Curved DLP Screen. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 01-30-2001, 05:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. Screen novice here, try not to giggle out loud. I am considering getting a m2500 screen to replace my 16:9 11 ft. wide painted wall. I am going for some real strides in brightness. The problem is I am sitting 15 ft. away, just short of 1.5 times screen width. I would like to reduce hotspotting as much as possible and was wondering this: If I constructed a curved screen, 11 ft. wide with, say, 1" of depth, does anyone think that such a shallow depth will have a noticable affect on the focus/distortion from a projector that is 25 ft away? 1" seems ever so slight, but it might be enough to elimate light fall-off from my seating position. I love having the "somtimes considered way to HUGE screen", and that I will not compromise. Any thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-31-2001, 05:35 PM
KBK
AVS Special Member

Do a rough calculation here.... The difference comes out to about 0.625 inches of depth, with relation to the projector's position. I would say that there isn't that much that can be done... It would be VERY difficult for the home brew dude to get that accurate with such a curve at that size, and it wouldn't do that much for you. (This is the curve associated with he projector's position ONLY...)