DMD chip for Optoma HD80/HD81 or Benq W5000 / W20000 projector - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2012, 02:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

I want to buy a DMD chip present in Optoma HD80 Hd81 or Benq W5000/W20000 DLP projector. The type is 1910-911a or 1910-9028.

Payment through paypal

Thanks.
cream is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2012, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
up
cream is offline  
Old 05-08-2014, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
David vder Laan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have exactly the same request.

David vder Laan is offline  
Old 05-08-2014, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

What problem do you have on your DMD chip and in what projector make/model is it fitted?
cream is offline  
Old 05-08-2014, 08:56 AM
Newbie
 
David vder Laan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

My BENQ w5000 has half the screen working and half the screen showing a white screen with black horizontal stripes/points which vary from 20 pixels till 1 pixel wide and one pixel in height.

David vder Laan is offline  
Old 05-08-2014, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I suspected just that:) There are many posts on forums that point this to DMD chip, but it's all wrong. I even saw repair kits on eBay. According to them, DMD doesn't make contact with the board but in reality the fault is somewhere else. I revived about 10 w5000/20000 with this problem.

In this case your DMD chip is all right. The common problem on this projector is a fault on DLP formatter board. The image is processed by 2 identical chips (1 for half screen). The cause is a fault on a poorly designed power supply. If you have luck you need only to change a transistor, if not a RLDRAM chip must be replaced.

Mircea
cream is offline  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:56 AM
Newbie
 
David vder Laan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ooh thank you for your help! What would be the best steps to fixing it then?

 

I live in the Netherlands

David vder Laan is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
tkmnkg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cream View Post

I suspected just that:) There are many posts on forums that point this to DMD chip, but it's all wrong. I even saw repair kits on eBay. According to them, DMD doesn't make contact with the board but in reality the fault is somewhere else. I revived about 10 w5000/20000 with this problem.

In this case your DMD chip is all right. The common problem on this projector is a fault on DLP formatter board. The image is processed by 2 identical chips (1 for half screen). The cause is a fault on a poorly designed power supply. If you have luck you need only to change a transistor, if not a RLDRAM chip must be replaced.

Mircea

I too have the same problem as David, only mine has progressed to half the screen being completely black. Does this still sound like an easy transistor fix, or has my DMD chip indeed gone bad?
tkmnkg is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

DMD chip is out of the question. Usually the DMD fails by suffering pixel failure.

In your case, the worst that could happen is for the RLDRAM chip to fail (a voltage supply is feed through the transistor that fails first). A replacement memory is about 5-8usd but the installation is difficult because the package is BGA and you need special rework tools in order to do that.

Mircea
cream is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cream View Post
Hello,

DMD chip is out of the question. Usually the DMD fails by suffering pixel failure.

In your case, the worst that could happen is for the RLDRAM chip to fail (a voltage supply is feed through the transistor that fails first). A replacement memory is about 5-8usd but the installation is difficult because the package is BGA and you need special rework tools in order to do that.

Mircea
Mircea,
Please PM me, I have a Benq W20000 that i'm looking at option for repair.
Thanks,
Troy
Crashdummy2 is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
PM sent
cream is offline  
Old 12-28-2014, 02:11 AM
Newbie
 
contango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cream View Post
Hello,

DMD chip is out of the question. Usually the DMD fails by suffering pixel failure.

In your case, the worst that could happen is for the RLDRAM chip to fail (a voltage supply is feed through the transistor that fails first). A replacement memory is about 5-8usd but the installation is difficult because the package is BGA and you need special rework tools in order to do that.

Mircea
Mircea,
I have exactly the same failure on my BenQ W5000. Could you please PM me about how to repair/change transistor and RLDRAM?
Thanks,
Mat
contango is offline  
Old 12-28-2014, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,
@contango : I've tried to send you a PM but it seems i don't have sufficient posts to send private messages.

Anyway, here are the instructions for everybody, note that I'm not responsible for any further damage you might do to your projector if you don't have the proper skills/tools:

I've fixed many W5000 projectors with this kind of symptom after I had to find the cause to fix mine.

The cause for the failure is a design flaw where they choose a transistor that works on parameters close to absolute ratings (temperature, current). You change that with a better part and you won't have that problem again.

I've attached the photo with the parts you need to change/check. The transistor highlighted in red you must change for sure. Check the diode highlighted also. Use a better part for the transistor, namely IRLML2502. It's a more robust mos-fet which won't give the same fault in the future.

This is a part of a supply circuit for a RLDRAM chip highlighted in red. The part is D9FQS from Micron. As the package is BGA you need a BGA reworking machine (or a service shop that has it) to change the chip.



The image processing is made by two identical circuits (DDP3021). Each has it's own power supply, a RLDRAM CHIP and a flash memory.

http://www.irf.com/product-info/datasheets/data/irlml6244pbf.pdf

http://www.micron.com/~/media/Documents/Products/Data%20Sheet/DRAM/288Mb_RLDRAM_2_CIO.pdf

In any case, don't power up the projector again until you changed at least discrete components (transistors, diodes) as there's a chance to save the RLDRAM chip.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	w5000.jpg
Views:	722
Size:	740.7 KB
ID:	445754  
cream is offline  
Old 12-28-2014, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
contango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks a lot!
Mat
contango is offline  
Old 01-17-2015, 10:33 AM
Member
 
FeliCumbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi what is the model # to order for the diode? Also can we just pick up any transistor of the listed model number or is there a type as well for that?

Thanks for having an awesome solution.

-Felipe Cumberino
Benq W5000 on a DA-Lite- Adcom GFA 555- Adcom GFP 710 - Oppo BDP-83 - Polk Monitor 10's fully upgraded audio grade xo's. -WDTV Live -Samsung flatscreen part time and non movie duties. Happy Happy Happy.
FeliCumbe is offline  
Old 01-19-2015, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

The diode part number for the diode is : nsr0320mw2t1g

For the transistor, you can use any N channel mosfet with the same package and specs (or above) as IRMLM6244.
cream is offline  
Old 01-22-2015, 02:35 PM
Member
 
FeliCumbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome...many thanks...i disconnected mine...and I hope that I wont need the dmd ...i will be ordering the transistor today.

If there anymore pointers please do tell.

Thank you M.

-Felipe Cumberino
Benq W5000 on a DA-Lite- Adcom GFA 555- Adcom GFP 710 - Oppo BDP-83 - Polk Monitor 10's fully upgraded audio grade xo's. -WDTV Live -Samsung flatscreen part time and non movie duties. Happy Happy Happy.
FeliCumbe is offline  
Old 02-19-2015, 11:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First let me say im sorry for the spam but I cant PM due to under 15 posts... My question is to cream. I have the opportunity to buy the w5000 second hand for about 350-400$ so my question is: is it a good deal. im asking you because I see you have a lot of experience with it, and apparently you don't want to give up on yours. so basically what I want to know is if the problem you described in the other thread (the one with the fans) is the other common problem called "three red leds" because it seems you have found a solution to that too the reason im posting this is because where I live 350-400$ is not a small investment and I want to know what my chances are in terms of repairing the most common and apparently "bound to happen" faults. Thanks.
Otbor 4ere6ka is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
me again...cream please, reply again when you can. I have a problem with the w5000. Basically I get no picture, only thin white horizontal lines, (not vertical). The story goes like this, ive opened the projector to clean the color wheel and while doing it I noticed that the heat sink for the DMD chip is loose....so I started disassembling and it turned out that someone had done this before me and had placed the little aluminum peace that goes between the big heat sink and the DMD chip the wrong way(heat sink side to the DMD). so this meant that the dmd was running without heat sink. so I went to buy the thermal pad and paste, cleaned everything and upon getting every thing back together I saw that I have 2 pins (1 on each side) missing from the 335 socket...everything was running ok before ive opened the projector, and I was careful when disassembling the heat sink so I don't think I broke them. ive checked on the metal plate around the dmd chip but didn't see them there either. i decidet to get a new socket but the people at the shop almost laugh at me saying that this socket is prehistoric. so my only option was to put everything together and hope that since it was working fine before it will be ok again....well i was wrong after assembling everything i got the lines im talking about....so my question is what do you think? is it the socket or ive done something to the dmd chip? sorry to ask you something stupid like that but after searching on the net both the socket and the dmd are almost impossible to find and i want to know where to start and what kind of money will i need. i understand that its hard to say anything without looking at the thing first but im really worried and angry at me for opening it, but then again how long was it going to last without a heat sink....
Otbor 4ere6ka is offline  
Old 07-19-2015, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry about reviving this thread, but I need help on my BenQ W5000.
Frico855 is offline  
Old 07-19-2015, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And to make things easier I need to link to some pictures.
Frico855 is offline  
Old 07-19-2015, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are links to the screen "errors" I get when I turn on my P.J:
Frico855 is offline  
Old 07-19-2015, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Frico855 is offline  
Old 07-23-2015, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you take a look, Cream?
Frico855 is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
W5000 zebra stripes

Hello Cream,
i just read your post about the "half-picture-problem".
I cleaned the inside of the projector, including the DMD contacts.
This didn't solve the problem.
The Screen shows black horizontal stripes over the total width.
Between the stripes the picture is shown normal.

May a new transistor/diode solve this?
I ask, because the stripes appears not only on the half screen.

Thank you very much, i want to try your solution.
ph_75 is offline  
Old 08-02-2015, 03:35 AM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can ANYONE that reads this thread, please send Cream a PM about these new post? Before you say, "send a PM yourself"; I can't, because I dont have 15 post yet. And I'm not about to spam to get to 15 post.

Need help, ASAP.
Frico855 is offline  
Old 08-02-2015, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 8,757
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3392 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph_75 View Post
Hello Cream,
i just read your post about the "half-picture-problem".
I cleaned the inside of the projector, including the DMD contacts.
This didn't solve the problem.
The Screen shows black horizontal stripes over the total width.
Between the stripes the picture is shown normal.

May a new transistor/diode solve this?
I ask, because the stripes appears not only on the half screen.

Thank you very much, i want to try your solution.
Normally when you have these stripes the DMD formatter board is starting to go bad. This is normally caused by overheating. It's not normally a contact issue or a problem with the DMD.
Seegs108 is online now  
Old 08-04-2015, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Normally when you have these stripes the DMD formatter board is starting to go bad. This is normally caused by overheating. It's not normally a contact issue or a problem with the DMD.
Any thoughts about my problem, Seegs108?
Frico855 is offline  
Old 08-05-2015, 03:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 8,757
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3392 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frico855 View Post
Any thoughts about my problem, Seegs108?
I don't know what specifically causes that issue but it's obvious there's an issue with the video processor or it could even be the formatter board. Each half of the DMD gets controlled by the formatter board (there's two discrete chips that control each half of the DMD), which is the board that actually controlls what information gets to the DMD, so either the formatter board is messing up the information that's been sent to it or the video processor is sending messed up information to the formatter board.
Seegs108 is online now  
Old 08-06-2015, 12:53 AM
Newbie
 
Frico855's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
I don't know what specifically causes that issue but it's obvious there's an issue with the video processor or it could even be the formatter board. Each half of the DMD gets controlled by the formatter board (there's two discrete chips that control each half of the DMD), which is the board that actually controlls what information gets to the DMD, so either the formatter board is messing up the information that's been sent to it or the video processor is sending messed up information to the formatter board.
So changing out the diode/transistor wont fix the problem?
Frico855 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off