AVS Forum banner

Sony VPL-VW60 - Screen Size Recomendations

2K views 13 replies 3 participants last post by  playback007 
#1 ·
Hello all,

I picked up the VW60 2nd hand and have installed it upstairs. It's a thatch room meaning very high ceilings. One wall is basically missing and the other will have a curtain installed over it to help kill off the reflections of light it allows into the room.

There are no Windows on this side of the room at all. So almost ideal. The other end of the room has venetian blinds and a set of curtains so not completely but a lot of light is killed off.

I am brand new to this scene but I have tried to read up a whole bunch to try and make an informed decision...but that's proving difficult.

These are my rooms specs.

4.2m or 13.77ft Wide.

Depth is just of 7.5m or 24.6ft.

For our viewing distance what works well in this room from a convenience point of view is around 4.1m or 13.45ft.

Unfortunately due to ceiling beams in the thatch roof there was only one location to mount the projector so it is mounted at 4m or 3.95m ...Difficult to measure with it so high in the air but it's 10-15cm closer than the viewing distance that can be measured accurately.

I know this projector is no light canon and by modern standards pretty week. But it is what I have.

In testing I have been projecting onto a light almost sandy coloured wall. I have been testing on a screen size and last tested at 120in.

Unfortunately it is currently getting repaired from a lightning strike so can't do any more testing.

The previous owner keeps insisting that he ran it on a white screen at 92inch and that at 120inch the picture is not going to look at it's best. I must state he was in a much smaller room than I have.

This is going to sound odd but the wall that will have the screen mounted on is actually huge. Roughly 7m(22.96ft) by 8m(26.24ft).

I know at night time in the dark you would not see the rest of the wall but I have lots of area to work with.