Panasonic TC-65PS64 65" Plasma $1299.99 + 5 Year Warranty for only $99.99 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 393 Old 08-18-2013, 06:37 AM
Member
 
djsketchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasdag View Post

Can anyone speak to the difference between the Panasonic TC-65PS64 and the Panasonic TC-P65S60 65-Inch. Same but different? Amazon has the P65S60 for $1288 shipped, delivered, and tax free depending on what state you live in. Any major features or technology differences glaring out at you?

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-TC-P65S60-65-Inch-1080p-Plasma/dp/B00ARAHBK0/ref=lh_ni_t?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

It's pretty well documented that the S64 is identical to the S60 apart from the fact that it has the same AR filter as the higher end Panasonic plasmas to reduce glare.

S64=Less Glare
S60=More Glare
djsketchie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 393 Old 08-18-2013, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smithfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTimeShifter View Post


If and when I cancel, I'm going to tell them, why pay a membership fee and have to drive out of my way just to save only a few pennies?

There is no way I can buy enough stuff to save enough to make up for the membership fee.



If and when? You are driving out of your way to go to Sam's. That's justification right there to cancel and join Costco. My weekly savings from buying my gas at Costco pays for the yearly membership fee. All purchases afterwards are simply beneficial to my budget.
gus738 likes this.
smithfarmer is offline  
post #273 of 393 Old 08-21-2013, 03:38 PM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don''t know if anyone has posted this yet, but Costco has 123 units available again Online!
davmrls is offline  
post #274 of 393 Old 08-21-2013, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaTaGuMp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The OC
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by davmrls View Post

I don''t know if anyone has posted this yet, but Costco has 123 units available again Online!

I posted about it in the S64 thread.

RIP John, my best friend. Oct 17th 1966 - Nov 13th 2010

RIP Victor, my dad, June 26th 1927 - April 13th 2011
WaTaGuMp is offline  
post #275 of 393 Old 08-21-2013, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTimeShifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithfarmer View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTimeShifter View Post

If and when I cancel, I'm going to tell them, why pay a membership fee and have to drive out of my way just to save only a few pennies?

There is no way I can buy enough stuff to save enough to make up for the membership fee.

If and when? You are driving out of your way to go to Sam's. That's justification right there to cancel and join Costco. My weekly savings from buying my gas at Costco pays for the yearly membership fee. All purchases afterwards are simply beneficial to my budget.

I've only been there twice since joining in May and only bought a $50 worth of stuff each time - probably won't go more than once every few months. I'm just going to cancel. Warehouse clubs just aren't worth it for me. The gas station by me is the same price as Costco and on the way home from the gym.
HDTimeShifter is offline  
post #276 of 393 Old 08-21-2013, 10:06 PM
Member
 
matteroffact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig-Paul View Post

I went into Costco and purchased 4 (four) Panasonic TC-65PS64 TVs. Yes 4 of the 65”. I’ve got them all spoken for. I had to travel 140 miles to get to the Costco that had them in stock.

To resell, or are you putting 65" TVs in every bathroom?
matteroffact is offline  
post #277 of 393 Old 08-22-2013, 03:04 AM
Member
 
gasdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteroffact View Post

To resell, or are you putting 65" TVs in every bathroom?

No he's probably hooking up friends and family who don't belong to Costco... Great job, I may get one of these too, but I can't resist some Craigslist ads showing 60" Samsung, lg, panasonic Plasmas for $5-600. Seems like a big price jump going from 60 to 65, and honestly I lived with a 60" DLP SXRD for 7 years and it always felt too big, but in a good way. Not sure the extra 5" is worth it, when I can get a like-new 60" Plasma for $600. For example:
http://columbus.craigslist.org/ele/3988463696.html

Panasonic 60ST60, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Polk RTiA9, PS3 Slim
gasdag is offline  
post #278 of 393 Old 08-24-2013, 06:16 AM
Member
 
gregleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Still 88 65S64's available on costco.com as of this post. $1299, ground free shipping (or $35 "white glove" delivery including unboxing)

--Greg

gregleg is offline  
post #279 of 393 Old 08-24-2013, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaTaGuMp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The OC
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 69
It makes no sense why this isn't made in a 55", I would be on it like white on rice.

RIP John, my best friend. Oct 17th 1966 - Nov 13th 2010

RIP Victor, my dad, June 26th 1927 - April 13th 2011
WaTaGuMp is offline  
post #280 of 393 Old 08-24-2013, 04:13 PM
Member
 
gregleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I figure since these are a special variation for the warehouse clubs, which only carry so many TVs, they just picked the two sizes they thought would be the most likely to sell. I'm just glad they decided to make the 65" variant, because it should fit my needs perfectly.

--Greg

gregleg is offline  
post #281 of 393 Old 08-25-2013, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
Matt_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wyckoff, NJ
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where do you see the inventory information online?
Matt_R is offline  
post #282 of 393 Old 08-25-2013, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Craig-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_R View Post

Where do you see the inventory information online?

While on the Costco website do the following:

1. enter a large number in the item quantity box (e.g. 777)
2. hit ADD TO CART
3. if your quantity exceeds the on-line inventory then a message in red will pop up on top of the page.

That is how to determine the on-line Costco inventory.

BTW, the 65" Panasonic TC-65PS64 finally came back in-stock two days ago at 130 units.Only 55 units left.

EDIT 4:14 pm: Now only 50 left
EDIT 5:20 pm: Now only 44 left
Matt_R likes this.
Craig-Paul is offline  
post #283 of 393 Old 08-25-2013, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
Matt_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wyckoff, NJ
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cool trick, thanks! Just ordered one. I saw this model a few weeks ago and was disappointed to see it come and go quickly before I got an order in.
dw254 likes this.
Matt_R is offline  
post #284 of 393 Old 08-26-2013, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Craig-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Costco ***Inventory Update***

Three days ago Costco on-line finally had inventory levels back with 130 units of the Panasonic TC-65PS64. As of this morning that number had dropped to 39 (yes the sales of this TV have been very strong the previous three days).

Now the Costco on-line inventory is back up to 119 units (they added 80 more to their inventory).

EDIT: Just changed to 121 units in-stock. Edited - 08/25/2013 at 10:37 am

EDIT: Now 109 units in-stock. Edited - 08/26/2013at 3:46 pm

EDIT: Now 98 units in-stock. Edited - 08/27/2013 at 9:05 am

EDIT: Now 73 units in-stock. Edited - 08/28/2013 10:52 am

EDIT: Back up to 82 units. Edited - 08/28/2013 12:42 pm

EDIT: Now 53 units in-stock. Edited - 08/29/2013 8:18 am

EDIT: Now 25 units in-stock. Edited - 08/30/2013 8:32 am

EDIT: 3 hours later Costco now has 78 units in-stock (just added 50+units). Edited - 08/30/2013 11:30 am

EDIT: Now 61 units in-stock. Edited - 08/31/2013 2:51 am

EDIT: Now 38 units in-stock. Edited – 09/01/2013 7:45 am

EDIT: 12 hours later: Only 9 units in-stock.

EDIT: There were 3 this morning, Now SOLD OUT. Edited - 09/02/2013 12:23 pm


EDIT: Now 6 units back in stock.
Craig-Paul is offline  
post #285 of 393 Old 08-26-2013, 08:35 PM
Newbie
 
jammike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig-Paul View Post

Costco Inventory Update:

Three days ago Costco on-line finally had inventory levels back with 130 units of the Panasonic TC-65PS64. As of this morning that number had dropped to 39 (yes the sales of this TV have been very strong the last three days).

Now the Costco on-line inventory is back up to 119 units (they added 80 more to their inventory).

EDIT: Just changed to 121 units in-stock.
Edited by Craig-Paul - Today at 10:37 am

EDIT: Now 109 units in-stock.
Craig-Paul,
I ordered one today too. Can you please help with the link for D-Nice slides. I tried in the other forum too for the link, but somehow couldn't find them.
jammike is offline  
post #286 of 393 Old 08-26-2013, 09:53 PM
Member
 
Craig-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jammike View Post

Craig-Paul,
I ordered one today too. Can you please help with the link for D-Nice slides. I tried in the other forum too for the link, but somehow couldn't find them.


Glad you ordered a TC-65PS64. Congrats. Here's the info you requested:

D-Nice Slides are at Post #1: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1466472/2013-panasonic-settings-issues-thread

The slides are easy to use on the PS64:

1. Down load the slides.
2. Transfer them to a USB memory stick.
3. Put the stick in the TV’s USB port.
4. Press the MEDIA PLAYER on the remote next to the on/off red button.
5. Highlight PHOTOS and press OK on the remote.
6. Press the RED remote button R. That coincides with the red button on the screen that says SLIDESHOW.
7. A menu appears. Set the Slideshow settings to:
  • Frame: Off
  • Photo effect: Off
  • Transition effect: Off
  • Auto makeup: Off
  • Photo size: Normal
  • Burst playback: Off
  • Display interval: Long
  • Repeat Playback: On

8. Highlight in the Slideshow settings: START SLIDESHOW and press OK.
9. You can just leave it on 24hours/day for 100 continuous hours. Then you're ready to calibrate.

To calibrate try http://www.avsforum.com/t/1461177/official-panasonic-s60-series-discussion-thread/1290#post_23290695 and use post #1310.
Craig-Paul is offline  
post #287 of 393 Old 08-27-2013, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
jammike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Craig -Thanks for the link and the detailed instructions.
jammike is offline  
post #288 of 393 Old 08-27-2013, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
sytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Back in stock at Sams Club as well.
sytech is offline  
post #289 of 393 Old 08-30-2013, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
jammike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does CEVA do delivery on the weekends ? The tracking No shows it is in transit.

Unload 29-AUG-13 23:10
Load 28-AUG-13 22:42
jammike is offline  
post #290 of 393 Old 08-31-2013, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
dw254's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No CEVA doesn't deliver on the weekend only Monday-Friday. CEVA calls you a day before your TV is delivered.
dw254 is offline  
post #291 of 393 Old 08-31-2013, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
jammike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CEVA called today to schedule a delivery for Tuesday. The Tracking system shows that the TV reached local office after 8:30 am. Their drivers leave at 7:00 am daily, so it missed the cut.
They do make deliveries on Sat. It would have been nice to have the TV over the long weekend. Would have had enough time to mount it on the wall.
jammike is offline  
post #292 of 393 Old 08-31-2013, 09:18 PM
Member
 
gregleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Make sure you open the box and inspect the screen with a flashlight BEFORE the driver leaves.
gus738 likes this.

--Greg

gregleg is offline  
post #293 of 393 Old 08-31-2013, 09:34 PM
Newbie
 
jammike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregleg View Post

Make sure you open the box and inspect the screen with a flashlight BEFORE the driver leaves.
Thanks. Sure will. I have requested White Glove delivery. Hopefully that helps.
jammike is offline  
post #294 of 393 Old 09-01-2013, 10:02 PM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I know this is off topic, but I need some help with my 65PS64 65. I Have my Directtv and all my other components running through my Pioneer Receiver through HDMI connections, but when I try to stream my media from computer to tv through network, I can't get any sound through my speakers, only through the tv speakers. Any one else having this issue or am I missing some kind of setting I need to change. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dave
davmrls is offline  
post #295 of 393 Old 09-02-2013, 07:36 AM
Member
 
matteroffact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by davmrls View Post

when I try to stream my media from computer to tv through network, I can't get any sound through my speakers, only through the tv speakers.

Do you have an optical cable running from the TV to the receiver? If not, you can try setting up ARC (if your receiver supports it) to send the audio channel back over the HDMI cable, but I've never had any luck getting ARC working. Otherwise, if the TV is the source of the signal (streaming video, music, etc.), you'll need some way to get the audio signal back to the receiver.
matteroffact is offline  
post #296 of 393 Old 09-02-2013, 08:17 AM
Member
 
Doodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does Costco White Glove delivery include installing the TV stand or is it basically just pulling the TV out of the box to make sure the screen is ok?
Doodis is offline  
post #297 of 393 Old 09-02-2013, 10:08 AM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for your input Matteroffact. It's weird, because I setup the inputs the same way as I had it hooked up to my old Hitachi 55 and it worked for that tv just fine. I am going to have to see if I can reset the receiver, maybe that will work...??
davmrls is offline  
post #298 of 393 Old 09-02-2013, 10:49 AM
Member
 
gasdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doodis View Post

Does Costco White Glove delivery include installing the TV stand or is it basically just pulling the TV out of the box to make sure the screen is ok?

I wouldn't call assembling a TV stand "light assembly" but I could be wrong. I know my last Tv stand took me like three hours to mash together. Here is the info from Costco:
http://content.costco.com/Images/Content/Misc/PDF/WhiteGloveDeliveryB.pdf

I would plan on assembling it yourself, and also call Costco to confirm if furniture is assembled in White Glove delivery or not. If they do assemble it for you, I would think a nice tip would be warranted as well.

Panasonic 60ST60, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Polk RTiA9, PS3 Slim
gasdag is offline  
post #299 of 393 Old 09-02-2013, 10:53 AM
Member
 
gasdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Or are you talking about bolting the TV stand to the back of the panel? Yes that would be included. For sure, thats part of the Tv, and takes 2 minutes to bolt on. I thought you meant you bought furniture, an entertainment center, as well.

Also not only are they taking it out to see if its ok, but they're hooking it up, and turning it on, and you're going over ever inch of that acre of panel looking for problems. Get a magnifying lense, maybe a flashlight

Panasonic 60ST60, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Polk RTiA9, PS3 Slim
gasdag is offline  
post #300 of 393 Old 09-02-2013, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Doodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasdag View Post

Or are you talking about bolting the TV stand to the back of the panel? Yes that would be included. For sure, thats part of the Tv, and takes 2 minutes to bolt on. I thought you meant you bought furniture, an entertainment center, as well.

Also not only are they taking it out to see if its ok, but they're hooking it up, and turning it on, and you're going over ever inch of that acre of panel looking for problems. Get a magnifying lense, maybe a flashlight
Yes, I just meant bolting the TV stand to the back of the panel. Just wanted to know what to expect. Thanks.
Doodis is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Great Found Deals!

Tags
Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off