Samsung DLP checkerboard help please (I hope I am in the right forum - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-04-2012, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Guarddog32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought one of those 3D Emitter boxes with 4 pair of glasses on Ebay from the 3DTV Corp company and cant get it to work with either my laptop or sony blu ray as the source.

If I try to set it up with my Dell laptop with nvidia 3D vision built into it (with a built in emitter) I hook up the hdmi port on my laptop to the hdmi3/dvi connector on back of TV, then hook the emitter that came with glasses to the 3D sync out 3 pin connector on back of TV, and when I run the setup on nvidia control panel, it tells me that vesa emitter cable is disconnected or stereoscopic 3D is not turned on on tv. (I went into my TV setup screen and 3D is turned onto mode 1.

I will stop for now so i can get some advice on getting my laptop to work with this emitter and glasses kit. I will ask more later about why my Sony 3D blu ray player wont work either.

My Samsung DLP TV is model; HL61A650C1FXZA

Laptop is Dell XPS L702X, Windows7 with Nvidia Stereoscopic 3D Vision with built in emitter and 3D glasses for laptop

The 3D kit I bought from 3DTV Corp is the Gen2Pro / Home Emitter with 4 pair of Glasses.

Thanks so much in advance for any help I can get with this setup...

Rich J
Guarddog32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-04-2012, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
cjf243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try this thread below?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1280874/3d-on-samsung-1080p-dlp-with-mitsubishi-3da-1-and-no-gefen
cjf243 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-04-2012, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Guarddog32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much, I was able to get it to work with software I had on my laptop already, so I didn't have to buy anything else.

:-)


Is there a way to get the PS3 to play in 3D on these old Samsung DLP's that are "3D-Ready" ???
Guarddog32 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-05-2012, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
ToEhrIsHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NorCal
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guarddog32 View Post

Is there a way to get the PS3 to play in 3D on these old Samsung DLP's that are "3D-Ready" ???

Yeah, sure. Read the article posted above about using the Mitsubishi 3DA-1. I use my PS3 in 3D on my HL-T6187S all the time.
ToEhrIsHuman is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-05-2012, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Guarddog32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, let me rephrase my question, can you hook up your PS3 on these old Samsung DLP's that need checkboard WITHOUT having to buy a 300 device (thats a total ripoff if you ask me)


Thanks for your help by the way



Rich

:@)
Guarddog32 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-07-2012, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guarddog32 View Post

Ok, let me rephrase my question, can you hook up your PS3 on these old Samsung DLP's that need checkboard WITHOUT having to buy a 300 device (thats a total ripoff if you ask me)
Thanks for your help by the way
Rich
:@)

Sorry the TV will not work without a device that converts that output to checkerboard and the PS3 does not. The only Blu-ray player that I know of that has an option to output checkerboard is the Panasonic Blu-ray players plus computer that have an HDMI output that has software that can output checkerboard Cyberlink DVD Ultra).
PaulGo is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-10-2012, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Guarddog32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmmmmmmm ok. I wonder if I can hook up my PS3's hdmi cable to my laptop, then hook up the laptop to the HDMI3 port on the TV, then somehow get the PS3 to play through the Cyberlink PowerDVD 9.6 software installed on my PC that can convert signal to Checker Board format. Ever hear of anyone doing that before?
Guarddog32 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-11-2012, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
No, because you are almost surely going to add some lag time in the process. Make a move with the controller and watch it happen a short moment later.
Look hard - you'll find a 3DA-1 for about $150 somewhere. Totally worth it.

OK I just looked - this is getting more rare by the day. Maybe your best bet is to buy the starter kit for $300 and sell the glasses that come with it.
nickels55 is offline  
Reply 3D Content

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off