Vizio 60-inch E601i-A3 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 112 Old 12-04-2012, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
CyberCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitsBoy View Post

Hey guys, I was reading a thread on slickdeals and someone stated that this TV wont do 1080p past 24 Hz. Can anyone verify that this is indeed the case? Seems crazy that a modern TV cant do 1080p at 30 or even 60 Hz.

Where did you hear that? using this TV as my monitor it shows 1080p, 60hz, and it looks to be just that to my eyes.
CyberCT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 112 Old 12-04-2012, 02:05 PM
Member
 
GuitsBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An SD member was complaining that the TV would not connect to his media player at 1080p at anything other than 24hz. 30hz and 60hz resulted in a black screen, while it worked fine on his old TV. He went so far as to contact Vizio support who confirmed that the TV would only do 1080p at 24Hz, and to do any faster refresh, he needed to use 1080i. My guess is that there was some disconnect and the rep may have been referring to the true motion feature or whatever its called. Just the same, I wanted to verify on AVS.

I have the TV from the black friday special, but mine arrived damaged, so i have not yet powered up the set. Im waiting for wally world to receive more inventory so I can exchange it.
GuitsBoy is offline  
post #93 of 112 Old 12-04-2012, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
jetfxr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
eyeballing this guy for another deal!
jetfxr27 is offline  
post #94 of 112 Old 12-11-2012, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
schex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^^^ me too - looking at Costco still just under1k - wonder if it will drop

SCHEX
schex is offline  
post #95 of 112 Old 12-12-2012, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
wader2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Moved to Owners thread......
wader2k is offline  
post #96 of 112 Old 12-12-2012, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
RichardCarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by wader2k View Post

We bought one of these from Amazon Prime and I have to say I love it for the most part.
Only had for 1 day now.
My wife said she did notice the lipsync lag today with a news station after it had been on a couple of hours. Changing channels cured it for awhile. I can live with this for now, but I would hope this is fixable via firmware or something. What is the latest on this?
The real downer is that we have a dead pixel right in the upper middle of the screen. Shows up and a dark spot right in the middle of a newscasters forehead. Any chance this will go away? Are there utilities that might possibly fix it? It is very visible with bright light backgrounds from my normal viewing distance.
I am not sure I can live with this and it makes me wish I had bought local.
Anyone know how it works with Amazon returns? I understand there is a pretty good policy with Amazon, but how much hassle is it? Do they pick it up or is it all up to me to get it shipped back?
I would prefer to exchange for another of the same model as I do really like this TV otherwise.

Amazon is great, they come pick it up and ship you a new one or refund, your choice. I'm convinced the sync issue is related to how the set interacts with the cable box or other input. Hopefully, it can be handled in a future update.

LR: Vizio E701i-A3, Vizio VSB207 sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3.

BR: Vizio E601i-A3, Sharp (disc.) sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3
RichardCarver is online now  
post #97 of 112 Old 12-13-2012, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
wader2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCarver View Post

Amazon is great, they come pick it up and ship you a new one or refund, your choice. I'm convinced the sync issue is related to how the set interacts with the cable box or other input. Hopefully, it can be handled in a future update.

Thanks for the input....I had moved my question to the owners thread.

I probably will go for an exchange. I wonder if they will bring a new one out when they come to pick up the old one or if I have to wait until they get it back for the ship the replacement.

Either way, this dark spot in the middle of the screen is too obnoxious to ignore....it would always bother me.
wader2k is offline  
post #98 of 112 Old 01-05-2013, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
does this tv require a separate wifi dongle to get wifi? sometimes tvs state they have built in wifi but you still need to buy a separate piece to make it work.
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #99 of 112 Old 01-05-2013, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
schex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
no it finds your wifi no problem - it picks up mine really well

SCHEX
schex is offline  
post #100 of 112 Old 01-07-2013, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
sshaver09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, I am new to this forum. I just bought a Vizio 55" set and the input lag when I play Black Ops 2 is impossible to deal with even in game mode. I was wondering how the input lag was on this model. Any help will do.
sshaver09 is offline  
post #101 of 112 Old 01-07-2013, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
schex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
here are some pix of my set up - replaced a 42" plasma-
I had to make a custom stand in order to fit the unit and have a spot for my center channel speaker.
So far no problems whatsoever - looking forward to football tonight!


SCHEX
schex is offline  
post #102 of 112 Old 01-08-2013, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
uws2793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie here with a question. New owner of E61i-a3. How do I get the firmware? Will TV do it wirelessly if I'm connected to a network?

If thats not possible, where do I go to get firmware?

Thanks,
J
uws2793 is offline  
post #103 of 112 Old 01-08-2013, 04:27 PM
Member
 
stephenp1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curious if anyone else has experienced the random power off issues with this tv. I picked it up about 2 months ago from Sam's Club and have noticed it almost immediately. It seems to be random, the tv could be on for 10 minutes connected to the directv box, and then just turns itself off. It will be fine for hours and then randomly do it again. Ive confirmed its not a power setting. I just called vizio support and went through the typical holding powerbutton while set is unplugged, so we'll see if it makes a difference but I'm not optimistic.

Just wanted to see if anyone else was having these issues.
stephenp1983 is offline  
post #104 of 112 Old 01-16-2013, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
escknx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same issue. I contacted Vizio support 3 times, and finally after all this magic with power button they said that is hardware problem and TV has to be sent back for the replacement or repair.
So I'm awaiting for the replacement now.

2 uws2793
It gets firmware automatically when connected to internet.
escknx is offline  
post #105 of 112 Old 01-18-2013, 03:17 AM
Member
 
Smithcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In case people haven't seen it in the Owners thread, there is a thread for people with the E601-A3 to list when they bought it, and what it's current status is.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1450621/vizio-e601-a3-how-long-have-you-had-this-unit

SC

Display - Vizio E601i-a3 (WAP 05)
HTPC - 2011 i5 Mac mini 2.33 GHz
AVS Forum E601i-a3 User Settings Spreadsheet(ods)
Smithcraft is offline  
post #106 of 112 Old 01-22-2013, 09:59 AM
Member
 
stephenp1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info guys. Vizio finally agreed to send someone out to look at the set. Im sure its not going to do any good, but maybe necessary in the process. I may end up having to take it back to Sam's club and deal with them instead. Was trying to avoid taking the thing down off the wall.
stephenp1983 is offline  
post #107 of 112 Old 02-22-2013, 06:25 AM
3db
Advanced Member
 
3db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook View Post

no matter the cost of the tv, every one of you should buy the extended warranty. Vizio is simply the worst for long term longevity of their sets. Unless you like replacing it every two years


Thanks for the tip. I guess I'll have to keep my eye on my 5 y old Vizio now that mentioned this. wink.gif
3db is offline  
post #108 of 112 Old 11-30-2013, 11:25 AM
Member
 
smiley1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post

Those settings did not work out for me--they were dark, washed out, and dull.

Here's what I'm currently running:

Picture Mode: Game
Backlight: 80
Brightness: 55
Contrast: 60
Color: 51
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 3

Color Temp: Custom
Red Gain: 118
Green Gain: 128
Blue Gain: 120
Red Offset: 127
Green Offset: 125
Blue Offset: 128

Smooth Motion: Off
Noise Reduction: Low
MPEG NR: low
Color Enhancement: Off
Adaptive Luma: Extend
Film: Auto
Backlight Control: Off
Ambient Light Sensor: High


I replaced my 50PA6500 for this, so I'm still working on getting the picture to match that of the plasma.

These worked well for me. Thank you. I got this set during the black friday sale. Your settings took aways the jerky, soap opera look.
smiley1 is offline  
post #109 of 112 Old 12-01-2013, 05:29 PM
Member
 
BATom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Did anyone go for the Best Buy $678.99 Vizio E601i-A3 Thanksgiving deal?

I did and I'm wondering if anyone else is having the same problems with BB that I'm having. I bought the TV through the website for $678.99US plus tax with free shipping and set a delivery date for December 3. Two days later I got an email saying they hadn't been able to reach me to set a delivery date (false, it was confirmed on my receipt). On calling them I was told it was probably because the TV was currently out of stock and wouldn't have another one for delivery until December 9. Then another notice that once again there was no delivery date. Another call to BB and they reset the delivery date to December 14, then later that day reset it again to December 10, then tonight they reset it once again to December 11. I'm starting to worry that at some point I'll get a call saying it's no longer available and the order has been cancelled.

Oh, and just to make things more interesting my online invoice also now shows a new $70 delivery charge vs my original invoice which says free delivery. I'm hoping this is all just general BB incompetence that will eventually work itself out but since I already bought an AVR and TV stand to go with it I'm definitely a little nervous I'll be left without a TV.

Anyone else having a similar experience? Anyone receive their TV yet?
BATom is offline  
post #110 of 112 Old 12-01-2013, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Unoriginal Name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BATom View Post

Did anyone go for the Best Buy $678.99 Vizio E601i-A3 Thanksgiving deal?

I did and I'm wondering if anyone else is having the same problems with BB that I'm having. I bought the TV through the website for $678.99US plus tax with free shipping and set a delivery date for December 3. Two days later I got an email saying they hadn't been able to reach me to set a delivery date (false, it was confirmed on my receipt). On calling them I was told it was probably because the TV was currently out of stock and wouldn't have another one for delivery until December 9. Then another notice that once again there was no delivery date. Another call to BB and they reset the delivery date to December 14, then later that day reset it again to December 10, then tonight they reset it once again to December 11. I'm starting to worry that at some point I'll get a call saying it's no longer available and the order has been cancelled.

Oh, and just to make things more interesting my online invoice also now shows a new $70 delivery charge vs my original invoice which says free delivery. I'm hoping this is all just general BB incompetence that will eventually work itself out but since I already bought an AVR and TV stand to go with it I'm definitely a little nervous I'll be left without a TV.

Anyone else having a similar experience? Anyone receive their TV yet?

I originally had a date of December 4th for delivery. I hadn't received any emails other than the first saying they received my order. I noticed yesterday that the date was not present when I checked my online status.

I called Best Buy and they said it was back ordered and that I needed a new date. I asked if a store nearby had stock that I could go to and get the TV. I was told that they see now that I'm set for delivery on the 4th. I left the call not feeling overly comfortable I'd see the tv on Wednesday.

I poked around the website a bit and found that the best buy closest to me actually had it in stock. I called Best Buy this morning and asked if I could change from delivery to store pickup. They looked up the store and said there were a couple in stock so no problem.

Went to the store a half hour after opening and 15 minutes later walked out with the TV.

I'd see if any local stores have it in stock.
Unoriginal Name is offline  
post #111 of 112 Old 12-01-2013, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
RudyCantFail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked mine up today at Costco. $849 (and no sales tax in NH).
Pretty impressed so far. This is BIG. It replaces my 50" panasonic p50u50, which I loved, b/c of of an unfortunate accident.
I couldn't find a real replacement for that one for close to what I originally paid. Instead of replacing it with something w/less favorable reviews at 50", I decided to go bigger! I'll have to play with some of the suggested picture settings, but I'm mostly pleased so far.
I do find some of the images too sharp - I mean distractingly sharp. I think iGirl said the same. I was watching Sherlock, season 1, episode 1 via Hulu+ on my other TV last night w/Apple TV. I picked up where I left off tonight on the new TV using the Hulu+ app, and it looked SO different.
RudyCantFail is offline  
post #112 of 112 Old 12-01-2013, 09:35 PM
Newbie
 
RudyCantFail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah! So now I know what Soap Opera Effect really is and what it looks like. Well, that will be easy to turn off. smile.gif
RudyCantFail is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Great Found Deals!

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off