for 'auto' in PS3.

MvA works fine on my US machine
krackkomik is offline  
post #6 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krackkomik View Post

Make sure the HDMI is configured for 'auto' in PS3.

MvA works fine on my US machine

Has anyone tried Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs?

Curious if that works.
bad1550 is offline  
post #7 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Aaronp88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboy71 View Post

I am having the exact same problem! My Sony titles are loading and playing just fine. Samsung is wrong. The disc should play in any 3D Blu Ray player. Hopefully someone can offer some guidance on this or else we need to call Samsung back. What number did u call?

I'm having the same problem as you both! Everyone post what version of the PS3 you have and if it works or not.

I have a 60 GB Fat PS3 and it does not work.
Aaronp88 is offline  
post #8 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 06:01 AM
Member
 
Dr. A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post

Has anyone tried Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs?

Curious if that works.

Just watched half of it. Equipment includes PS3 v.3.50, Laservue 75, Mits 3D kit.

Amazing. Works just fine.
Dr. A is offline  
post #9 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like the checkerbox does not workwithout an adapter

I was hoping not to have to purchase additional equipment for my sla750
Samsung
bad1550 is offline  
post #10 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 06:49 AM
Member
 
josephcoatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also can't play MVA, 'Cloudy' works fine, any suggestions?

80gb fat PS3
josephcoatar is offline  
post #11 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TonyDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I've got one of the original fat 60gb PS3s that was backwards compatible (purchased July 2007) and the 3D update (v3.50) works fine for me. I watched some of Monster House and all of Bob's Big Break from the MvA disc and everything played fine with nice depth and pop (better than my BD-6900 at first blush). I've got the PS3 connected to a PN63C8000 via a high-speed HDMI cable.

Could it be there are multiple versions of the MvA disc out there as was the case with the Panasonic 3D promo?
TonyDP is offline  
post #12 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 07:57 AM
Member
 
biggdawg29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have the old fat PS3 60gb. It was one of the 1st PS3's out there and Monsters Vs Aliens DOES NOT play. The PS3 doesn't recognize the disk at all
biggdawg29 is offline  
post #13 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
advocate2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vegas, baby
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried MVA on my two year old PS3 120 or 150GB. MVA played fine. I have 1.4a cables to a Denon 331, to the MITs adapter then to the Mits 73735. I also tried out COTT and it worked as well.
advocate2 is offline  
post #14 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggdawg29 View Post

I also have the old fat PS3 60gb. It was one of the 1st PS3's out there and Monsters Vs Aliens DOES NOT play. The PS3 doesn't recognize the disk at all

Ditto. Good thing I have a Panasonic BDT-300.
thebat68 is offline  
post #15 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 09:27 AM
Member
 
jonboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyDP View Post

I've got one of the original fat 60gb PS3s that was backwards compatible (purchased July 2007) and the 3D update (v3.50) works fine for me. I watched some of Monster House and all of Bob's Big Break from the MvA disc and everything played fine with nice depth and pop (better than my BD-6900 at first blush). I've got the PS3 connected to a PN63C8000 via a high-speed HDMI cable.

Could it be there are multiple versions of the MvA disc out there as was the case with the Panasonic 3D promo?

I'm wondering if there is a bad batch of discs. Has anyone that had no luck playing MvA on the PS3 been able to play it on another Blu Ray player. I too have an original launch, backwards PS3 that is backwards compatible. So it seems unlikely it is the unit itself since some have the same specs and it plays ok. Monster House and Cloudy play back fine.
jonboy71 is offline  
post #16 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 09:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
GISMO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so what is needed to play 3d movies new updated 3d tv and a special hdmi cable.
GISMO1 is offline  
post #17 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 09:45 AM
Member
 
HermantoWang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yibs View Post

I have 2 ps3's and updated them both to v3.50. I have monsters vs. aliens 3d blu ray from the samsung starter kit and when I pop it in either one it doesn't acknowledge it. There is no loading and no errors, its as if i didn't put a disk in. I called samsung and they said it only works in samsung 3d blu ray players. Just wondering if anyone can confirm this or if I have a faulty disk.

I have the same problem with you
HermantoWang is offline  
post #18 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Barrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mine worked if i took it directly from my PS3 (20gb model, got a couple days after release) to my pn63C8000. Using the same cable but sending it to my receiver (pioneer SC-25) I just get a flashing (dolby digital 96/24hz) text on my receiver and it never loads up causing me to hard shut down (holding my finger over the power) to get it to turn off.

I would imagine that if it can't send the video in 3d, it should go down to 2d rather than jack my system. At least thats what the C7900 I have does.
Barrok is offline  
post #19 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Sonyxbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. For those of you that is does not work, are you running the PS3 directly to your TV?
Sonyxbr is offline  
post #20 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
yibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both an old 80gig ps3 with ps2 backward compatiblity and a new slim 250gig ps3 and neither are working with MvA. I called the 1-800# on samsungs website. I'm thinking there is a bad batch of disks, I have a friend with a samsung 3d blu ray player and will try playing it over there today.
yibs is offline  
post #21 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
yibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both hooked directly up to my c7000.
yibs is offline  
post #22 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Aaronp88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonyxbr View Post

Interesting. For those of you that is does not work, are you running the PS3 directly to your TV?

The problem is not related to cables or TVs. The PS3 simply does not recognize the disc. If anyone has had a PS3 with a bad blu-ray laser then they know how the PS3 acts when MVA is inserted. Nothing happens, the loading circle spins for a bit, the blue light comes on, but nothing comes up in the XMB.

From the MVA review on blu-ray.com:

"The disc was also inserted into a PlayStation 3 system running the latest firmware (v. 3.21) to see if it would play the 2D version; the system simply failed to read the disc. "
Aaronp88 is offline  
post #23 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:19 AM
Member
 
jonboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaronp88 View Post

The problem is not related to cables or TVs. The PS3 simply does not recognize the disc. If anyone has had a PS3 with a bad blu-ray laser then they know how the PS3 acts when MVA is inserted. Nothing happens, the loading circle spins for a bit, the blue light comes on, but nothing comes up in the XMB.

From the MVA review on blu-ray.com:

"The disc was also inserted into a PlayStation 3 system running the latest firmware (v. 3.21) to see if it would play the 2D version; the system simply failed to read the disc. "

I would like for someone to try a disc that doesn't work on their PS3 to try it on another 3D Blu Ray player if possible to see if it's a bad disc or not.
jonboy71 is offline  
post #24 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Barrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So the people claiming it doesn't work don't actually see anything on their XMB under video? I see blu-ray and when i load it through my receiver it doesn't work. I am assuming you guys are talking about something different right? Where the actual disc doesn't even load?
Barrok is offline  
post #25 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Is the PS3 able to decode the lossless audio?
jbug is offline  
post #26 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:27 AM
Member
 
jonboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrok View Post

So the people claiming it doesn't work don't actually see anything on their XMB under video? I see blu-ray and when i load it through my receiver it doesn't work. I am assuming you guys are talking about something different right? Where the actual disc doesn't even load?

That is correct, it doesn't even load. Nothing pops up under video at all.
jonboy71 is offline  
post #27 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Barrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have had that happen alot with other blurays. Thats why i originally got my C7900 because half my blurays wouldn't load in my PS3 (original 20gb).

I have noticed that occasionaly some won't load in my C7900 and I have determined it is cause my bluray is too cold. If i put it under my shirt, or put it in the sun for a few minutes it will end up loading. Or I put it in my ps3 and it just spins and spins and spins and that warms it up enough to put in my c7900 and have it work.

Don't ask me why it acts like this. My house is kept at 72 F so i don't think thats too cold but what ev.
Barrok is offline  
post #28 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Sonyxbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboy71 View Post

I would like for someone to try a disc that doesn't work on their PS3 to try it on another 3D Blu Ray player if possible to see if it's a bad disc or not.

I am hoping to try this tonight. A friend of mine has MvA that works fine on her Samsung 3D Blu Ray player. She is supposed to bring it over and I will try it on my PS3. I only have a the Panasonic demo disk which I played last night and works and looks great.
Sonyxbr is offline  
post #29 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 11:53 AM
Member
 
roylone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonyxbr View Post

I am hoping to try this tonight. A friend of mine has MvA that works fine on her Samsung 3D Blu Ray player. She is supposed to bring it over and I will try it on my PS3. I only have a the Panasonic demo disk which I played last night and works and looks great.

I have an "old style" PS3 in which MVA will not load as reported by others. I tried it in my Panasonic BDT-350 and it loaded and played without difficulty. I therefore suspect that there is something about the disc that the PS3 does not like. I have tried the following 3D discs without difficulty in the PS3: Coraline, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Monster House and Clash of the Titans.
roylone is offline  
post #30 of 155 Old 09-21-2010, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboy71 View Post

I would like for someone to try a disc that doesn't work on their PS3 to try it on another 3D Blu Ray player if possible to see if it's a bad disc or not.

Movie does not get recognized by my PS3 but plays fine on my Panasonic BDT-300 Blu-ray 3D player in 3D and 2D.
thebat68 is offline  
Reply 3D Content

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off