Screen Mounting Options? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 08-03-2000, 05:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm very new to the CRT FPTV thing, and I think it's best to ask questions before I get myself in trouble...

I will be using a Sony G70, and need a screen that's about 80" diagonal (my current display device, a Pioneer 710HD, has 65" diagonal) in a 16:9 ratio. I don't mind watching "stretched" 4:3 video, but I am concerned about "burning" the CRTs by using less than the full height of the raster area on the Sony. Do those of you with 4:3 screens find 16:9 material watchable without motorized masking?

I prefer a permanant wall mounted screen to acheive the best focus/convergence possible. I've heard that you can purchase an aluminum frame, then stretch screen fabric over it & mount the whole assembly to the wall. Is this a "standard" method, or are there good alternatives?

And finally, the most ignorant question so far...

When I see Da-lite screens listed on the AVScience site, I assume I'm looking at 400-600 for the screen material only, and I need to come up with a way to mount it to the wall. True?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 08-06-2000, 02:25 AM

Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally posted by dkeller_NC:
Do those of you with 4:3 screens find 16:9 material watchable without motorized masking? I prefer a permanant wall mounted screen to acheive the best focus/convergence possible. I've heard that you can purchase an aluminum frame, then stretch screen fabric over it & mount the whole assembly to the wall. Is this a "standard" method, or are there good alternatives?
I'm in the exact same boat -- probably going with a G70 and a fixed screen -- and I'm planning to go with a 1.3 gain fixed Stewart screen. They come with a wall-mounting bracket as part of the package. You can get info on them at this URL: