Sharp XV-9000u with Grayhawk ?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-22-2001, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tony-V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: USA, Connecticut
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear all

I was wondering. Does a Sharp 9000+Grayhawk combo make any sense ?
The new Sharp is rated:
800 ANSI Lumen; (600 Theater Mode)
If I wanted to use Theatermode (quieter!), wouldn't the 600 ANSI be to dim for the Grayhawk ?
Based on the specs of the Sharp, what 16:9 screen would you go for (in a lightcontroled room)?

Thanks

Anthony
Tony-V is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-22-2001, 04:03 PM
Member
 
J.Douglas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm wondering the same thing. If it is a good match would it still be acceptable with a minimum amount of daylight creeping through drawn shades and curtains? If not is there an alternative recommendation?
J.Douglas is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-22-2001, 05:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Jason Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 12,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As no one has really seen the Sharp unit yet, it's hard to say. I can tell you that the screen size you decide to go with is going to make a difference. I have seen the Seleco HT200DM, a 650 lumen unit, on a Grayhawk and it looked great. It was also not that large a screen and the room was pitch black, though.

Thanks!

------------------
Jason Turk
AV Science, Inc.
http://www.avscience.com
716-454-1460 ext.204
Jason@avscience.com
Jason Turk is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-24-2001, 01:31 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tony-V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: USA, Connecticut
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear Jason

Are the 650 ANSI for the full 800x600 panel or is this number valid for the 480P mode ?
If I wanted to use a 2.3m (picture)wide screen, would the
lightoutput be enough on a Grayhawk or should I go for a smaller width (2m)?
Obviously if you saw the Seleco HT200Dm with a Panamorph then my question above would be answered.

Cheers

Anthony
Tony-V is offline  
Closed Thread Screens

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off