Adding power for electric screen - Where are you guys placing the power? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-02-2012, 09:20 PM - Thread Starter
luner99's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I ordered a VisualApex 106" electric screen that will be delivered in the next few days. I am trying to figure out where to place the power for the screen that will be either ceiling mounted or wall mounted (depending on if it will clear my TV that is mounted on the wall).

Anyone have a VA screen? Where did you place the power? Anyone else with an electric screen - where did you run the power?

Comments and/or pics will help greatly! Thanks.

luner99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 12-05-2012, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
toofast68's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 27

I got the drawing from the MFG before I ordered just to make sure I could run power where needed.


Mine was in the UPPER left hand corner of the ceiling mounted screen.

toofast68 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-12-2012, 09:31 AM
Projector Addict !
Craig Peer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 7,184
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1078 Post(s)
Liked: 751
My current screens ( 2 ) are hard wired from a ceiling outlet box - I got the power location on the electric screens from the manufacturer's website / cut sheets ( in my case, Da-Lite and Stewart ).

However, I've hooked up electric screens mounted in existing rooms by running Romex or 120 volt extension cord wired from the screen to an exterior type switch box, with the screen wall switch installed in that, and then a pig tail cord to plug that into a wall outlet. Worked fine that way too, if you have a way to hide the wiring. In my case, I had velvet drapes hanging on either side of the screen that hid everything. smile.gif

Home theater builder and enthusiast since 2002. PM me for advice or help anytime !
Theater pics -
Craig Peer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Reply Screens

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off