Stewart screen trigger for Sony - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-06-2001, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Craig Colvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the purchase recent purchase of my Grayhawk screen I also got a trigger so my Sony 10HT projector would raise/lower the screen. The SST Sony Screen Trigger that I received is designed to take 5V from the Sony and send 12V to the screen. However when I read the manual for my Sony 10HT is outputs 12v not 5v. The trigger works but my question is am I damaging it by driving it with 12v? Do I need a different kind of trigger?



------------------
Craig
My Home Theater
Craig Colvin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-07-2001, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Don Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Stewart Filmscreen Corporation. USA
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Craig Colvin:
With the purchase recent purchase of my Grayhawk screen I also got a trigger so my Sony 10HT projector would raise/lower the screen. The SST Sony Screen Trigger that I received is designed to take 5V from the Sony and send 12V to the screen. However when I read the manual for my Sony 10HT is outputs 12v not 5v. The trigger works but my question is am I damaging it by driving it with 12v? Do I need a different kind of trigger?


</font>
Dear Craig,
The SST trigger will take a swing voltage anywhere from 4 volts to 18 volts.
Yes...Sony did change the voltage of their projector trigger output from 5 volts to 12 volts to be on the same page as other projectors. But, for some reason they put a 4.7 ohm resister on the output which became self defeating. The resister drops the current to a point where it won't operate a standard screen trigger.
Your SST trigger is correct for your set up.
Regards,
Don

Don Stewart is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-07-2001, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Craig Colvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Don. I just wanted to make sure.

I knew the Sony didn't provide enough current to drive the screen directly but I didn't realize they limited it so much that is had trouble with relays. They probably have problems with supplying much current through the trigger so they put the 4.7 ohm resistor in to insure no one could.

Thanks again for the response and I'm loving the screen.


------------------
Craig
My Home Theater
Craig Colvin is offline  
Closed Thread Screens

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off