New ranges of Monoprice screens seem to be coming soon - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 575 Old 03-31-2013, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffKB View Post

Question for anyone who owns the multi format screen - can you mask to aspect ratios wider than 2.35? Is there enough leeway to mask Ben Hur for example?

Thanks!

Theoretically, you could add additional clips to catch the masking at different aspects. However, there is a limited amount of masking material on the roller.

Sent from my Galaxy Note 2 using Tapatalk.

Sent from my Galaxy Note 2 using Tapatalk.
slybarman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 575 Old 04-04-2013, 06:08 PM
Member
 
mach250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm looking at the 150" 16:9 screen but I have an issue, the wall I plan on installing it on has two windows that I never use and plan on covering before mounting the screen in front of them. I'm not sure how these things mount but I just saw hiperco's post above and caught a glimpse at a possible plan killer with the way his mounted to the wall. Now the measurements between the windows are about 40" wide by 60" tall.

Will I need to downsize or am I ok? What about the dimensions of the frame for the 150 2.35 screen?

his photos of the mounting bracket
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-pRuKLdOkDLk/UQPqoQ2KtkI/AAAAAAAAAWU/Nn-IamtzC6U/s720/P1260064.JPG
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-6q1k1_IJc68/UQPqnm5_NSI/AAAAAAAAAWM/18HNzb-Cow0/s720/P1260063.JPG

the wall I plan on using, back when the builders weren't finished
mach250 is offline  
post #543 of 575 Old 04-04-2013, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
socal swagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
i covered my huge picture windo with couple of blackout curtains stapled to wall and bolted on fixed screen. year later all is still good
socal swagger is offline  
post #544 of 575 Old 04-04-2013, 07:50 PM
Member
 
mach250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by socal swagger View Post

i covered my huge picture windo with couple of blackout curtains stapled to wall and bolted on fixed screen. year later all is still good

I'm really just wondering how big is the part that goes on the wall
mach250 is offline  
post #545 of 575 Old 04-05-2013, 05:22 PM
Newbie
 
patrickmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would just mount a 2x4 across the entire wall (use some lag bolts into the studs) and then mount the screen to that. The screen would stand off the wall but you shouldn't notice it looking towards the screen.
patrickmunn is offline  
post #546 of 575 Old 04-07-2013, 10:38 AM
Member
 
mach250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickmunn View Post

I would just mount a 2x4 across the entire wall (use some lag bolts into the studs) and then mount the screen to that. The screen would stand off the wall but you shouldn't notice it looking towards the screen.

so the mount that hiperco's post shows isn't how it normally mounts? or would I attach the black brackets to the 2x4?
mach250 is offline  
post #547 of 575 Old 04-07-2013, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
hiperco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: "Greater Binghamton Area"
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My screen is the multiformat version and has a lot of aluminum frame around it to manage the adjustable masking etc. It stands out from the wall at both top and bottom. Some other types are probably more flush mount but I can't comment on those.
hiperco is offline  
post #548 of 575 Old 04-08-2013, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
patrickmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach250 View Post

so the mount that hiperco's post shows isn't how it normally mounts? or would I attach the black brackets to the 2x4?

I have the 130" 2.35:1 screen. There is a top and bottom bracket. The brackets are approx. 62" long. So if I were you, I would mount two (top and bottom) 2x4s across the windows and then mount the brackets to the 2x4s.

Also, my screen did not come with the "straps" to mount the brackets the correct distance apart. I had to measure and figure it out on my own.
patrickmunn is offline  
post #549 of 575 Old 06-20-2013, 05:41 AM
Member
 
GTA Beancounter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I really want to purchase the white 106" multi format screen but monoprice won't ship to Canada, I'm having the same luck with looking for a retailer of the Grandview screen which appears to be identical. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I did find one ebay seller "commoncoupons" that would ship the 120" screen to Canada but its not what I'm looking for.

Any help you can provide would be really appreciated! smile.gif
GTA Beancounter is offline  
post #550 of 575 Old 06-20-2013, 07:24 AM
Member
 
ZeGhostbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA Beancounter View Post

I really want to purchase the white 106" multi format screen but monoprice won't ship to Canada.

I was curious about the Monoprice screens and might recommend them to friends in Canada, so I went over to their website to have a look at the shipping issue. I added the 120" multi-format screen to my cart and received a shipping quote for Canada for $24.74. But when trying to proceed to the checkout there was a notice. Not sure why they could not put this notice a little earlier in the process to reduce frustrations.

Have you considered getting it shipped to the border?
ZeGhostbear is offline  
post #551 of 575 Old 06-20-2013, 08:43 AM
Member
 
GTA Beancounter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeGhostbear View Post

I was curious about the Monoprice screens and might recommend them to friends in Canada, so I went over to their website to have a look at the shipping issue. I added the 120" multi-format screen to my cart and received a shipping quote for Canada for $24.74. But when trying to proceed to the checkout there was a notice. Not sure why they could not put this notice a little earlier in the process to reduce frustrations.

Have you considered getting it shipped to the border?

I had the exact same experience... when I saw the $24.74 I whipped out my credit card so fast my wife would have been impressed smile.gif

Anyhow, we are looking into getting it shipped to the border as we are very close. The cost for the facility is only about $30, I just need to figure out what if any duties/tax besides our 13% HST would be payable at the border. The other issue is that I'll need to measure my wife's car to see if it will fit. On that note, can anybody who has purchased a 106" version validate that the box is about 9' x 16" x 11"? I would hate to get to the border and find out that the monoprice package dimensions are wrong!

Thanks
GTA Beancounter is offline  
post #552 of 575 Old 06-20-2013, 09:23 AM
Member
 
ZeGhostbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA Beancounter View Post

Anyhow, we are looking into getting it shipped to the border as we are very close. The cost for the facility is only about $30, I just need to figure out what if any duties/tax besides our 13% HST would be payable at the border.

I regularly import goods from the U.S. into Canada. Most of the time the added cost is equivalent to the HST. I find it worthwhile despite the added hassle. You can save a little money, a lot of money or get access to a product that is simply not available in Canada. If you really needed to know the exact cost you could contact the CBSA by phone.
ZeGhostbear is offline  
post #553 of 575 Old 07-08-2013, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What are the thoughts on the tab-tensioned motorized screens? I was looking at the 106" white fabric one. I am currently looking at the monoprice, visualapex, and elite screen tab tensioned 106" motorized screens for my bonus room setup.

BTW, this screen will be for a Benq w1070 projector.
utee05 is offline  
post #554 of 575 Old 07-17-2013, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Actually it will probably be an HD25 as that is what I am currently leaning towards. But so far the reviews of the motorized screen seems to be good so any others that may have run into issues please let me know as I am currently looking into getting this screen.
utee05 is offline  
post #555 of 575 Old 11-11-2013, 04:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
nickoakdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
How is everyone's masking system holding up? After a while do these things wear down, or work as good as day one?
nickoakdl is offline  
post #556 of 575 Old 11-11-2013, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Still works great !
nickoakdl likes this.
mbroder is offline  
post #557 of 575 Old 11-12-2013, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
gec5741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chcago
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I'm really thinking of getting a 120 inch multi format screen. Were these easy to put together? Do they work well? How do they look with some dim light inte room? Not sunlight but just having a dim lighting in the back of the room kind of thing?

Looking on their site it seems 120 is the biggest multi format screen they have? I wish they had a 133 inch!
gec5741 is offline  
post #558 of 575 Old 11-12-2013, 10:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm happy with mine. It is very well constructed and looks great but I wouldn't classify it as EASY to put together. It could be easy with well written directions, but they are cryptic at best. There are some good tips for assembly I early in this thread. I suggest a heavy dose of reading.
mbroder is offline  
post #559 of 575 Old 02-10-2014, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 30
So I am thinking about getting the 120" Multi-format Monoprice screen. I read about the issues with the instruction book -- and I downloaded the PDF. Boy, I can't make heads or tails out of this thing. I am a decent DIY'er and have all the needed tools. But these instructions make no sense. Does it make sense once the screen is in front of you?

Has anyone done a video or FAQ on how to build this screen?

EDIT: Good lord! The shipping on this thing kills the deal. $165 shipped to VA. Makes the total $865 shipped. Yikes!

Dedicated Theater Room Setup (on a reasonable budget):
Sony VPL-HW55ES + VAPEX 120" Fixed Frame Screen
Denon X4000 (used as Pre-Pro) + Sherbourn PA 7-350 + Velodyne SMS-1
B&W Nautilus 803 (L/R) + B&W CDM-CNT + DefTech BPX + BP2X (surrounds)
Seaton SubM HP+ Master and Slave (boom!)
Sources: PS4 + PS3 + Xbox 360 + Tosh HD-XA2 + DirecTV HR21-200
Skrill is offline  
post #560 of 575 Old 02-10-2014, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Yonkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The instructions are pretty weak. But eventually I was able to figure it out. If you can read IKEA instructions in a mirror, upside down then you'll have no problems.
mbroder likes this.
Yonkers is offline  
post #561 of 575 Old 02-12-2014, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yonkers View Post

The instructions are pretty weak. But eventually I was able to figure it out. If you can read IKEA instructions in a mirror, upside down then you'll have no problems.

I read that you had wave on the screen. Did it ever go away?


Also, I am planning to get the screen with the wall mount. Does anybody know if i could hide the power cord over the top of the case (if there is a a slanted shape) since my power outlet will be on the right side? I am assuming tensioned and non tension have same case.
tractng is offline  
post #562 of 575 Old 02-13-2014, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Yonkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No. The wave is still there. Still annoys the heck out of me but it's at the very bottom so it's not usually a distraction. Except I know it's there. This is my first screen so I can't compare to anything else. But I do really love the entire experience. Except the wave.
Yonkers is offline  
post #563 of 575 Old 02-14-2014, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any current coupon codes? I just sold my 108" DIY BOC 16:9 screen, and I'm seriously tempted by the 150" 2.35 screen.

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #564 of 575 Old 02-14-2014, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar_in_Indy View Post

Any current coupon codes? I just sold my 108" DIY BOC 16:9 screen, and I'm seriously tempted by the 150" 2.35 screen.


PDAY14


5% off the entire store on orders up to $1K
cr136124 is offline  
post #565 of 575 Old 02-14-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

PDAY14


5% off the entire store on orders up to $1K


Does this work on projection screens? I called Monoprice and asked for a price adjustment. I ordered a little past midnight. They say as a one time thing, they will do it rolleyes.gif
tractng is offline  
post #566 of 575 Old 02-16-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Got the 120" tensioned motorized screen and installed last night. I wonder what this could be regarding the electric/motor. I ran a temporary extension cord to an outlet on the left side of my living room. The power worked. After cleaning up the mess in the living room, I ran the same cord over the top of the screen and connected to a different outlet. The screen won't move. I heard a click sound near the left side of the case (controls that side). Tried a few times.

Then I unplugged the cord and reconnected to the original outlet and it worked again. Then I tested with the outlet that didn't work before and it passed the test eek.gif
tractng is offline  
post #567 of 575 Old 02-16-2014, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractng View Post

Got the 120" tensioned motorized screen and installed last night. I wonder what this could be regarding the electric/motor. I ran a temporary extension cord to an outlet on the left side of my living room. The power worked. After cleaning up the mess in the living room, I ran the same cord over the top of the screen and connected to a different outlet. The screen won't move. I heard a click sound near the left side of the case (controls that side). Tried a few times.

Then I unplugged the cord and reconnected to the original outlet and it worked again. Then I tested with the outlet that didn't work before and it passed the test eek.gif

So without knowing the details of the motor (amp, etc) and your power panel...hard to say.

 

Could be your other outlet had a bunch of load on it and was low on juice the first time and did not have enough power to energize the start up of the motor.  Then perhaps stuff was turned off in your house and then you had enough power again.

 

Most likely the outlet that gave you issues is connected to a big load somewhere...just a guess , but it makes electrical sense.

toofast68 is online now  
post #568 of 575 Old 02-17-2014, 12:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post

So without knowing the details of the motor (amp, etc) and your power panel...hard to say.

Could be your other outlet had a bunch of load on it and was low on juice the first time and did not have enough power to energize the start up of the motor.  Then perhaps stuff was turned off in your house and then you had enough power again.

Most likely the outlet that gave you issues is connected to a big load somewhere...just a guess , but it makes electrical sense.

Thanks for the feedback.
tractng is offline  
post #569 of 575 Old 02-21-2014, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I am happy with my screen. I am got the 120" white tensioned tab electric screen. No waves or wrinkles. Yes, the screen smells bad but it is going away.

The gain on the new screen is 1.0 which I noticed my picture got a little darker vs the Carada Criterion (Brilliant white) at 1.4 gain, but the image seemed to have more nicer black color. The projector is an Epson 6500UB with 1700 hours.

On the sides of the screen near the 3 tabs from the bottom, I have some marks. Seems like the marks came from the tabs that are holding the string (when screen is rolled up). I saw a Stewart screen at Best Buys have similar markings. Does anybody notice the same with their monoprice screen.






TT.
tractng is offline  
post #570 of 575 Old 02-22-2014, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
simpleHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractng View Post

I am happy with my screen. I am got the 120" white tensioned tab electric screen. No waves or wrinkles. Yes, the screen smells bad but it is going away.

The gain on the new screen is 1.0 which I noticed my picture got a little darker vs the Carada Criterion (Brilliant white) at 1.4 gain, but the image seemed to have more nicer black color. The projector is an Epson 6500UB with 1700 hours.

On the sides of the screen near the 3 tabs from the bottom, I have some marks. Seems like the marks came from the tabs that are holding the string (when screen is rolled up). I saw a Stewart screen at Best Buys have similar markings. Does anybody notice the same with their monoprice screen.

TT.

My family room has high ceiling. So, I need to install the screen on the wall instead of ceiling, extending out about 6" away from the wall using a pair of long L brackets to to keep the screen in front of the TV. Is there a way I can hang the tab-tension screen case using my existing brackets?
simpleHT is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Monoprice , Projection Screens , Dalite

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off