Elite Screens Spectrum2 Any Good? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 08-02-2013, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
medulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well after having to return my second ELECTRIC84H from Elite Screens I decided that I won't get another one. Both were returned for terrible edge curling (distorting 2-3 inches on each side). So shopping around for new screen in my under $300 budget, to fit within a 99.5" width space, I am considering the Spectrum2 (Model# SPM100H-E12).

Anyone had experience with this screen?

Specs:

MaxWhite FG (fiber-glass backing) 1.1 Gain screen material
160 degree wide-viewing angle for commerical and residential presentations
4 side black masking borders enhance contrast ratio and avoid overscan from projector
Black backing on material for sharper picture and clarity
Available in diagonal sizes ranging from 90" - 120"
Two aspect ratios to choose from 4:3 and 16:9
Flame Resistant: Complies with NFPA 701 Standards
Control System:
3-way integrated up/stop/down control switch
Tubular motor allows swift operation with a superior weight tolerance and operational lifespan
Optional remote control kit (Part # ZPM-RT)
medulla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 08-09-2013, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
medulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After some research I have discovered that the Spectrum 2 is the same as the PowerMax screens. Only difference is that the PowerMax comes with the IR and RF remote package while the Spectrum 2 does not. Definitely going to order since Newegg has the 100" 16:9 for under $230 shipped. Tubular motor, FG backed material and a much nicer casing makes it one of the better deals I have seen on the web. Will post details when it arrives.
medulla is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-19-2013, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
medulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Screen is up and it looks fantastic. Much improved mechanics to the Spectrum Series. Even though it is listed on the website as the Spectrum2 these screens are in fact the PowerMax (Manual says Powermax). I will post some pictures when it gets dark.

Newegg Deal:
SPM100H-E12
Price: $197.99
Shipping: 22.81

Video:
This is an incredible deal. I would jump on it ASAP if you are thinking about buying an electric home theater 16:9 screen on a tight budget. I have owned Mustang, Favi, and the elite spectrum and the spectrum2 is by far the best.
medulla is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 09-07-2013, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
nhegde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I bought this screen from newegg recently. Are you seeing any waves in yours. I can barely see much from the front. But looking at it from the side I see small vertical and one v shaped waves. There is some curl towards the top on both sides when the screen is fully open. Please let me know what you see in you screen.
Thanks
Narayan
nhegde is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-11-2013, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
medulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhegde View Post

Hi,
I bought this screen from newegg recently. Are you seeing any waves in yours. I can barely see much from the front. But looking at it from the side I see small vertical and one v shaped waves. There is some curl towards the top on both sides when the screen is fully open. Please let me know what you see in you screen.
Thanks
Narayan

Out of the box I had a couple of small waves. I left it down for a couple of days to air it out and they seem to have disappeared. No curl on the sides for me though. How is it looking now?
medulla is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-08-2014, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Andy Sowden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13

I am considering this screen. Any update on how it is going now after a few months?

Pics of the install?

Andy Sowden is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-17-2014, 02:50 PM
Member
 
hawnr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
anyone recently buy/install this screen? I'm looking for an alternative 120" instead of my manual pull down which has all kinds of waves in it.

TIA
hawnr6 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-15-2014, 09:59 AM
Member
 
thomps33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ditto, I would like to know someone's opinion on the screen after extended usage.
thomps33 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-24-2014, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
theruffryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any updates?

Thanks
theruffryder is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-25-2014, 11:19 AM
Member
 
Andy Sowden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Great screen.
I have been using it for a number of months.
I did end up buying the additional remote pack so I could trigger the screen when I turn on the projector.
Its quite a thick material and I have had no waves or anything on the screen so a very happy customer considering I took a risk and shipped it from the US to New Zealand.
Andy Sowden is online now  
post #11 of 12 Unread Today, 12:19 AM
Senior Member
 
aircasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the ZPM-RT remote kit required in order to use a Harmony remote to control this screen? In other words, does the screen casing have a built-in IR receiver, or do you need to buy the ZPM-RT kit in order to use any type of remote (universal or otherwise) with the Spectrum2 screen? Thanks!
aircasper is offline  
post #12 of 12 Unread Today, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Andy Sowden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
no it doesn't you have to buy the kit separately.
Andy Sowden is online now  
Reply Screens

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off