New ranges of Monoprice screens seem to be coming soon - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 575 Old 11-29-2011, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I LOVE my monoprice variable format 106 (white in light controlled room). FULL DISCLOSURE, it's the first I've had beyond the screen on a stand for slides 50 years ago I'm using a Epson 1350 at about 12'
rakstr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 575 Old 11-30-2011, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I ordered the 120" multi-format yesterday. I think I got the last one - it says out of stock now. I was not successful getting the assembly manual from anyone here, but monoprice was kind enough to email it to me. So, here it is for anyone else interested:

http://www.2shared.com/document/cFun...979707971.html

.
slybarman is offline  
post #243 of 575 Old 12-01-2011, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trgraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anyone tried to add motors to the masking system. I just ordered the 106" grey and enjoy tinkering, but the manual is very vague as to how the masking system works.
trgraphics is offline  
post #244 of 575 Old 12-01-2011, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah - best I can gather from the directions, the masking system is pre-assembled into the upper and lower frame bars.
slybarman is offline  
post #245 of 575 Old 12-03-2011, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Socal Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southern,Ca
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm almost ready to pull the trigger on one of these screens.

I'm thinking of one of these: (106' Grey)
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Front row seating (11 ft from screen)
Second row seating (16 ft from screen)

Or do you guys think a 120' would be better?
Socal Rich is offline  
post #246 of 575 Old 12-03-2011, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesVG81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Winston Salem NC
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I had originaly thought a 106 would be enough for me. Then I bought the projector and just shot it on the wall. I have the same sitting as you and I would go 120. Even my wife likes it at 120. She said 106 was way to small.

JamesVG81 is offline  
post #247 of 575 Old 12-03-2011, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Earl H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just purchased a Monprice 133" Fixed Grey Screen to go with my Epson 3010 and later my 6010. They shipped fast. The assembly and install went without a hitch. The quality is pretty goood. the picture looks great. My only complaint is their shipping cost...they are 2-3X more than everyone elses! I needed to order another screen ~ 106", but just couldn't overpay for shipping again. Hoping my gamble with the other vendor pays off.

Theatre: Epson 6010, Carada BW CS 142", Yamaha RX-A3020, Amp: Emotiva XPA-5, Fr/Rr/Ctr: SVS Ultras, Pres: Def Tech: SM450/SM350, Rr Srd: Def Tech: SR-8040BP, Subs: Dual PB2000, Dual PB1000
BDR: Epson 3010, Vis Apex 135", Denon 4520, Fr/Rr/Ctr/Pres/WideInfinity RS-10/RS-5/CC3/RS-3(4), Subs: Dual PB2000
Earl H is offline  
post #248 of 575 Old 12-03-2011, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Socal Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southern,Ca
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesVG81 View Post

I had originaly thought a 106 would be enough for me. Then I bought the projector and just shot it on the wall. I have the same sitting as you and I would go 120. Even my wife likes it at 120. She said 106 was way to small.

Wow that's good to know and you might have just saved me from making bad decision. Thanks for the info.
Socal Rich is offline  
post #249 of 575 Old 12-03-2011, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesVG81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Winston Salem NC
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Yea I would always sagest shooting on a wall first to see what size you like. I just stuck mine on a latter and moved it back till I was happy with the size. Then messured what was on the wall. I really thought being that close to a 120 I would be moving my eye's around the screen alot but I'm really happy with the size.

JamesVG81 is offline  
post #250 of 575 Old 12-04-2011, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Socal Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southern,Ca
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm now interested in the 2:35:1 aspect for an electric tensioned screen and I don't think Monoprice offers them in that configuration? Anyone know who has them/
Socal Rich is offline  
post #251 of 575 Old 12-04-2011, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earl H View Post

Just purchased a Monprice 133" Fixed Grey Screen to go with my Epson 3010 and later my 6010. They shipped fast. The assembly and install went without a hitch. The quality is pretty goood. the picture looks great. My only complaint is their shipping cost...they are 2-3X more than everyone elses! I needed to order another screen ~ 106", but just couldn't overpay for shipping again. Hoping my gamble with the other vendor pays off.

The shipping is outrageous, but you have to look at the overall cost. The price for the screen you are getting is way under market rate. These screens are made by Grandview. If you were to purchase a Grandview screen elsewhere you would pay way more than the total of the screen and shipping from Monoprice.
mbroder is offline  
post #252 of 575 Old 12-04-2011, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Natural
Brightness -11
Contrast 8
Color Saturation 0
Tint -2
Sharpness Advanced (All 4 Settings) 0
Abs. Color Temp. 6500K

Advanced...

Gamma Custom 0 -6 -7 -8 -7 -7 -7 -8 5

RGB
Offset R 6
Offset G 0
Offset B 23
Gain R -2
Gain G 0
Gain B -25

RGBCMY
R 0 -13 -7
G -37 -49 48
B -7 10 -6
C 0 -41 31
M -16 -9 -16
Y -3 -9 8

Power Consumption ECO
Auto Iris Normal

Signal [Advanced]
Noise Reduction Off
EPSON Super White Off
Overscan Off
HDMI Video Range Expanded
Droid6 is offline  
post #253 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 02:29 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droid6 View Post

Natural
Brightness -11
Contrast 8
Color Saturation 0
Tint -2
Sharpness Advanced (All 4 Settings) 0
Abs. Color Temp. 6500K

Advanced...

Gamma Custom 0 -6 -7 -8 -7 -7 -7 -8 5

RGB
Offset R 6
Offset G 0
Offset B 23
Gain R -2
Gain G 0
Gain B -25

RGBCMY
R 0 -13 -7
G -37 -49 48
B -7 10 -6
C 0 -41 31
M -16 -9 -16
Y -3 -9 8

Power Consumption ECO
Auto Iris Normal

Signal [Advanced]
Noise Reduction Off
EPSON Super White Off
Overscan Off
HDMI Video Range Expanded

Why did you choose to start from natural on Eco? Did you use a tool for calibrating or eyeball it?
slybarman is offline  
post #254 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 03:18 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The UPS tracking status for my screen says:

12/05/2011An incident has occurred which may result in a service delay

I don't like the sound of that at all.
slybarman is offline  
post #255 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post


Why did you choose to start from natural on Eco? Did you use a tool for calibrating or eyeball it?

I used CalMan and a Chroma5 colorimeter, if anybody came at me with that many numbers and said they eyeballed it I would laugh my ass off. I used Natural because colors were more in tune than Cinema and Eco because the increase in brightness Normal gives isn't worth the noise.
Droid6 is offline  
post #256 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK - thank you. This was an Epson 8350, right? I will give your settings a try when I get my screen. I do not know if Epsons have the same problem, but when I had a Panasonic projector (AX200) people who used Eco mode long-term ran into issues with the bulb flickering after some time.

Do you know how many lumens you were getting after calibration in this mode?
slybarman is offline  
post #257 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

OK - thank you. This was an Epson 8350, right? I will give your settings a try when I get my screen. I do not know if Epsons have the same problem, but when I had a Panasonic projector (AX200) people who used Eco mode long-term ran into issues with the bulb flickering after some time.

Do you know how many lumens you were getting after calibration in this mode?

I haven't heard that about the Epson's and I didn't look at the lumens I was getting. I should have printed a report, maybe I'll go back and retake measurements and post a report but I can't promise anything.
Droid6 is offline  
post #258 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Oops... Brightness should be -11. slybarman can you change it in the post you quoted my settings so nobody gets the wrong information?
Droid6 is offline  
post #259 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droid6 View Post

I haven't heard that about the Epson's and I didn't look at the lumens I was getting. I should have printed a report, maybe I'll go back and retake measurements and post a report but I can't promise anything.

There are some reports in the 8350 thread of people getting flicker in prolonged eco mode use, but it seems to go away if the projector is run in normal mode for a few hours.
slybarman is offline  
post #260 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

There are some reports in the 8350 thread of people getting flicker in prolonged eco mode use, but it seems to go away if the projector is run in normal mode for a few hours.

I haven't had an issue yet. I think I have about 300 hours or so on my projector and it's always in Eco.
Droid6 is offline  
post #261 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gertjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: All over
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droid6 View Post

Shoot any questions you have and I'll answer them the best I can.

Thanks for posting up your experience and calibration details. I have an 8350 as well, and am contemplating what to do for a screen (DIY or buy one), so this is useful to me.

Q: Why did you choose a white screen vs a grey one? Do you think a grey one would or would not be suitable for this projector?

"He who asks feels dumb for a few minutes, but he who does not ask remains dumb forever."

Gertjan is offline  
post #262 of 575 Old 12-05-2011, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gertjan View Post

Thanks for posting up your experience and calibration details. I have an 8350 as well, and am contemplating what to do for a screen (DIY or buy one), so this is useful to me.

Q: Why did you choose a white screen vs a grey one? Do you think a grey one would or would not be suitable for this projector?

If you're going to go 120" then I would definitely not get a grey screen as the image will probably be too dim. At 100" or less I would say you could get away with a grey screen. Also consider what your viewing environment will be like. If your room can be light controlled and you have darker walls then white is your best bet.
Droid6 is offline  
post #263 of 575 Old 12-06-2011, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gertjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: All over
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droid6 View Post

If you're going to go 120" then I would definitely not get a grey screen as the image will probably be too dim. At 100" or less I would say you could get away with a grey screen. Also consider what your viewing environment will be like. If your room can be light controlled and you have darker walls then white is your best bet.

Room is light controlled, and i'll be painting the walls and ceiling a dark color. I can do a screen up to about 100". Just realized that 106" is the smallest fixed screen they have, and i don't think i have the space / throw distance to pull that off

"He who asks feels dumb for a few minutes, but he who does not ask remains dumb forever."

Gertjan is offline  
post #264 of 575 Old 12-06-2011, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Yonkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought the 133" recessed, tab-tensioned white screen back in June. I was so excited to get it and then it came in a 12.5" box that was over 200 lbs. My brothers and I lugged it upstairs to my media room. And I got lazy and left it there since. lol
Five months later this past weekend I finally got around to mounting it. Had to cut through my ceiling sheetrock, etc. It was a lot bigger than I expected. The stats on the manual and website are either incorrect or I measured 10 times incorrectly. They say measure twice and cut once. I measured 10 times and still didn't cut wide enough. Once I got around to mounting it was still too wide. My room is 18'x12' and the top has some wood crown molding. The screen was so wide I actually had to cut an inch off my crown molding. So overall I would say it's about 11' 8" wide.
And with the screen so big I have to put my projector way, way back for it to project big enough to fill the screen. I'm still in the process of mounting my project (JVC RS40) but I did get a chance to watch Despicable Me last night. It looks great.
The box was missing the remote, the IR receiver, and a trigger cable. I called Monoprice and they issued an RMA... for the entire box. I told them it doesn't make sense to send a 12.5", 200lb box when all I need is 3 items but they told me to just take what I need and send it back. What?! lol I'm trying to contact their RMA department to resolve it.
Yonkers is offline  
post #265 of 575 Old 12-07-2011, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Screen arrived today. When you see the size of the box, it is not too hard to see why they charge $135 to ship it across the country. That does not seem outrageous.
slybarman is offline  
post #266 of 575 Old 12-07-2011, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am usually pretty good at following technical drawings, but I am having a tough time figuring out how the two plastic pieces of the masking mechanism are intended to lock together. Can anyone explain? I am afraid of breaking the plastic and so I do not want to force anything.

EDIT: Duh! Nevermind. I finally figured out that the plastic pieces in the top and bottom frame are only there for shipping and get removed for assembly.
.
LL
LL
slybarman is offline  
post #267 of 575 Old 12-07-2011, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
They insert into the mask. You have to insert them before tightening everything down or you end up building it twice. Just like Nathan and I did!
mbroder is offline  
post #268 of 575 Old 12-08-2011, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yessir. You are correct. Just for the benefit of the next person assembling one of these. The piece marked in the photo below (there are 4 of them total) gets removed before assembly. They have a sticker on them telling you this, but you cannot see the sticker until AFTER they have been removed! LOL.

BTW - I am thinking it might be wise to hold onto these in case one of the ones in the side bar should ever break - good to have a replacement.

.
LL
slybarman is offline  
post #269 of 575 Old 12-08-2011, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
slybarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riva, MD
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ready to hang. Do wear safety glasses when attaching the springs that tension the screen. I had one pop off while I was adjusting the bar and it shot clear across the room. It could do some serious eyeball damage. There are some mild creases, etc in the screen, but hopefully they should come out under tension.

.

Attachment 230071
LL
slybarman is offline  
post #270 of 575 Old 12-08-2011, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post

Ready to hang.

About time!
Droid6 is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Monoprice , Projection Screens , Dalite

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off