Hauppauge 1800 $9.99 free shipping - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 02-06-2013, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I didn't see anything about ebay in the TOS so here you go:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hauppauge-WinTV-HVR-1800-HDTV-Tuner-Capture-Card-PCI-e-/330874334624?pt=US_Video_Capture_TV_Tuner_Cards&hash=item4d09a5ada0

I bought one of these 3 or 4 months ago and it has worked great. Different seller but same product.

Please note: The 1800 is a single ATSC feed. For 10 bucks who cares though.

Edit: Updated link.
macks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 07:29 AM
Newbie
 
smac1221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would I be able to use this with a Comcast Card to receive my HBO and other paid channels or will I only be able to receive OTA broadcasts?

I would like to get rid of the Cable DVR and record some sporting events on the PC.
smac1221 is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
OTA only. The cablecard tuners are all over $130 or so
smac1221 likes this.
macks is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
bretski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If I'm reading the description correctly, a cable connection would have to be split in order for it to tune clear QAM and analog channels?
bretski is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yeah. The Hauppage 2250 is the only card I've ever come across that will do NTSC and QAM over the same coaxial input (USB combo tuners aside).
staknhalo is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
bretski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^ Thanks. I've been hemming and hawing over a 2250, but at $100+, haven't pulled the trigger. For $10, I'm willing to take a chance on this (and inserting a splitter)...
bretski is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by bretski View Post

^ Thanks. I've been hemming and hawing over a 2250, but at $100+, haven't pulled the trigger. For $10, I'm willing to take a chance on this (and inserting a splitter)...

I have a 2250. One coaxial, dual tuners of each type (ATSC, NTSC, QAM), and an FM tuner make it worth the cost IMO. This card here's is a great deal for $10.
staknhalo is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Duke Broadway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So this card has a tuner for ota channels, ane one tuner for cable channels? I am looking for a dual ota tuner so I can record one channel while watching another. If that is the case this isnt the tuner for me.........correct?
Duke Broadway is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
bretski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke Broadway View Post

I am looking for a dual ota tuner so I can record one channel while watching another. If that is the case this isnt the tuner for me.........correct?

Correct. Keep an eye on Amazon for the Avermedia Duet. They've been coming and going for $49.99 as inventory is available:

http://www.amazon.com/AVerMedia-A188-HD-Duet-Windows/dp/B002HWRN9U
bretski is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke Broadway View Post

So this card has a tuner for ota channels, ane one tuner for cable channels? I am looking for a dual ota tuner so I can record one channel while watching another. If that is the case this isnt the tuner for me.........correct?

That is correct. I ended up buying 2 since I have plenty of pcie slots.
macks is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 02-09-2013, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Duke Broadway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

That is correct. I ended up buying 2 since I have plenty of pcie slots.

Ahhh...so you just add a splitter before connection to the tuners. Very inexpensive way for 2 tuners.
Duke Broadway is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 02-10-2013, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke Broadway View Post

Ahhh...so you just add a splitter before connection to the tuners. Very inexpensive way for 2 tuners.

Exactly, the dual tuner cards all have internal splitters.
macks is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 02-10-2013, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
smac1221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smac1221 View Post

Would I be able to use this with a Comcast Card to receive my HBO and other paid channels or will I only be able to receive OTA broadcasts?

I would like to get rid of the Cable DVR and record some sporting events on the PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

OTA only. The cablecard tuners are all over $130 or so

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke Broadway View Post

So this card has a tuner for ota channels, ane one tuner for cable channels? I am looking for a dual ota tuner so I can record one channel while watching another. If that is the case this isnt the tuner for me.........correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

That is correct. I ended up buying 2 since I have plenty of pcie slots.

I thought it could only record OTA by the answer to my post. However it has two tuners in it (only one active at a time) and it will record cable...just not the higher channesl like HBO and paid channels? Does this exclude HD Cable channels?

And of what value are the missing connectors on the back of the card. I see that for $15.95 you get the S-Video and RCA connectors on the card from another web site. They advertise free shipping, but when you get to the ordering process it calculates shipping for another $16.
smac1221 is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 02-11-2013, 04:39 AM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It will record over the air, analogue cable, and QAM digital cable. Things like HBO, or any other digital cable channel that is flagged/encrypted by your provider will not work. For that, you will need a CableCard tuner.

Basically if you take your cable coaxial and plug it directly into your HDTV (not cable box), whatever channels you get there you will be able to get with this card; plus the aforementioned OTA channels if you have an antenna.
staknhalo is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 02-11-2013, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

It will record over the air, analogue cable, and QAM digital cable. Things like HBO, or any other digital cable channel that is flagged/encrypted by your provider will not work. For that, you will need a CableCard tuner.

Basically if you take your cable coaxial and plug it directly into your HDTV (not cable box), whatever channels you get there you will be able to get with this card; plus the aforementioned OTA channels if you have an antenna.

Some companies are moving towards encrypting all channels. When this happens this card would be unable to pick up any channels. I imagine all cable providers will be doing this in the near future.

Just to clarify this card can receiver Analog(NTSC) and ATSC or QAM.
macks is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 02-11-2013, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Duke Broadway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesnt look like this would fit in a silverstone MLO3, or am I mistaken. Full height vs half height?
Duke Broadway is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 02-12-2013, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
For $10 buck I bought a second card and they both work fine. Shipping was very fast, also. I need a better antenna now though smile.gif.
macks is offline  
post #18 of 27 Old 02-21-2013, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke Broadway View Post

Doesnt look like this would fit in a silverstone MLO3, or am I mistaken. Full height vs half height?
Full height card.

I updated the first link with an updated $9.99 FS link.

I love cheap computer tuners. Works great under Linux, btw.
macks is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 02-22-2013, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have purchased a bunch of these for my HTPC's and ones that I've built for others. They have the strongest tuners of any that I've ever owned. I bought a motherboard with a bunch of PCI express slots so I could install 4 of these in my main HTPC. I love em.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 02-22-2013, 10:43 AM
Member
 
SlantNGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeakybirnbaum View Post

I have purchased a bunch of these for my HTPC's and ones that I've built for others. They have the strongest tuners of any that I've ever owned. I bought a motherboard with a bunch of PCI express slots so I could install 4 of these in my main HTPC. I love em.

I just grabbed one. I haven't used a TV tuner in about five years, so I hope the technology has advanced significantly since then. Is there an easy way to switch between the analog tuner and the ATSC tuner (in WMC or WinTV) for this card?
SlantNGo is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 02-22-2013, 03:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlantNGo View Post

I just grabbed one. I haven't used a TV tuner in about five years, so I hope the technology has advanced significantly since then. Is there an easy way to switch between the analog tuner and the ATSC tuner (in WMC or WinTV) for this card?
I have no idea about that, sorry. I only use them for OTA.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 02-22-2013, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Analog is pretty much non-existent now. Chances are everything is ATSC for you and you don't even have to worry about it.
macks is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 02-23-2013, 09:44 AM
Member
 
SlantNGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

Analog is pretty much non-existent now. Chances are everything is ATSC for you and you don't even have to worry about it.

Right, but I was planning on hooking up the analog one to my cable box with an RF splitter (I don't have an HD cable box if you can believe it!) and the ATSC to an antenna. The only reason I'm interested in hooking it up to my cable box is to record cable channels, otherwise I'd be using the ATSC OTA feeds.
SlantNGo is offline  
post #24 of 27 Old 02-23-2013, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlantNGo View Post

Right, but I was planning on hooking up the analog one to my cable box with an RF splitter (I don't have an HD cable box if you can believe it!) and the ATSC to an antenna. The only reason I'm interested in hooking it up to my cable box is to record cable channels, otherwise I'd be using the ATSC OTA feeds.

You should probably start a new thread in the normal htpc forum. Sorry I don't know the answer to the question.
macks is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 02-23-2013, 10:10 AM
Member
 
SlantNGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

You should probably start a new thread in the normal htpc forum. Sorry I don't know the answer to the question.

No problem, I figure I'll try it out myself, and even if I can only get OTA ATSC to work, for 10 bucks who cares? smile.gif
SlantNGo is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 02-23-2013, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The hauppauge 1800 is one of the best ATSC tuners that money can buy in my opinion, as long as you can live with it not being a dual tuner.

I'm kind of mad that OTA HD is better than what my cable company provides. Even Netflix is better than Time Warner HD though.
macks is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 02-23-2013, 10:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,484
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 660
I just bought one. $9.99 and free shipping it's a no brainer.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Computers and Parts Great Found Deals!

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off