Screen to fit room and application - AVS Forum
Screens > Screen to fit room and application
forevernewb's Avatar forevernewb 09:37 PM 04-22-2013
Long time browser, first time writer,

I have a room that is 18' by 12' with the potential projector (Sony VPL HW50ES) about 12' ft back (ceiling mounted). Planning on a 100inch screen.

I will use the projector for 60% TV, 20% movie, 10% games, 10% friends over watching sports (someone check my math)

Plan on painting room a darker red or (insert suggestion).

There are two basement windows (1' x 2') at the rear of the room which will have cellular shades installed on, I'm thinking this won't be a big deal for ambient light, although this is my first projector and maybe I am woefully uninformed

I've been reading a bit and like the idea of the snomatte 100 but I'm not sure if it even exists anymore, as I see a lot of studio tek 100 coming back from google when I do a search, but can't really find anyone selling it.

I don't like the idea of having a screen with a tremendous amount of gain, as ambient light shouldn't be much of an issue.

I'd like to spend somewhere between $800-$1500 if the price justifies the results.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Matt

forevernewb's Avatar forevernewb 09:38 PM 04-22-2013
100 inch 16x9
forevernewb's Avatar forevernewb 10:48 AM 04-28-2013
Perhaps just a link of where to start?

Thanks,
Matt
BobL's Avatar BobL 03:29 PM 04-28-2013