150" 16:9 vs 140" 2.35 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
gex598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My AE4000 came yesterday and I set it up to project on the wall. I was planning on going with a 140" 2.35 screen but after seeing the projector zoomed out to 150" on 16:9 I was pretty amazed! Both screen sizes are the same width MOL its just the height difference. Going with the 16:9 I still get the same 2.35 image size so is it a no brainer?
gex598 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 113
That is going to be one dim image.. calculator has it at 7fl once the lamp ages a bit it may be unwatchable.. unless you getting an Dalite HP.. good luck
airscapes is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
gex598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The screen I am looking at is a 1.2 gain. I'll me mounting the projector at around 15 feet and using the max zoom. The I checked the calculator on projector central and it shows 14fl? What is the number I should be shooting for?
gex598 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 113
14-16 but as the lamp get 300-500 hours on it, it can loose as much as 25% of it's brightness or more. Not to mention if you calibrate the projector you will not hit that light output with a new lamp. The calculator uses manufacture light output specs which are normally inflated.. Just something to keep in mind with going really big with a low or mid-range HT projector.
airscapes is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-22-2013, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
yourtoys7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Where did you get AE4000, is it new or used?

EluneVision 106" Reference Studio 4K Tab-tensioned - 1.0 Gain, Benq 1070, psb T6, Rotel, OPPO, Velodine (Now),
135" AT screen, JVC-X35, 3x RF82, 3x Emotiva XPA100, Velodine, Rotel, OPPO (Sold with house).
yourtoys7 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-22-2013, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Crabalocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 37
If the Panny is as bright as my older Epson's (8500Ub, 8350) no worries on a screen that big. I run a 153" and it looks great. You may have to change the bulb a bit sooner than a person running a 100" screen but, for me anyhow, worth the cost for that cinematic experience! Bulb quality control more of a factor than screen size. I had bulbs go at 800 hours and others go at 2000.

If I were to do it again, I would go 2.35:1 though.

Good luck and enjoy!
Crabalocker is offline  
Reply Screens

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off