Screen for new W1070 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 05-10-2013, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm purchasing a new W1070 and now need to decide on the screen I want for it. I'm new to the whole projector scene so I bare with me. ;-)

I've determined my mounting location for both the screen and the projector as well as the screen size that I want. My throw distance will be right around 12' and my viewing distance will be right around 13'. I've decided to go with a 120" 16:9 motorized screen. The room I'm in is a den on the first floor of my house. There will be a decent amount of ambient light in this room. However I will be installing blackout shades to go behind the blinds which are behind my couch. These won't always be pulled down though so like I said there will be a fair amount of light in this room. From the reading I've done it sounds like I'd want to go with a grey screen since I have ambient light in the room. I'm just trying to stay under $500 for the screen. I was looking at the Visual Apex 120" motorized screen (VAPEX9120SE), but it's a glass fiber matte white. At $349 the price is exactly what I'm looking for but it's not a grey screen. What kind of effect will this have on my picture if I go with a white screen in a room with ambient light? Is there any other screen out there that is 120" motorized non-tensioned screen for less than $500 that is grey?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Jake

Current HT components:
Yamaha Aventage RX-A2000
BenQ W1070
Elite Screens VMAX2 106" electric 16:9 1.1 gain
PSB Imagine B fronts, PSB Imagine C center, Boston Acoustic surrounds
Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Custom HTPC
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-11-2013, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter

OK I've ordered the W1070 and should have it by midweek. Any suggestions would be very helpful. Thanks. smile.gif

Current HT components:
Yamaha Aventage RX-A2000
BenQ W1070