100" Diag or 120" Diag Screen - Help!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 06-29-2013, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys,

I'm around a month away from being able to start setting up my basement theater, and I'm having some problems making a decision on my screen size. This is my first theater so I'm new to the idea of projectors

I have a 15' wide wall that the screen is going on, but due to some HVAC, I only have a 75" tall ceiling. The ceiling is only this short for the 5' of the room, on the far left side, and then the jumps up to 83". I want to go with a fixed screen, and am thinking of the Favi FF-HD series (Or something similar, only using this example because I had the exact specs on hand). I already have my audio equipment purchased, and I'm ordering my projector today. Here's the screen issue i'm torn on.

The projector is going to be mounted on the part of the ceiling that is 83", but the screen will have to be under the HVAC (75" from the floor). This is also a drop screen so my mount could be put into the ceiling a bit if need be.

I was sold on the idea of a 100" screen, but the longer I waited, I started playing with the numbers on seeing if a 120" would fit.

According to my numbers, if I mount a 120" fixed frame screen to the very top of the 75" ceiling, the bottom of the screen would be only 13" from the floor (10" from the floor including the framing). If it makes a difference, the projector will be the BenQ W1070 which will be ceiling mounted.

My questions are this:

#1: Is it going to look strange projecting the image so close to the floor?
#2: My center channel is 8.5" tall, and will need to be placed under the screen (plus will need to be angled up slightly). Am I cutting it too close?