Panasonic TC-65PS64 65" Plasma $1299.99 + 5 Year Warranty for only $99.99 - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 393 Old 10-05-2013, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTimeShifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
One of the AVS experts on the S60 (that this model is based on) thread confirmed with Panasonic that the S60 was a limited production run that they stopped. Too bad as this is a great model, cheaper and better than the S60 with the AR filter. Maybe Panny will change their minds as they see how well it sold, but more likely they'll either make a version of the 2014 model with AR filter or simply make the 2024 model with filter and no longer make one without a filter.
HDTimeShifter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 393 Old 10-07-2013, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Washu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Really hope it becomes available again, i really don't care for the price of the 65ST, trying to stay under 1500 for tv/tax/warranty. I may end up LCD as all the other plasmas in my price range have limitations of one sort or another. The S64 was just priced too good I guess
Washu is offline  
post #333 of 393 Old 10-16-2013, 05:00 PM
Member
 
moussaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30

Man, I've been looking at TVs for a while now and right when I find one I'm going to buy it goes out of stock/production... Time to start researching all over again. :(


Panasonic 60VT60 | Denon x2000 | EMP E55Ti | E56Ci | E55Wi | PSA XS30
moussaka is offline  
post #334 of 393 Old 10-16-2013, 06:02 PM
Member
 
sammyrocker5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
sammyrocker5150 is offline  
post #335 of 393 Old 10-16-2013, 10:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTimeShifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
In one of the other S60 threads, someone posted a more legit-looking link (I think it was the S64, not the S60). But as Peyton Manning says, "hurry, hurry" - in one of those other threads, someone posted a link to a legit-looking article that Panasonic is not going to make any more plasmas in or after 2014. It's a shame that plasma is going the way of Betamax. Superior technology does not always succeed.
HDTimeShifter is offline  
post #336 of 393 Old 10-17-2013, 03:31 AM
Member
 
Washu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moussaka View Post

Man, I've been looking at TVs for a while now and right when I find one I'm going to buy it goes out of stock/production... Time to start researching all over again. frown.gif

Same here, in the meantime I spent the 470 dollars to repair my Samsung LED DLP. I am hoping it holds up till OLED gets real in pricing
Washu is offline  
post #337 of 393 Old 10-17-2013, 08:21 AM
Member
 
moussaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30

Well, I'm trying to replace an old 36" Toshiba CRT screen lol. I've had enough of this thing and need to get my HTPC off the family TV so I can watch whenever I want, not just when others aren't using it.


Panasonic 60VT60 | Denon x2000 | EMP E55Ti | E56Ci | E55Wi | PSA XS30
moussaka is offline  
post #338 of 393 Old 10-17-2013, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTimeShifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by moussaka View Post

Well, I'm trying to replace an old 36" Toshiba CRT screen.

I replaced my dying 34" Sony widescreen CRT with this and 4-5 times size increase and much more vivid colors are incredible. I could never go back to a "little" CRT.
HDTimeShifter is offline  
post #339 of 393 Old 10-24-2013, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
gnomesayin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyrocker5150 View Post

https://touch.ebay.com/tablet/item?itemId=111190798499

Not sure how legit this is

 

The same seller is still selling them on eBay, now for $1339 (keeps adjusting the price). He has a few instances of negative feedback on eBay for selling a TV he didn't have in stock, but refunds were provided in each instance. Many more positives for TVs sold and delivered, including some Pannys (though not any S64s yet).

 

He's also selling them directly on his site for less: https://www.thetvshack.com/panasonic-tc65ps64-smart-viera65-class-s64-series-full-hd-plasma-tv.html. Currently $1249, though I ordered mine for $1199 before he bumped the price up. I looked the guy up, and he's been operating "The TV Shack" since 2011. Communicated with him some, and he certainly operates as if he's legit. We'll see, but if it's a scam, it should be easy to get a refund via your credit card or PayPal, however you choose to pay. I'll post again when mine arrives next week (fingers crossed at least).

gnomesayin is offline  
post #340 of 393 Old 10-25-2013, 02:52 AM
Member
 
sammyrocker5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnomesayin View Post
 

 

The same seller is still selling them on eBay, now for $1339 (keeps adjusting the price). He has a few instances of negative feedback on eBay for selling a TV he didn't have in stock, but refunds were provided in each instance. Many more positives for TVs sold and delivered, including some Pannys (though not any S64s yet).

 

He's also selling them directly on his site for less: https://www.thetvshack.com/panasonic-tc65ps64-smart-viera65-class-s64-series-full-hd-plasma-tv.html. Currently $1249, though I ordered mine for $1199 before he bumped the price up. I looked the guy up, and he's been operating "The TV Shack" since 2011. Communicated with him some, and he certainly operates as if he's legit. We'll see, but if it's a scam, it should be easy to get a refund via your credit card or PayPal, however you choose to pay. I'll post again when mine arrives next week (fingers crossed at least).

 

 

I'm happy to report that I did order from him and recieved the p65s64 in great shape!  I scored mine for $1249 through his ebay listing instead of his website.  His free shipping is legit.  It was sent freight and came in three days.  Instead of taking delivery when the freight company called I opted to pick it up at their terminal (ten minutes away).  The box was in perfect shape!

 

I've been running full screen content with no static images (logo's and tickers) as well as slides when I'm home and not using the television. I'm using Cinema mode and did a quick setup using the AVS 709 disc for a quick setup.

 

After 100 hours or so I'm going to use Calman 5 and my Spectra Cal C3 to get it all set up.  I'll post my setings somewhere.  Too bad there isn't one big thread for just this television.  I feel the S64 talk is too spread out between a few threads and mixed with the S60.

sammyrocker5150 is offline  
post #341 of 393 Old 10-26-2013, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
guinness4prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For people still looking for this TV. I found one at a local SAMS club. They were discontinuing the model, and it was out of stock, but I was able to buy the display unit deeply discounted. Might be worth your while to call around if you have a sams membership and if you don't mind buying the floor model you can probably get the the store mgr to knock off $$.
guinness4prez is offline  
post #342 of 393 Old 10-26-2013, 11:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTimeShifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyrocker5150 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnomesayin View Post

The same seller is still selling them on eBay, now for $1339 (keeps adjusting the price).

He's also selling them directly on his site for less: https://www.thetvshack.com/panasonic-tc65ps64-smart-viera65-class-s64-series-full-hd-plasma-tv.html. Currently $1249, though I ordered mine for $1199 before he bumped the price up.

I'm happy to report that I did order from him and recieved the p65s64 in great shape!  I scored mine for $1249 through his ebay listing instead of his website.

I saw 2 boxes plus the display model at my local Sam's yesterday. I've seen 3-4 boxes at 2 other area Sam's in the last month or so. If you have any Sam's (or Costco) in your area, phone them first to see if they have inventory, or stop in to look. They are now $1271.79. No reason to pay more through the website above and miss out on Sam's and Costco's 3 month return guarantee unless you can't find any locally.
HDTimeShifter is offline  
post #343 of 393 Old 10-28-2013, 06:44 PM
Member
 
sammyrocker5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

I'm hoping his group buy works out for all of you fellas!  

sammyrocker5150 is offline  
post #344 of 393 Old 11-05-2013, 09:12 PM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've had my TC-65PS64 for about 2 months now and just noticed that the picture doesn't fill the screen all the way around the borders. There is about of 1/4 inch of black border all the way around even when choosing any filling setting format. Is anyone having this same issue or is their a setting I can change to fill the borders? I'd really hate to have to take this tv back.
davmrls is offline  
post #345 of 393 Old 11-07-2013, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Bill Misencik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Inventory is available via Costco website, get'em while you can.
Bill Misencik is offline  
post #346 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Sirnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davmrls View Post

I've had my TC-65PS64 for about 2 months now and just noticed that the picture doesn't fill the screen all the way around the borders. There is about of 1/4 inch of black border all the way around even when choosing any filling setting format. Is anyone having this same issue or is their a setting I can change to fill the borders? I'd really hate to have to take this tv back.

Try changing the screen aspect ratio on the remote to FULL, wide-screen, etc...
Sirnice is offline  
post #347 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 10:00 AM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirnice View Post

Try changing the screen aspect ratio on the remote to FULL, wide-screen, etc...


That does nothing....that's the first thing I tried. The 1/4 inch of black border is all the way around even when choosing any filling setting format, Full, Just, Zoom, H- Fill, etc.
davmrls is offline  
post #348 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Sirnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davmrls View Post

That does nothing....that's the first thing I tried. The 1/4 inch of black border is all the way around even when choosing any filling setting format, Full, Just, Zoom, H- Fill, etc.

Does the black boarder have pixels? I'm still waiting for my unit so I can't tell you if mine is the same or not.
Sirnice is offline  
post #349 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 10:11 AM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No pixels...just Black boarder. The black boarders are not the same width all around either. For example....one side is about 1/4, top is about 1/8, bottom is 1/8 etc. The width will change from time to time also. I don't know if that has to do with what channel I am viewing or not. Very noticeable. Let me know when you get yours....Thanks.
davmrls is offline  
post #350 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smithfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
If it doesn't happen when playing a bluray then most likely it's your cable box causing the issue.
smithfarmer is offline  
post #351 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 12:01 PM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithfarmer View Post

If it doesn't happen when playing a bluray then most likely it's your cable box causing the issue.

It's not the Comcast receiver....It happens when using all my inputs from all sources, including over the air 1080p signal.
davmrls is offline  
post #352 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 03:43 PM
Member
 
yesitsmario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Misencik View Post

Inventory is available via Costco website, get'em while you can.

I'm only seeing the regular s60 there.
http://www.costco.com/Panasonic-65%22-Class-1080p-600Hz-Plasma-HDTV-TC-P65S60.product.100083845.html
yesitsmario is offline  
post #353 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 10:05 PM
Member
 
Bill Misencik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct, I think the 64 version has run its course.
Bill Misencik is offline  
post #354 of 393 Old 11-08-2013, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
aman74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesitsmario View Post

I'm only seeing the regular s60 there.
http://www.costco.com/Panasonic-65%22-Class-1080p-600Hz-Plasma-HDTV-TC-P65S60.product.100083845.html

How come when I use that link I see the tv, but if I search under plasma tv's it's not there?

I always wondered this as I've come across that issue before.
aman74 is offline  
post #355 of 393 Old 11-13-2013, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
trustrsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davmrls View Post

I've had my TC-65PS64 for about 2 months now and just noticed that the picture doesn't fill the screen all the way around the borders. There is about of 1/4 inch of black border all the way around even when choosing any filling setting format. Is anyone having this same issue or is their a setting I can change to fill the borders? I'd really hate to have to take this tv back.

I have a S64 and I noticed this too after 100 hours with the slides. Part of it has to do with the pixel orbiter. I turned it off but the top and bottom are still not filled in on the hdmi input. I ran the slides again and the top and bottom 1/8(about 5 rows of pixels) are not filled in. The missing areas have pixels but on the left side, there is a 1/16 strip that is not pixels. I tried zooming, oversan off etc, and it never fills the screen.

I'd like to know if anyone else is seeing the same issue.
trustrsx is offline  
post #356 of 393 Old 11-14-2013, 11:47 AM
Member
 
davmrls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by trustrsx View Post

I have a S64 and I noticed this too after 100 hours with the slides. Part of it has to do with the pixel orbiter. I turned it off but the top and bottom are still not filled in on the hdmi input. I ran the slides again and the top and bottom 1/8(about 5 rows of pixels) are not filled in. The missing areas have pixels but on the left side, there is a 1/16 strip that is not pixels. I tried zooming, oversan off etc, and it never fills the screen.

I'd like to know if anyone else is seeing the same issue.

This is normal for Panasonic plasma's from what I have been reading. Mountain Michael sent me this link to read....here ya go..

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1450484/official-panasonic-tc-pxxst60-series-thread/390

Still Love this Set though!
davmrls is offline  
post #357 of 393 Old 11-16-2013, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Sirnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's normal. It's the same on my new 65PS64. It doesn't bother me at all. It's very minor and it's blends into the frame.
Sirnice is offline  
post #358 of 393 Old 11-19-2013, 07:17 PM
Member
 
FiveOhFour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stump909 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTimeShifter View Post

What's Costco B&M?
My local Costco didn't have it in stock a week ago, but my local Sam's had 3 boxes in stock plus the display model for $1448 on Friday.

Brick and Mortar just means in-store only. I'm curious how the term became popular however...

My take is that it came about with Internet retail as there became a need to clearly differentiate between online and physical locations. The first places/people you would hear it used would be internal corporate talk within companies and the Wall Street or reporters used it when reporting as well and from there just a trickle down effect. It was never a foreign term so to speak but that's my perception on its rise to a household term. smile.gif
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
FiveOhFour is offline  
post #359 of 393 Old 11-26-2013, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTimeShifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The Aurora, CO Sam's had the display model as well 1 box left on Sunday. The price has dropped to $1036.71. As I guessed back in April just after buying mine for $1500, it will probably be below or near $1000 by Black Friday. Too bad they stopped making them and are basically closing out.
HDTimeShifter is offline  
post #360 of 393 Old 12-01-2013, 09:14 AM
Member
 
DocNo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Some Sam's Club's have them around - you may have to call around; I had to call out of state. I just scored one Friday - my experience is here. Follow the link I give in that post to get the Sam's Club item number - most of the reps I spoke with over the phone were rude and/or short and would only search if I had the Sam's Club item number rolleyes.gif

To anyone thinking about it - yes, it's worth finding. Last night I played some blueray's and it performed fantastically. I can't wait for it to get some hours on it and do a calibration. In the meantime I used the settings in this CNet post and it was a massive improvement over the default settings. This isn't the set for daytime viewing - although it's perfectly fine for me. At night watching TV or even better, blueray, it's outstanding. I'm very, very satisfied. And hopefully it will get better as the set burns in more.
DocNo42 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Great Found Deals!

Tags
Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off