AVS Forum

AVS Forum (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   Screens (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/23-screens/)
-   -   Anywhere near Pensacola to demo a Black Diamond and Slate? (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/23-screens/1528146-anywhere-near-pensacola-demo-black-diamond-slate.html)

holdthepickles 04-19-2014 07:53 PM

Newbie here. Wanting to start a home theatre in a small bedroom (10.5x10 w/4x4 cut out),.Decent amount of ambient light and have white ceiling and trim, medium tan walls and lighter carpet. Will not be able to paint or alter room. Anticipate usage of 70% 2D movies at night and 30% sports/tv in day. Would like ability to view some 3D, but not a priority.

Was thinking about black diamond 1.4, slate 1.2, or firehawk g4 to handlew/the reflections and daytime viewing, but can't find anywhere in Pensacola to view my options. Certainly don't want to expend the $ sight unseen.

Any ideas where I could demo the light absorbing screens? I'm located in Pensacola, Florida and willing to drive 100 miles or so, if need be.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

dan30306 04-21-2014 09:35 AM

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1527345/sony-55es-with-si-black-diamond-1-4-si-slate-stewart-firehawk-g4-and-neve-side-by-side-comparison-and-irony-at-its-finest

Same situation.... you'll never get to demo them all. You can get small sample materials but that seems useless. See link for what I found in comparing screens.

holdthepickles 04-22-2014 03:55 PM

Thanks for the input Dan. Yea, looks like we have similar situations. LOL that the cheap stuff looked similar to the Slate (given your small sample size). I had been leaning that way. That's my greatest fear -- taking the plunge and finding out it's not worth it in my environ.

I know you where only looking at small samples, but did you notice any sparkles on the Black Diamond or Slate? Been reading more and more comments that these screens have an issue in this regard.