New ranges of Monoprice screens seem to be coming soon - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 02:10 AM
Member
 
ockevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To those with the multi-format (masking) screens, does the pull latch centered on the masking bother you in any way? I know someone said it is undetectable in darkness, but it the photos it just sticks out to me, and I am wondering what your impressions are having lived with it for a while.
ockevin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ockevin View Post

To those with the multi-format (masking) screens, does the pull latch centered on the masking bother you in any way? I know someone said it is undetectable in darkness, but it the photos it just sticks out to me, and I am wondering what your impressions are having lived with it for a while.

I don't notice it at when watching a blu ray movie at 2.35:1. I was was watching a letterbox movie on Netflix streaming the other day and realized it wasn't exactly 2.35:1. There was a little light spill onto the masking panels but they really do an amazing job of absorbing the light.

They absorb it so well, in fact, that when i hit the info button on my ps3 to see how much time was left in the blu ray I was watching, I couldn't see it ( info is outside of the letterbox bars).
mbroder is offline  
post #183 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 02:40 PM
Member
 
ockevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mbroder,

Thanks for responding. I am specifically wondering about the centered pull latch that is used to raise the mask. Compared to their regular fixed screen, it seems to stick out visually in the pictures, not sure if it 'disappears' when the room is dark. Does it ever bother you, does light spill light it up? Also, someone mention they could add a hook to adjust the height of the masks, to set at 2.4 for instance, is it possible? Final question, I believe the screen is attached on top and bottom by brackets and sits 2 inches off the wall. Is the bottom bracket needed, or could one just use a spacer on the bottom instead of attaching; I have some paneling on the lower part or the wall and prefer to not attach through it. Thanks for all your help.
ockevin is offline  
post #184 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ockevin View Post

Mbroder,

Thanks for responding. I am specifically wondering about the centered pull latch that is used to raise the mask. Compared to their regular fixed screen, it seems to stick out visually in the pictures, not sure if it 'disappears' when the room is dark. Does it ever bother you, does light spill light it up? Also, someone mention they could add a hook to adjust the height of the masks, to set at 2.4 for instance, is it possible? Final question, I believe the screen is attached on top and bottom by brackets and sits 2 inches off the wall. Is the bottom bracket needed, or could one just use a spacer on the bottom instead of attaching; I have some paneling on the lower part or the wall and prefer to not attach through it. Thanks for all your help.

I guess if you are looking for it, you would notice it when there is light spill from a format that doesn't quite fit inside the masking. It doesn't bother me though. Like I posted above, 2.35:1 material fits within the masking so there is no light spill and I can't see the tab at all in a darkened room.

Yes, I think you can add some type of catch for other formats without too much trouble I would think.

With the bracket provided, I would definitely use the top and bottom brackets. If you wanted something stronger so you don't have to use the bottom, I think you can get some angle iron at home depot that would work well. If you get it, you'll figure it out
mbroder is offline  
post #185 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ockevin View Post

Mbroder,

Thanks for responding. I am specifically wondering about the centered pull latch that is used to raise the mask. Compared to their regular fixed screen, it seems to stick out visually in the pictures, not sure if it 'disappears' when the room is dark. Does it ever bother you, does light spill light it up? Also, someone mention they could add a hook to adjust the height of the masks, to set at 2.4 for instance, is it possible? Final question, I believe the screen is attached on top and bottom by brackets and sits 2 inches off the wall. Is the bottom bracket needed, or could one just use a spacer on the bottom instead of attaching; I have some paneling on the lower part or the wall and prefer to not attach through it. Thanks for all your help.

I would DEFINITELY use both brackets. There is also enough play with the thumb screws (which BTW secure the screen in place at the bottom) to give you a method to fix "plumb" should your wall be a bit "tilted". I was able to pull one side forward and the other push back to get the screen perfectly level and plumb on all 3 axis!
rakstr is offline  
post #186 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 03:39 PM
Member
 
ockevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again Mbroder. Looking at the picture, the latch and the monoprice logo bother me. I worry about seeing them even without using the masks at 16:9, and the non-mask models look 'cleaner' without the latch. But your experience convinces me that those are not noticeable with lights out in true operation. Thanks for pushing me over the top, I am going for it.
ockevin is offline  
post #187 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ockevin View Post

Thanks again Mbroder. Looking at the picture, the latch and the monoprice logo bother me. I worry about seeing them even without using the masks at 16:9, and the non-mask models look 'cleaner' without the latch. But your experience convinces me that those are not noticeable with lights out in true operation. Thanks for pushing me over the top, I am going for it.

All is virtually invisible!
rakstr is offline  
post #188 of 575 Old 10-21-2011, 04:12 PM
Member
 
ockevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rakstr,

About the brackets, I think I get it and I believe I have a solution to my situation. Also thanks for your input on the latch, it is stuck in my head, but I know once I have the lights out, I shouldn't have a problem.
ockevin is offline  
post #189 of 575 Old 10-22-2011, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ockevin View Post

I know once I have the lights out, I shouldn't have a problem.

. . . That's what she said? ;-)
slybarman is offline  
post #190 of 575 Old 10-22-2011, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ockevin View Post

Rakstr,

About the brackets, I think I get it and I believe I have a solution to my situation. Also thanks for your input on the latch, it is stuck in my head, but I know once I have the lights out, I shouldn't have a problem.

If you decide to do something different for the bottom, use the intended bottom bracket on the top. You'll know why I say this when you see the parts. The top is a length of flat aluminum with a notch to "hang" the top of the screen, the bottom is angle aluminum to sit the screen ON. The reson for the long brackets is so you can get them secured to wall studs and allow you to position the screen left and right such that the mounts on the screen don't have to perfectly align. They are only a couple inches wide. IMHO, make sure you get this thing secured or your asking for problems.
rakstr is offline  
post #191 of 575 Old 10-23-2011, 07:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Nathan_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The lost underwater city of Atlanta.
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For what it's worth, in my photos of the latch/logo, I had to crank up the contrast and brightness to insane levels in order to get them to show up at all in pictures. So mine are a terrible representation of reality.

PSN: KyFriedNate | XBL: KyFriedNate
My SACD Collection | My DVD-A Collection
Nathan_R is offline  
post #192 of 575 Old 10-25-2011, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
JamesVG81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Winston Salem NC
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The 106 inch is on back order. Alot of people must be picking this up.

JamesVG81 is offline  
post #193 of 575 Old 10-31-2011, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
Cholan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, pls check you pm.
thanks
Cholan is offline  
post #194 of 575 Old 11-04-2011, 11:18 AM
Member
 
ttusqrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, I'm waiting for it to come off too so I can order one. I'm tempted to grab the 120" but I think it will be too big for a 20' room
ttusqrl is offline  
post #195 of 575 Old 11-04-2011, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttusqrl View Post

Yeah, I'm waiting for it to come off too so I can order one. I'm tempted to grab the 120" but I think it will be too big for a 20' room

No way. I have a 120" in a 16.5' room with the front row about 10' from the screen. Noone has EVER complained that the screen is too big.
fitbrit is offline  
post #196 of 575 Old 11-04-2011, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, just to give an opposing point of view:

I have 120" @ 14' seating and it is fine, but I would not want to be closer than that.
slybarman is offline  
post #197 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
cstmstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Could someone provide the overall dimensions in inches of the outside frame for the 106" and 120" screen. The site is not very clear to me if they are providing the screen measurements or the overall measurements.

Xbox Live- DragonsLee

"I'm not in this world to live up to your expectations and you're not in this world to live up to mine." - Bruce Lee
cstmstyle is offline  
post #198 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmstyle View Post

Could someone provide the overall dimensions in inches of the outside frame for the 106" and 120" screen. The site is not very clear to me if they are providing the screen measurements or the overall measurements.

Well you didn't clearly say which 106 or 120 inch screen but their website does provide information on the sizes of the viewing area and the border. I'm not home to measure my 106 variable format screen but the numbers below seem to be what I remember. Add the border to the viewing area and you should get the overall. Use their online chat, I've always had good luck with them.

Variable format 106" screen [1520x2546]

Viewing Area: 1320mm Height x 2346mm Width to 998mm Height x 2346mm Width

Border Dimensions: 100mm Top x 100mm Bottom x 100mm Left x 100mm Right

Total Screen Length: 2546mm

Fixed format 106" screen [1480x2506]

Viewing Area: 1320mm Height x 2346mm Width

Border Dimensions: 80mm Top x 80mm Bottom x 80mm Left x 80mm Right

Total Screen Length: 2506mm

rakstr is offline  
post #199 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
106 multi format is 101 1/2" x 64" to the outside edges
mbroder is offline  
post #200 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I ordered the 120" multi-format screen over the weekend and I should get it this week sometime. After I give it a few days to stretch I'll calibrate it with my Epson 8350 with my colorimeter and post my results here so those with a similar setup to me have some baseline settings to work with.
Droid6 is online now  
post #201 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
JamesVG81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Winston Salem NC
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I think I'm going to have to wait till the 106 comes in stock. I belive the 120 will be to big for my 20x12 room. Sitting 10 feet back on the front row.

JamesVG81 is offline  
post #202 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droid6 View Post

I ordered the 120" multi-format screen over the weekend and I should get it this week sometime. After I give it a few days to stretch I'll calibrate it with my Epson 8350 with my colorimeter and post my results here so those with a similar setup to me have some baseline settings to work with.

Did you get grey or white?
slybarman is offline  
post #203 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
White.
Droid6 is online now  
post #204 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you. What are your seating and throw distances? I am currently using an 8350 to throw 120" from 14.5 feet with seating at 14'. I am thinking of dropping to 106 when I get the multi format screen.
slybarman is offline  
post #205 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

Thank you. What are your seating and throw distances? I am currently using an 8350 to throw 120" from 14.5 feet with seating at 14'. I am thinking of dropping to 106 when I get the multi format screen.

I sit anywhere from 9-16' away from the screen and my throw distance is 12'. If you're worried about not being bright enough I would definitely move the projector up a few feet rather than go smaller. The extra brightness you make up by going smaller can will be made by staying big and moving the projector closer.
Droid6 is online now  
post #206 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had considered doing that, but I have it on a down pole (ceiling mount) and I was concerned that it would be distracting if I moved it forward of the seating.
slybarman is offline  
post #207 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

I had considered doing that, but I have it on a down pole (ceiling mount) and I was concerned that it would be distracting if I moved it forward of the seating.

How low is it? Mine is about 4' in front of me and I never pay attention to it.
Droid6 is online now  
post #208 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I remembered also after typing my last reply, that I had my previous projector professionally calibrated and at the time the guy figured out how many more lumens I would have ended up with by moving the projector ahead a couple of feet (from 14' to 12' I think it was) and we basically figured out it wasn't worth the effort.

I may still consider it though when I hang the new screen since I will be doing some work on the room anyway.
slybarman is offline  
post #209 of 575 Old 11-07-2011, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

I remembered also after typing my last reply, that I had my previous projector professionally calibrated and at the time the guy figured out how many more lumens I would have ended up with by moving the projector ahead a couple of feet (from 14' to 12' I think it was) and we basically figured out it wasn't worth the effort.

I may still consider it though when I hang the new screen since I will be doing some work on the room anyway.

The calculator on Projector Central says there is a 5fL gain for 2 feet of distance. They calculate a 1fL gain buy leaving your projector at 14' and going down to a 106" screen. Now going 106" and moving your projector to 10.5' will net you a 13fL gain.

Just a little info to help your decision.
Droid6 is online now  
post #210 of 575 Old 11-08-2011, 03:47 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droid6 View Post


The calculator on Projector Central says there is a 5fL gain for 2 feet of distance. They calculate a 1fL gain buy leaving your projector at 14' and going down to a 106" screen. Now going 106" and moving your projector to 10.5' will net you a 13fL gain.

Just a little info to help your decision.

Those are useful. Thank you.
kevings likes this.
slybarman is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Monoprice , Projection Screens , Dalite

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off