New ranges of Monoprice screens seem to be coming soon - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 573 Old 12-19-2011, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For the multi-format screen, the tension is not adjustable. It is tensioned with springs which are either attached or not.
slybarman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 573 Old 12-19-2011, 06:04 PM
Member
 
dube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: austin,texas
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to say thanks for the help that the fourm gives ...
This is my second go round with new av stuff and i could not be more happier...
...enjoy!

Gary

http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages...SRM1/srm1.html
http://emotiva.com/xpa3.shtm
http://www.visualapex.com/BenQ/Proje...FQleTAodJkbBzw
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...q=1&format=2:D
dube is offline  
post #333 of 573 Old 12-19-2011, 08:49 PM
Member
 
ttusqrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

Impressive box, isn't it?

Very impressive box. Unfortunately, today was trash day and now I have cardboard everywhere, but nevertheless, the screen is hung! It looks wonderful and I'm extremely happy with it so far.

I also got my new Denon today, so tomorrow the receiver goes in, as do 5.1 of my 7.1. The other two (side surrounds) are going to take some finagling with some fish tape since they are a pain the ass.

I'm praying that the final part of my mount comes in tomorrow as well so I can hang my projector. Then I can push my couch in the game room in there and wait for my chairs to make it in later this month, early next month.


It's finally starting to look like a media room rather than just a cave!
ttusqrl is offline  
post #334 of 573 Old 12-20-2011, 08:26 AM
Member
 
flyingshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just ordered the 106 multi HD white Got the email that they were back in stock and pulled the trigger. Was going to go with 110 Carada but the masking feature won out. Going to be paired with an Epson 8700ub, anyways gives me incentive to finish painting so I can ge this mounted when it shows up.

Woo Hoo
flyingshane is offline  
post #335 of 573 Old 12-20-2011, 11:19 AM
Member
 
greddy09sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm getting the 133" Motorized White screen. Should I pay almost double more the amount to get the tab-tension one? Do yall think it's worth it?
greddy09sc is offline  
post #336 of 573 Old 12-20-2011, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'll likely be ordering the 133" motorized white in the next few days as well (my epson 5010 arrives tomorrow, and I want to shoot it at the wall to see what 133" will look like first).

There's no way I would order it *without* the tab-tension. I'd rather shoot on a wall than on a non-tensioned screen.

IMHO.

-Kevin
KevinG is offline  
post #337 of 573 Old 12-20-2011, 02:29 PM
Member
 
greddy09sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post

I'll likely be ordering the 133" motorized white in the next few days as well (my epson 5010 arrives tomorrow, and I want to shoot it at the wall to see what 133" will look like first).

There's no way I would order it *without* the tab-tension. I'd rather shoot on a wall than on a non-tensioned screen.

IMHO.

-Kevin

REALLY? That bad huh? Guess because it starts to have hotspots or wrinkles/wave in the long run?
My brother has a 90in 10yr old elite manual screen and it still works fine. No wrinkles are waves.
greddy09sc is offline  
post #338 of 573 Old 12-20-2011, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
psgcdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prov. of Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
I am told that tension isn't strictly required up to size of 106 inches, but makes all the difference in the world above that size. So a 90-inch screen is not comparable to a 133-inch.

psgcdn is offline  
post #339 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just pulled the trigger on this baby:

Tab-Tensioned Motorized Projection Screen (Somfy Motor) w/ IR Remote - HD White Fabric (133 inch, 16:9)

Shooting the 5010 at unfinished (tape and spackle) dry-wall made me wonder why I need a screen at all...it looked that good. Hopefully this is be an obvious improvement. ;-)

-Kevin
KevinG is offline  
post #340 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post

Just pulled the trigger on this baby:

Tab-Tensioned Motorized Projection Screen (Somfy Motor) w/ IR Remote - HD White Fabric (133 inch, 16:9)

Shooting the 5010 at unfinished (tape and spackle) dry-wall made me wonder why I need a screen at all...it looked that good. Hopefully this is be an obvious improvement. ;-)

-Kevin

Wish I could have considered a Monoprice, due to tight specs I really need more size info...so I ended up with a Da-Lite Cosmo Tab Tensioned with Da-Mattte screen material. Quite a bit more than Monoprice, but at least I know it will fit.
toofast68 is online now  
post #341 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
AVS66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys think Mono make same material on all of their screens, regardless to the prices?
AVS66 is offline  
post #342 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think it is safe to say Monoprice does not do their own manufacturing of these screens, so most likely it depends whether they are sourcing all of them from the same Asian factory or from different factories. I would suspect that is more determinate than the price.
slybarman is offline  
post #343 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post

Wish I could have considered a Monoprice, due to tight specs I really need more size info...so I ended up with a Da-Lite Cosmo Tab Tensioned with Da-Mattte screen material. Quite a bit more than Monoprice, but at least I know it will fit.

I hear ya. I'm fortunate to not really have any space constraints (within reason) with this screen.

I'll certainly post up all relevant measurements once mine is installed.

-Kevin
KevinG is offline  
post #344 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
domingos38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

I think it is safe to say Monoprice does not do their own manufacturing of these screens, so most likely it depends whether they are sourcing all of them from the same Asian factory or from different factories. I would suspect that is more determinate than the price.

i think they are made by GRANDVIEW SCREENS
domingos38 is offline  
post #345 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As I posted before, I am skeptical that they are made by Gandview or that Monoprice buys them from Grandview for these prices. I think it much more likely they are purchased from the same sources(s) in China that Grandview buys some (or all) of their screens from.
slybarman is offline  
post #346 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
AVS66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, is it safe to say that no matter which screen one bought from mono, the QP is same? The different cost is for the size/frame/function .....
AVS66 is offline  
post #347 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
IMO - Without more information from Monoprice, I would not assume anything.
slybarman is offline  
post #348 of 573 Old 12-22-2011, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

IMO - Without more information from Monoprice, I would not assume anything.

Yep - I spent HOURS trying to get more info out of them, and basically I got nothing. They couldn't tell me ANYTHING other than what is on their site.
toofast68 is online now  
post #349 of 573 Old 12-23-2011, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post

I'll certainly post up all relevant measurements once mine is installed.

Well, this could take a little while...It isn't scheduled to be delivered until 1/4/2012...
KevinG is offline  
post #350 of 573 Old 12-28-2011, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post

Well, this could take a little while...It isn't scheduled to be delivered until 1/4/2012...

Shipper called and will be delivering tomorrow afternoon. I hope to test-hang the screen this weekend.
KevinG is offline  
post #351 of 573 Old 12-28-2011, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
luckybaker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who have the motorized versions of the screens, what side of the screen is the power cord on? I'm in the process of finishing up electrical in my theater and want to make sure I get the outlet on the right side.

I'm looking at the 106" model.

Thanks!
luckybaker4 is offline  
post #352 of 573 Old 12-29-2011, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckybaker4 View Post

For those who have the motorized versions of the screens, what side of the screen is the power cord on? I'm in the process of finishing up electrical in my theater and want to make sure I get the outlet on the right side.

I'm looking at the 106" model.

Thanks!

I read somewhere that it's on the left side of the screen. I'll be able to confirm tonight when I open my box...I haven't run the power yet because of this.
KevinG is offline  
post #353 of 573 Old 12-29-2011, 08:12 AM
Member
 
ianick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckybaker4 View Post

For those who have the motorized versions of the screens, what side of the screen is the power cord on? I'm in the process of finishing up electrical in my theater and want to make sure I get the outlet on the right side.

I'm looking at the 106" model.

Thanks!

I have the 106" screen and it is indeed on the left hand side. My power outlet is on the the right
ianick is offline  
post #354 of 573 Old 12-29-2011, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianick View Post

I have the 106" screen and it is indeed on the left hand side. My power outlet is on the the right

Do you have any creative ideas for hiding the cable? Even if I put my outlet on the left side of the screen, I still can't think of a good way to hide all of the extra coiled-up cable...
KevinG is offline  
post #355 of 573 Old 12-29-2011, 10:25 AM
Member
 
jbernardi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: D.C. area
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm surprised that the specifications for the 120" Multi-format screen do not list the weight, but include the information "Power specifications: 100v - 220v, 50/60Hz, 80/90W."

Have any of you with Monoprice Multi-Format screens plugged them in yet? :-)

Only 39 more days (estimate) before I can order one in white.
jbernardi is offline  
post #356 of 573 Old 12-29-2011, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When you plug it in, the wrinkles go away. ;-)
slybarman is offline  
post #357 of 573 Old 12-30-2011, 05:16 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I received my:

"Tab-Tensioned Motorized Projection Screen (Somfy Motor) w/ IR Remote - HD White Fabric (133 inch, 16:9)"

First the details.
1) The box is absolutely huge. And it was very nicely packaged. Double boxed, no damage to the internal box. The shipping weight was 96 pounds.
2) Out of the box, it is still quite imposing.
3) The mounting brackets are absolutely dead simple, and wonderful. We thought hanging the screen (since it was so heavy) was going to be difficult, but the mounting brackets seem to just grab the thing and hold on to it. Very nice.
4) Motor seems quiet enough, and it is certainly smooth.
5) The screen smells like a swimming pool toy (more on this in a bit)

Some quick dimensions.

The top case is 135.5" long.
The bottom bar is 128" long.
The sides have 3 and 1/8" of masking (at the narrowest)
The bottom has 2 and 1/2" of masking plus the width of the bottom bar (1 and 1/2")

Power cord and IR receiver are on the left.

My impressions:
Not great. The reason this screen smells like a swimming pool toy is that it is made of vinyl, just like a swimming pool toy. And it isn't very thick vinyl either. I guess I could have and should have done some more research, but monoprice describes this as a "FABRIC" screen in the specifications as well as the item description. This also means the the masking area is simple black vinyl and not a fabric.

It also doesn't look much better than it did when projecting on a bare wall. I suppose that's because the gain of the screen (1.0) is probably very close to the gain of the wall. In retrospect, if we didn't want a screen that disappeared, I think I could have put some black borders up on the wall and had very very similar quality.

There are some waves in the "fabric" at both lower corners, but I haven't tried tightening the strings yet. (The tensioning system is also of lower quality than I have witnessed on name brand screens).

I've used monoprice for just about everything that they sell. In other words, if I need something, and monoprice sells it, that's where I buy it. Overall, I am always 100% satisfied. I would say, in this case, that I got what I paid for, and not what seems like an absolute steal. If I were doing it again, or could easily return this screen, I would probably choose to pay twice as much for a better quality screen material, but that's just MHO.

-Kevin
KevinG is offline  
post #358 of 573 Old 12-30-2011, 08:01 AM
Member
 
ianick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post

Do you have any creative ideas for hiding the cable? Even if I put my outlet on the left side of the screen, I still can't think of a good way to hide all of the extra coiled-up cable...

I had a power outlet installed on the ceiling. So the power cable runs behind the screen.
ianick is offline  
post #359 of 573 Old 12-30-2011, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianick View Post

I had a power outlet installed on the ceiling. So the power cable runs behind the screen.

Thanks. I'm about to install a power outlet in the ceiling...I suppose I could put it the exact distance away from the screen so that the cable runs behind the screen, but I was planning to put the outlet right to the left of the screen...Then I'd have a few feet of cable coiled up somewhere...yuck.
KevinG is offline  
post #360 of 573 Old 12-30-2011, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
psgcdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prov. of Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
At least put it behind the screen?

psgcdn is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Monoprice , Projection Screens , Dalite

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off