StudioTek or Grayhawk? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-20-2001, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's my situation. I'm building a house and have a 19x16 theater in the basement (tiered seating too). Here's the problem. I am starting to get strapped for cash (i'm getting married 2 weeks before the close of our house, so you can see where all the money is going). I "NEED" to buy a screen. ANd I want a Stewart, so thats already decided.

Right now I have an old, but in very good condition, Proxima LS1. The S-Video on this thing is pretty dam good, however the SVGA is pretty bad. So, sometime in the near future (within a year probably) I will be buying a new projector.

Here's the question (finally). Konwing all this, should I get a StudioTek or a Grayhawk? Right now, the StudioTek makes sense. The LS1 only gives out 700 lumens. But I don't want to have to replace my screen when i buy a new projector.

Another question. Does the Grayhawk only benefit when using a LCD or does it make DLP's better also? (meaning, if I bought a DLP, would the Grayhawk still be better than a Studiotek). If Grayhawk only helps LCD, then getting a Studiotek would make sense because I could use it now and just have to buy a DLP in the future.

Any thoughts would be great.

Thanks,

Joe
Joeboo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-20-2001, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
bkwong73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Joe,

If I were you I would go for the Studiotek 1.3. Just in case you want to move up to getting a CRT later.

Just my 2cents, Brian
bkwong73 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-20-2001, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Reed W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Woodinville, Wa. USA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe - from what I have read here and heard, most all digital projectors, LCD, DLP and D-ILA will befefit from the Grayhawk.

So if you plan to upgrade to a new digital projector the Grayhawk might be your best choice. If you are thinking of a CRT then of course not the Grayhawk.

Good luck, and best wishes on your upcoming marriage. Reed.
Reed W is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 04-21-2001, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot guys.

I'm probably just going to go with the grayhawk. It won't be too great for a while, but once i buy the new projector, I'll be ready.

Thanks again,

Joe
Joeboo is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-21-2001, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
KFung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How big a screen are you looking for? You might consider going with a cheap da-lite 1.3 gain for now (manual roll-up or something), the price is pretty good and it should get you going till you replace your projector. Who knows, given some time Stewart may refine their Greyhawk formulation for the better (they're always working over there). I think you might even be able to unload the da-lite afterwards for a pretty decent price.

Good Luck,

Kam Fung
KFung is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-21-2001, 10:41 PM
REW
AVS Special Member
 
REW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Silicon Valley North(Canada)
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe,
Kams advice is bulletproof.Not just cause I say so but it saves you lots of money and keeps all your options open(when you move to CRT.)Also Kam is sharp and informed in his posts.The fact he is Canadian and from Ottawa to boot has nothing to do with it.
http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Ron
"Your priorities will be different-its the weighting that counts!"

Ron
"Your priorities will be different-its the weighting that counts!-only if its done by FET!"

REW is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-22-2001, 09:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
KFung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lol, thanks Ron...
KFung is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-23-2001, 04:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Screen Size is 52x92.
Joeboo is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-23-2001, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
KFung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe,

Your screen size is not too large so you might even be able to get good brightness from a Greyhawk. At 52*92 you have about 33 sq. ft. of screen area and a 700 lumen projector (about 25% less for 16*9), that should give you around 15-16 ft-lamberts of brightness on your screen. Theatres usually have around 14-16 ft-lamberts (with an open gate), with the projector running you can expect around 12 ft-lamberts this is usually a good number for home theatre. Even if you projector is not at 700 lumens, from bulb wear or whatnot, you should still be able to get a good image with a Greyhawk.

However, if you are thinking of upgrading later I would still recommend a cheap screen. It will probably turn out that you will want a much bigger screen to fill up your room. My theatre is going to be about the same size as yours and I'm contemplating a 6'*10' screen. Most new digital projectors have at least 1000 lumens, often more. Unless there is some limitation in your room preventing you from going large (a low ceiling in my case) I would recommend keeping your options open.

Regards,

Kam Fung
KFung is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-24-2001, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks KFung.

Yes, the room limits it (height wise). I may be able to go a bit bigger, but probably just 104x58.

I actually have a brand new bulb that I'm going to put in so won't have any brightness loss there.

Thanks again,

Joe
Joeboo is offline  
Closed Thread Screens

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off