The official Elite screen thread. - Page 41 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1850 Old 09-21-2011, 06:12 PM
Member
 
TimeLord517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 92" CineTension2 screen today. I must say, the packaging was IMPRESSIVE (simple, but impressive)! It was double boxed, had foam padding on both ends + foam supports the length of the screen. All the packaging was just fine - no holes, or anything else from shipping.

I've got the 2 holes drilled in the ceiling ready to put up the mounting brackets, but sadly I can't do that until I can buy 2 bolts tomorrow. I can't wait to get it installed, and drop it down!
TimeLord517 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1850 Old 10-14-2011, 06:57 PM
Member
 
David_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I recently installed my M92UWH (92" manual), and it has a few imperfections I'd like some advice on. I haven't gotten the projector yet, so I can't yet tell if any of these will be visible to me under normal viewing conditions.

The imperfections:
  1. The left side of the screen is 1/8" lower than the right. Weight bar is also lower on the left, and it does not retract as high as the right side.
  2. The casing is twisted along its length. I suspect this is the cause for the left side being lower.
  3. There is an "outdent" at the bottom of the material, about 1/3rd from the left side. Basically the material isn't flat there, as if there's too much of it, but it's not a "wave". Looks more like a bubble. Pretty visible in full light, but not very large; about 4" wide by 7" high.
  4. There are two parallel almost-vertical lines (about 1/2" apart) at the top-middle of the screen. They are most visible on the black part when looking from the side. They do extend into the white portion about 6", but aren't readily visible there from a few feet away. They look as if the material rubbed against something at some point, leaving marks.

First question is whether any of those issues are likely fixable. For instance, can the casing be twisted back to straight? Or is the some kind of tension adjustment to try and equalize the left and right sides?

Second question is how serious these issues are in the grand scheme of things. If I were to get a replacement, would it likely be better or worse than what I already have?

Thanks in advance for any info,
-- Dave
David_R is offline  
post #1203 of 1850 Old 10-22-2011, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Summa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 187
I've been a big fan of screen goo paint and have had excellent results with that, but I missed having a big screen. I just picked up a 120" manual Elite screen from amazon to play around with, and so far it's a really nice screen for the money. Shipping cost was very high elsewhere, but with free two day shipping (Amazon Prime) it saved me a ton of money. I fired up Batman Begins on my Mitsubishi 4900/oppo 93 and the image was very nice. Would I rather have a 120" screen goo screen? yep...but not enough wall. So in the meantime this one will work just fine.

I agree with those who mentioned the packing. Mine was shipped via FedEx and the screen was very well supported with the foam inserts. I'll probably upgrade to something nicer down the road, but for now this is a more than acceptable interim screen.
Summa is offline  
post #1204 of 1850 Old 10-28-2011, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
thedigiz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SE Region of USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an 84" EZ Frame with the High Contrast Grey surface. It's not as nice as say a Da-Lite or a VuTec screen, but for the money you can't beat it. Very easy to assemble and a breeze to install.
thedigiz1 is offline  
post #1205 of 1850 Old 11-25-2011, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Has anyone seen this new "4K" material from Elite Screens? Looks like a much tighter weave than their acousticpro1080 material and the weave is on an angle to reduce moire, which has been reported by some folks in the past on elite acousticpro1080 screens.

http://www.elitescreens.com/index.ph...mid=23&lang=en

Anyone know where I can purchase a screen with this material?
Davecraze is offline  
post #1206 of 1850 Old 11-29-2011, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
gcw_rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone used an Elite screen with a 3D projector?

Anyone tried a curved screen with a 3D projector?

Just bought a Epson 3010 and I am now screen hunting.
gcw_rocks is offline  
post #1207 of 1850 Old 11-29-2011, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am looking to buy a Elite screen but i dont know what kind i shall buy? i am thinkng about buying hd33 or h5360 projector.
audionewer is offline  
post #1208 of 1850 Old 11-30-2011, 07:35 AM
Member
 
mangamonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I just got my Elite Screen 92" Sable in yesterday ( $240 @ amazon and here's the crazy thing. It was really REALLY easy to put together. I was a bit doubtful based on all of the negative reviews of how it was thumb-numbing to put together. In all honesty, it doesn't take much effort at all, besides a little stretching of the screen and then easily clipping into place. I had it put together in about an hour.

Also, the packaging was ridiculously good! Everything was packed in and secured like military grade hardware. They even used PVC tubing to protect the screen..crazy.



**Just got finished mounting it over a 2x4 I mounted to the studs. I did this because we have an access panel behind the wall for storage, and the framing is about an inch of depth from the wall. Everything worked out like a charm, although the strict measurements to get it leveled took a bit of 'triple-checking'.



Now, it's time to watch something GOOOOD!!!! It's my first time setting up my Epson 8350 to this screen.
mangamonster is offline  
post #1209 of 1850 Old 12-05-2011, 06:59 AM
Member
 
7TRTCHALLENGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my vmax120 won't retract anymore..... Anyone know where the fuse is so I don't have to call tech support just to try that?

I have read that it is usually the circuit board though..... Only 10 months old.....

Charlie~
7TRTCHALLENGER is offline  
post #1210 of 1850 Old 12-05-2011, 09:23 PM
Member
 
teebo2345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Ace View Post

Guys,

Thx for your input, and believe me I have tried everything you have recommended. It is definitely not the projector, If you look at the screen from the side with the projector off, you can see the spot and it is dark (see pic below, it is acutally from my first screen and the spot was a little bigger), and no that is not a dirt stain cuz it looks like a dirty spot that would just wipe off. When the projector is on, the spot is much lighter than the rest of the screen. It is not ambient light and there is nothing that could reflect onto screen. I shot the image on the wall with screen out of the way and there is no spot. I took the screen material off and put it on the other way and the spot just moves to the other side of the coke bottle, so it is in the screen material. I talked to Elite and they think it's a bad "roll" of production so they are sending me another piece of material. Their screen material is marked with a serial # indicating which "roll" of production it came from. My first roll and second roll both had different serial #'s so that means both of them were bad, so who's to say the third roll won't have a spot on it.
Not sure what I'm going to do if it has one too.

I am having the exact same issue with my replacement screen from Elite. My first screen was cine grey and had 1" spaced verticle lines that were visible in lighter colored content. Very noticible, sent it back and got a cine white screen with a spot just like yours. See this pic.

How did yours turn out?
LL
teebo2345 is offline  
post #1211 of 1850 Old 12-06-2011, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebo2345 View Post

I am having the exact same issue with my replacement screen from Elite. My first screen was cine grey and had 1" spaced verticle lines that were visible in lighter colored content. Very noticible, sent it back and got a cine white screen with a spot just like yours. See this pic.

How did yours turn out?

i have the same exact spot in same exact place on mine. I haven't bothered calling yet. I posted in this thread page or 2 back about it but I still haven't called them. Only time I see that spot is if I'm slouching really bad.

Threefiddie is offline  
post #1212 of 1850 Old 12-26-2011, 09:17 PM
Member
 
dfrankdfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone who has bought a Cinetension2 recently tell me what the max top masking border is? There seems to be conflicting info on the web and Elite's site (and their sales reps just to seem to read from the publicly available guides that I've noticed several errors and inconsistencies within). I know the original Cinetension had an 18" drop. I'm hoping the Cinetension2 has something similar (I need at least 12") and not the advertised 6" (which I find bizarre that the Cinetension2 would throw away one of the features of the original series).

Thanks
dfrankdfrank is offline  
post #1213 of 1850 Old 12-27-2011, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
jmair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I am new to avs forums so be patient..I had a Mitsubishi projector that worked fine until a lamp exploded..cost to repair I felt was going to be more than purchasing a new projector...bought a Optoma HD 66 and it has no trigger switch for my electric screen..I have a Elite electric 120" screen and I would like to have this as it comes down when turned on and retracts when shut off with my Logitech Harmony remote..any suggestions??

jim
jmair is offline  
post #1214 of 1850 Old 12-28-2011, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
govboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just put up an Elite Electric 125. It went down okay, but when I tried putting it up, when the screen got to the top, the motor kept on turning and i had to shut it off. Has anyone else had this problem? It keeps doing it everytime.
Also I cannot get my screen to work with my Harmony remote. Any help on either of those topics would be appreciated. Thanks
govboy is offline  
post #1215 of 1850 Old 01-02-2012, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
jmair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am no expert on this but I did have a similar problem and it stripped the motor shaft or something like that so I would be carefull with that..I would think it has nothing to do with your remote because the screen should shut down when it reaches end of travel..seems like all the experts are taking vactation because I can't figure out how to get my screen to work with my remote without having to independently put it up and down..I had a trigger on my old projector and my new one does not have the trigger and my receiver does not have a 12 volt trigger either..can anyone help an old man with this??

regards
jim
jmair is offline  
post #1216 of 1850 Old 01-06-2012, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
BDestroyer8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What the difference between the Spectrum and VMAX2. Also would having any speakers behind the screen be ok. For sure the center would have to be unless I put it on the floor which is not something I want to do.
BDestroyer8418 is offline  
post #1217 of 1850 Old 01-10-2012, 10:14 PM
 
Jimbo85281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if you can use the EZframe screen material with a Sable frame? Thanks
Jimbo85281 is offline  
post #1218 of 1850 Old 01-11-2012, 07:26 AM
Member
 
mreggena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo85281 View Post

Does anyone know if you can use the EZframe screen material with a Sable frame? Thanks

I am pretty sure its the same material so yes you should be able too. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

JVC RS15
120" Elite Sable Screen
Onkyo NR-808 Receiver
Aperion 6C Center Channel, 4T Towers, 5DB Surrounds, and Bravus 10 sub
mreggena is offline  
post #1219 of 1850 Old 01-13-2012, 07:07 PM
Member
 
innatetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What does it take to get an inquiry callback or warranty RMA response from ES?

I've tried to contact them through both avenues now, no response after days.

All I need is a replacement a missing bottom rod endcap for a VMAX2 I bought over the holidays. Do they really want me to wind up shipping this thing back to B&H over a $1.50 piece of plastic?

I swear, buying a lot of gear at once is a good way to lose your faith in the state of customer service in the AV world, across the board. Lately every invoice has been an invitation to the RMA awards....

After this thread I'm afraid to check and see if the roll is facing the right way, and if there's glue where there should be screws....

UPDATE: EliteScreens fedexed me a replacement without ever responding to my inquiries.

A- on responsiveness, D- on communication. Heh.
innatetech is offline  
post #1220 of 1850 Old 01-14-2012, 01:01 PM
 
Jimbo85281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone with either a Sable or an EZFrame comment on whether or not you can see a lot of "sparkly" texture to the screen on bright scenes? I've heard that this may be an issue with Elite screens and I want to make sure it's actually something to be concerned about. I am going to be using a very bright 2800 lumen projector so I suspect if there is a problem, the bright projector could make things worse. Thanks!
Jimbo85281 is offline  
post #1221 of 1850 Old 01-15-2012, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo85281 View Post

Can anyone with either a Sable or an EZFrame comment on whether or not you can see a lot of "sparkly" texture to the screen on bright scenes? I've heard that this may be an issue with Elite screens and I want to make sure it's actually something to be concerned about. I am going to be using a very bright 2800 lumen projector so I suspect if there is a problem, the bright projector could make things worse. Thanks!

only on really bright white scenes. other than that never. can't beat it for the price imo.

Threefiddie is offline  
post #1222 of 1850 Old 01-18-2012, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threefiddie View Post

only on really bright white scenes. other than that never. can't beat it for the price imo.

I have that too on my acoustic pro 2 screen, but only in a small (approx 3 sq in area) and only at a particular viewing angle. Not a big issue for me, but I also have "moire" effect with this screen and my 8350 projector. ES is going to send me one of the new 4k screens this spring which they say will remedy the moire issue with this AT screen.

Pre-Pro: Emotiva XMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
post #1223 of 1850 Old 01-19-2012, 07:40 PM
Member
 
digitalgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received my elite spectrum 100h. i read about the programmable vertical adjustment switch but cant find it. anyone can help?

Pioneer VSX-1121-k
Epson 3010 projector
Panasonic DMP-BDT210
Monoprice cables for inwall
BlueRigger - cables for device connectivity
digitalgeek is offline  
post #1224 of 1850 Old 01-28-2012, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
schinach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read all the posts in this discussion, but still do not know which type of screen to choose. Actually I do not know whether to choose electric or manual type. I have about 1500 $. I read here that almost all of you have some problems with all types of screens. It should be 120" diag. Can someone please help?. thank you.
schinach is offline  
post #1225 of 1850 Old 01-28-2012, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by schinach View Post

I read all the posts in this discussion, but still do not know which type of screen to choose. Actually I do not know whether to choose electric or manual type. I have about 1500 $. I read here that almost all of you have some problems with all types of screens. It should be 120" diag. Can someone please help?. thank you.

Do you need an acoustically transparent screen? If so and you have 1500 to spend on a screen, I would take a look at a center stage xd from seymour-av over elite.
Davecraze is offline  
post #1226 of 1850 Old 01-28-2012, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
schinach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davecraze View Post

Do you need an acoustically transparent screen? If so and you have 1500 to spend on a screen, I would take a look at a center stage xd from seymour-av over elite.

I see, problem is that there is no dealer for this brand in our country (Czech Republic). Thank you
schinach is offline  
post #1227 of 1850 Old 01-29-2012, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
uncola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
[quote=mangamonster;21279624]Well, I just got my Elite Screen 92" Sable in yesterday ( $240 @ amazon and here's the crazy thing. It was really REALLY easy to put together. I was a bit doubtful based on all of the negative reviews of how it was thumb-numbing to put together. In all honesty, it doesn't take much effort at all, besides a little stretching of the screen and then easily clipping into place. I had it put together in about an hour.


Mangamonster you inspired me to get that 92 fixed frame over some cheaper manual pull downs I was looking at. I got mine from amazon too, can't wait. This will be my first projector setup

Gear list: Main setup - Kef Q900, Svs sb12-nsd subwoofer, onkyo 609 receiver, epson 8350 projector, elitescreens sable 92" screen, mac mini htpc
bedroom setup: PSB Image B5, maverick tubemagic a1 amplifier, hifimediy sabre9023 dac, ZMF Fostex T50RP modded headphones
preordered gear: Light Harmonic Geek Pulse X dac and headphone amp
uncola is offline  
post #1228 of 1850 Old 01-30-2012, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheaterChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does anyone from Elite post here when people are looking for a screen? I called for some technical info, and I got absolutely no answer to my question, I was told to go to their special order page, of which the model I want was not listed in their form page, and I'm not really looking to special order anything, I want a screen that's already made buy them, but a different material, with no real time line, but I have to go through all this effort, to get to a dead end.
No wonder I see so many buying from Amazon and others rather deal with them directly.....
TheaterChad is online now  
post #1229 of 1850 Old 01-31-2012, 03:38 AM
Newbie
 
schinach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, so what would you recommend me to choose ?.

1) manual SRM - as a cheap screen and in case of some waves to buy new one
2) tension series - as a much more expensive but supposed to be without any waves ...

thx
schinach is offline  
post #1230 of 1850 Old 01-31-2012, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
taskman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just ordered an R120H1 ezFrame screen to replace my manual Elite M135XWH2. I had the 135" manual for almost 2 years and not one issue or wave. I moved to a new apartment and have the space for a fixed screen, plus over time I have learned 135" is just too crazy at the 12-14ft seating distance. I'll update on the results.

To the person asking about manual vs tension. Grab a manual, in my opinion waves are possible but typically only if the screen is abused, left pulled out for days/weeks, or the temperature tends to fluctuate. That is based on my own personal research and may differ from others opinions.
taskman is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Projection Screens , Da Lite Screens , Panasonic Et Lae700 Replacement Lamp For Pt Ae700u , Projectors , Elite Screens Inc
Gear in this thread - Lae700 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off