The official Elite screen thread. - Page 56 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 1678 Old 02-20-2014, 04:13 AM
Member
 
BiggNewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is the power cord on the left or right side of the 100" Spectrum Screen? I also noticed people saying the dimensions Elite Screens lists isn't correct. Can anyone tell me the complete height from top of the casing (ceiling) to the bottom of the screen?
BiggNewt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 1678 Old 02-20-2014, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
simpleHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Power cord for Spectrum is on the left (facing the screen). My 128" 16:10 width is about 1" wider than spec sheet. It's not a problem for me.
simpleHT is offline  
post #1653 of 1678 Old 02-20-2014, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggNewt View Post

Is the power cord on the left or right side of the 100" Spectrum Screen? I also noticed people saying the dimensions Elite Screens lists isn't correct. Can anyone tell me the complete height from top of the casing (ceiling) to the bottom of the screen?

This PDF is I believe the correct dimensions. I had an issue with the total height being wrong from another older PDF.

http://elitescreens.com/images/pdf/DimensionsTable/spectrum_dims.pdf
bluer101 is offline  
post #1654 of 1678 Old 02-20-2014, 03:21 PM
Member
 
BiggNewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks. Gonna order this off ebay tonight. Seem to be almost $100 cheaper.
BiggNewt is offline  
post #1655 of 1678 Old 02-20-2014, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggNewt View Post

Thanks. Gonna order this off ebay tonight. Seem to be almost $100 cheaper.

What price? I paid $179 on Amazon 1 month ago.
bluer101 is offline  
post #1656 of 1678 Old 02-20-2014, 06:34 PM
Member
 
BiggNewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've seen a couple go for under $125 shipped. I was referring to Msrp.
BiggNewt is offline  
post #1657 of 1678 Old 02-21-2014, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggNewt View Post

I've seen a couple go for under $125 shipped. I was referring to Msrp.

For a manual screen or motorized? I have the motorized and $125 would be insanely cheap.
bluer101 is offline  
post #1658 of 1678 Old 03-16-2014, 11:40 AM
Newbie
 
agaurav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I am thinking of ER120WH1 - 120" Sable screen. Is it acoustically transparent? And would it be suitable for native 1080p resolution projector? Do I need the AcousticPro1080p2 (I am hoping Cine White is good)? I would much rather spend $200-300 for a screen and not more if I can avoid it. Fixed frame is better. Its dedicated viewing space so motorized versions are not required.

I am looking to view only movies inside a totally dark media room.

Thanks,
Guraaf
agaurav is offline  
post #1659 of 1678 Old 03-30-2014, 12:11 PM
Member
 
jakob_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a VMAX106H-E24 and love it. But I'm wondering how or if it's possible to set it to stop at a certain height when I lower it for use. Currently I have attempt to stop the screen at the right exact point every time I go to use it. Unfortunately the manual and online FAQs don't have anything I can find about how to do this. If someone knows how, that would be a huge help!

Current HT components:
Yamaha Aventage RX-A2000
BenQ W1070
Elite Screens VMAX2 106" electric 16:9 1.1 gain
PSB Imagine B fronts, PSB Imagine C center, Boston Acoustic surrounds
Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Custom HTPC
jakob_s is offline  
post #1660 of 1678 Old 03-30-2014, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakob_s View Post

I have a VMAX106H-E24 and love it. But I'm wondering how or if it's possible to set it to stop at a certain height when I lower it for use. Currently I have attempt to stop the screen at the right exact point every time I go to use it. Unfortunately the manual and online FAQs don't have anything I can find about how to do this. If someone knows how, that would be a huge help!

This might help, do at own risk. A few pages down.

http://pdf.textfiles.com/manuals/STARINMANUALS/Elite%20Screens/Manuals/VMax%20-%20Type%20C.pdf
bluer101 is offline  
post #1661 of 1678 Old 04-06-2014, 04:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I bought a elite screen 100H. Is it recommended to leave the screen down for a certain amount of time when you first open it? Also for the people that have elite screens do you have any issues with the screen when scrolling down making a knocking sound every few seconds?
bori is offline  
post #1662 of 1678 Old 04-16-2014, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Curamrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Europe - Czech Republic
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

what is the best electric screen today 100" and more? thanks

Curamrda is offline  
post #1663 of 1678 Old 04-16-2014, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I bought an elite 100H an it works great.
bori is offline  
post #1664 of 1678 Old 06-28-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Husky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EZ or Sable, $200 Difference?

Can anyone support the notion that the EZ frame is worth a $200 premium over the Sable fixed frame? I understand that the felt is a higher quality on the EZ frame, but how bad is the felt on the Sable to make this a worthy upgrade. As far as I can tell, the felt application and a slightly different shape (something that seems insignificant) are the only differences when ordering a Cinewhite fixed screen on Amazon; if there is more to it, please let me know.






Thanks,
Husky
Husky is online now  
post #1665 of 1678 Old 06-29-2014, 09:32 AM
Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Husky View Post
Can anyone support the notion that the EZ frame is worth a $200 premium over the Sable fixed frame? I understand that the felt is a higher quality on the EZ frame, but how bad is the felt on the Sable to make this a worthy upgrade. As far as I can tell, the felt application and a slightly different shape (something that seems insignificant) are the only differences when ordering a Cinewhite fixed screen on Amazon; if there is more to it, please let me know.




Thanks,
Husky
As an owner of an EZ frame, and just recently getting my hands on a Sable frame, I'm glad I spent the extra 150 on the EZ frame.
Even though both frames use the same gauge of aluminum and the frames have the same thickness, the Ez frame is squared off while the Sable frame is rounded off. The squared off Ez frame has a sturdier feel as a result.
The sprayed on velvet on the Sable frame rubs off fairly easy, so more care must be taken in handling the frame during assembly and mounting.
Of course, once both frames are assembled and mounted, the differences between the two won't really matter.
So, Is it worth it to spend the extra 150-200 dollars? That's up to the individual buyer. For me, it was.
ben38 is offline  
post #1666 of 1678 Old 06-29-2014, 05:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a dilemma and hopefully someone can help me out. I have decided to go with the 3D/2D screen Cinegray 5D route, and I have been wanting a 110 inch screen from the beginning anyways, no matter which type and brand I decided to go with. I decided to purchase the 110 inch EZ Frame version Cinegray 5D that can display in 3D.


However, on Amazon they only have 1 or 2 left for sale for a higher price because it says it has been discontinued by the manufacturer. Apparently after googling it, the EZ Frame 110 inch is available for the 2D only screen, which will not work for me. Also they do still offer the Sable screen for 3D in 110 inches, which has left me with a dilemma. I really don't want to pay $200-300 higher for the 110 EZ Frame 3D Cinegray 5D screen as its been discontinued. Do I buy the 100 inch EZ Frame instead? Or do I just buy the 110 inch Sable? Or do I poney up the extra cash for the 110 inch EZ Frame? Anyone have any advice?


To the poster above, will I notice ANY picture quality difference or difference in the ambient light rejecting of the Sable compared to what I would with the equivalent size EZ Frame?


Thanks!
SteveS78 is offline  
post #1667 of 1678 Old 06-29-2014, 07:00 PM
Member
 
FloCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveS78 View Post
I have a dilemma and hopefully someone can help me out. I have decided to go with the 3D/2D screen Cinegray 5D route, and I have been wanting a 110 inch screen from the beginning anyways, no matter which type and brand I decided to go with. I decided to purchase the 110 inch EZ Frame version Cinegray 5D that can display in 3D.


However, on Amazon they only have 1 or 2 left for sale for a higher price because it says it has been discontinued by the manufacturer. Apparently after googling it, the EZ Frame 110 inch is available for the 2D only screen, which will not work for me. Also they do still offer the Sable screen for 3D in 110 inches, which has left me with a dilemma. I really don't want to pay $200-300 higher for the 110 EZ Frame 3D Cinegray 5D screen as its been discontinued. Do I buy the 100 inch EZ Frame instead? Or do I just buy the 110 inch Sable? Or do I poney up the extra cash for the 110 inch EZ Frame? Anyone have any advice?


To the poster above, will I notice ANY picture quality difference or difference in the ambient light rejecting of the Sable compared to what I would with the equivalent size EZ Frame?


Thanks!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824999976
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...all_mount.html
FloCobra is offline  
post #1668 of 1678 Old 06-29-2014, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0

Are those two links not for the non-3D version of that screen? The one I had my eye on said it was for both 2D and 3D. Those two say they are for the entry level Cinegray screen. Says its just for HDTV, doesn't mention 3D. Am I missing something?

See the below link to what I am referring to. 110 inch EZ Frame for 2D and 3D. Says discontinued by manufacturer. They have a few left, but selling for much higher than retail value.


http://www.amazon.com/Screens-R135DH.../dp/B00DQNX36G
SteveS78 is offline  
post #1669 of 1678 Old 06-30-2014, 04:13 AM
Member
 
FloCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FloCobra is offline  
post #1670 of 1678 Old 06-30-2014, 04:37 AM
Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveS78 View Post
I have a dilemma and hopefully someone can help me out. I have decided to go with the 3D/2D screen Cinegray 5D route, and I have been wanting a 110 inch screen from the beginning anyways, no matter which type and brand I decided to go with. I decided to purchase the 110 inch EZ Frame version Cinegray 5D that can display in 3D.


However, on Amazon they only have 1 or 2 left for sale for a higher price because it says it has been discontinued by the manufacturer. Apparently after googling it, the EZ Frame 110 inch is available for the 2D only screen, which will not work for me. Also they do still offer the Sable screen for 3D in 110 inches, which has left me with a dilemma. I really don't want to pay $200-300 higher for the 110 EZ Frame 3D Cinegray 5D screen as its been discontinued. Do I buy the 100 inch EZ Frame instead? Or do I just buy the 110 inch Sable? Or do I poney up the extra cash for the 110 inch EZ Frame? Anyone have any advice?


To the poster above, will I notice ANY picture quality difference or difference in the ambient light rejecting of the Sable compared to what I would with the equivalent size EZ Frame?


Thanks!
The Cinegrey 5D material will work exactly the same on either frame. The EZ frame is a better frame than the Sable. Elite is getting ready to release new frames on the market. (Release dates unknown.) Since the EZ frame is discontinued, it's clear now that they'll keep the Sable frame as a low cost option. The new frame is an edge free design, I have no idea when they'll release it. (Their vague answer is "SOON") Here's a You Tube video of Elite showing off the new frame at the CES show.
There is some confusion about the 3D aspect of the screen. The Cinegrey 5D was made with a polarized silver layer for Passive 3D. It will show Active 3D in the same way any other screen would. (Active 3D works fine on any screen, even bare walls.)
Passive 3D in a home projection system requires two projectors working in tandem to produce two distinct images that can be seen with polarized glasses. A silver screen is needed to keep the two images separate. (or polarized)

Elite also sells a regular gray screen with no silver layer simply called the CINEGREY. It's an older design they've been selling for years with a negative gain of 0.8.
ben38 is offline  
post #1671 of 1678 Old 06-30-2014, 05:41 AM
Member
 
Husky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben38 View Post
As an owner of an EZ frame, and just recently getting my hands on a Sable frame, I'm glad I spent the extra 150 on the EZ frame.
Even though both frames use the same gauge of aluminum and the frames have the same thickness, the Ez frame is squared off while the Sable frame is rounded off. The squared off Ez frame has a sturdier feel as a result.
The sprayed on velvet on the Sable frame rubs off fairly easy, so more care must be taken in handling the frame during assembly and mounting.
Of course, once both frames are assembled and mounted, the differences between the two won't really matter.
So, Is it worth it to spend the extra 150-200 dollars? That's up to the individual buyer. For me, it was.
Thanks; my cheap side is being challenged.
Husky is online now  
post #1672 of 1678 Old 06-30-2014, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the info!

I have one more question. I was just on the phone with the guy who is going to be installing my home theater set up. He said he only sells the more high end screens, so he doesn't sell the Cinegray 5D, so he is not 100% sure about it. But he said to be careful. Alot of screens out there only say they are for HDTV, and those only display in 720p even if your proector is 1080p. He said to make sure it displays in 1080. I looked at the spec. It does say its for use of 720p and 1080p projectors, I just want to be sure this will display in 1080. He said he sells a projector for $700 which is the lowest end one he sells and it only displays in 720.

Just want to be sure. Thanks!
SteveS78 is offline  
post #1673 of 1678 Old 06-30-2014, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
A screen is not a monitor....it passively reflects light...it can't scale. I might look at someone else to install my HT

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveS78 View Post
Thanks for the info!

I have one more question. I was just on the phone with the guy who is going to be installing my home theater set up. He said he only sells the more high end screens, so he doesn't sell the Cinegray 5D, so he is not 100% sure about it. But he said to be careful. Alot of screens out there only say they are for HDTV, and those only display in 720p even if your proector is 1080p. He said to make sure it displays in 1080. I looked at the spec. It does say its for use of 720p and 1080p projectors, I just want to be sure this will display in 1080. He said he sells a projector for $700 which is the lowest end one he sells and it only displays in 720.

Just want to be sure. Thanks!
SteveS78 likes this.

-Kevin

Epson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9

Marantz AV8801 pre/pro

Wyred4Sound 5-channel amp

Oppo BDP-105

Darbee Darblet

JTR 3TX LCRs

JTR Single8 HT-LP surrounds

twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers

GIK Acoustic room treatments

KevinH is online now  
post #1674 of 1678 Old 06-30-2014, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinH View Post
A screen is not a monitor....it passively reflects light...it can't scale. I might look at someone else to install my HT
That is what I thought. Perhaps he meant that some screens don't provide the level of picture quality that others do? Afterall, which screen you buy is more important than the projector. Maybe its not so much a scaling thing as it is just a smooth quality picture?
SteveS78 is offline  
post #1675 of 1678 Old 06-30-2014, 10:03 AM
Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveS78 View Post
That is what I thought. Perhaps he meant that some screens don't provide the level of picture quality that others do? Afterall, which screen you buy is more important than the projector. Maybe its not so much a scaling thing as it is just a smooth quality picture?
A white wall will do great with 1080p, much less almost any screen out there. To be fair to the guy you talked to, I said almost any screen because he might be talking about AT screens. Some older AT screens will have a weave that's too course for 1080p.
ben38 is offline  
post #1676 of 1678 Old 07-02-2014, 12:09 AM
Member
 
eydsamoht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben38 View Post
A white wall will do great with 1080p, much less almost any screen out there. To be fair to the guy you talked to, I said almost any screen because he might be talking about AT screens. Some older AT screens will have a weave that's too course for 1080p.
Certain weaves and textures (this is particularly troublesome with acoustically transparent screens) can produce a moiré pattern at some resolutions. The CineGrey 5D material is very smooth and has no issues with 1080P projection. There shouldn't be an issue with active 3D either considering how the technology works, although I've never tested it.
eydsamoht is offline  
post #1677 of 1678 Old 07-02-2014, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
taskman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would highly recommend contacting Elite Screens and requesting a sample of Cinewhite and CineGrey. You may have to pay shipping.

The reason is I thought CineGrey made sense, the logic is current projectors have a lot of lumens but when I saw what the color white looks like on a grey screen, I switched. Grey might work for other people but to me the colors were dull compared to Cinewhite. For reference I have an Epson 8500UB and was testing with THX low lumen and normal brightness settings. Cinegray may still make sense but you would at least be certain by getting the samples.
taskman is online now  
post #1678 of 1678 Old 07-09-2014, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm looking for a Cine Grey motorized EliteScreen (or other brand with a grey screen) for cheap. It seems odd that there are tons of Cinewhite screens on amazon for under $300 shipped, but a search for "cine grey motorized" comes up with screens over $1000 only (and only 8 of them).


I have an Epson 8350 projector and would like to get better black levels than what a 1.1 gain, white screen would give me. I'm currently sporting a homemade 0.85 gain 95" screen (4x8 sheet of MDF with special paint mixture), but I'm remodeling my family room and am switching to a different spot for the screen and need a motorized, ceiling-mounted one.


Really, I just want to find a screen that meets these qualifications:
  • Cheap - Less than $250 shipped. I will just get a stupid Cine White 110" screen for $212 if I can't find a grey one
  • Motorized and ceiling-mountable
  • Grey - To improve black levels of my projector
  • Gain less than 1.0(?) - I thought all grey screens would be a less-than-1.0 gain value, but I see the Cine Grey is listed as 1.0, so I don't understand gain I guess. How can grey be 1.0 still? Maybe if it's reflective?
  • Size - Anything close to 100" really.
I wish they didn't waste so much vertical space, as I could fit my current screen (49" height) in the new spot above the fireplace without it blocking the forced hot air coming out of the gas insert. However, even the 84" 16:9 Spectrum is over 55" in height and will block my forced air. This has made me wonder...can you set different stopping points for the motor? Like, I could have one stopping point where it doesn't quite block my forced air and I could still manage to get something like a 75" screen? Then the other normal stopping point for full 110"?


Looks like I need to do more research. Any help from the knowledgeable peeps on here would be great though.
snake2332 is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Projection Screens , Da Lite Screens , Panasonic Et Lae700 Replacement Lamp For Pt Ae700u , Projectors , Elite Screens Inc
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off