The official Elite screen thread. - Page 59 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 1765 Old 09-16-2014, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by whokilledkaji View Post
Interesting! I hadn't noticed that Draper had one too! Where are you ordering from? Any idea of pricing yet?
I just ordered mine this morning from Dave Nash at the TheFinalClick. I got a 133" Profile Frame with the React MS1000v material. He gave me a great deal. Much less than what comes up on the Draper site.
Theres a youtube video I found from Cedia of the Frame. It won't let me post a link but I just went to youtube and put in Draper Cedia 2014.
Really looking forward to getting it hung on my wall. I actually phoned a guy in England and was asking him about the React material and he just loved it and he has had the Black Diamond and DNP screens in his room.
Schank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 1765 Old 09-16-2014, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by towndrunk View Post
For comparison I went to the Draper site, and the Matt White 16:9 119" Profile screen was listed at $1,617. Just proves that I need to do some research. Same dimensions and screen size, three times the price. I guess it isn't as easy a decision as I thought it was going to be.
Unfortunately in most cases I have found that you do get what you pay for.
Schank is offline  
post #1743 of 1765 Old 09-20-2014, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the elite electric spectrum 110". It's pretty nice but there is a small wave I see that causes some distortion on horizontal movement on the screen. I know it;s a budget screen and having a perfectly flat screen on a non tensioned drop down is unlikely. Are there any tricks to adding tension when it is down? Like adding some weight to the bottom maybe? I'm not going to experiment unless someone else has had success first.
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #1744 of 1765 Old 09-22-2014, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Jester435's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bountiful, Utah
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I have a random question. I have an Elite Screen 110" in my current media room. I am moving into a new house in November and was wondering how easy it is to take apart an already built ELITE screen, so I can move?

I am going to try and not take it apart, but it may be inevitable.

Thanks for the help!
Jester435 is offline  
post #1745 of 1765 Old 09-22-2014, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jester435 View Post
I have a random question. I have an Elite Screen 110" in my current media room. I am moving into a new house in November and was wondering how easy it is to take apart an already built ELITE screen, so I can move?

I am going to try and not take it apart, but it may be inevitable.

Thanks for the help!
Is it a fixed frame screen? Their frames are easy to take apart and reassemble. Just make sure you're careful with the screen material.
ben38 is offline  
post #1746 of 1765 Old 09-22-2014, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Jester435's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bountiful, Utah
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben38 View Post
Is it a fixed frame screen? Their frames are easy to take apart and reassemble. Just make sure you're careful with the screen material.
Thank You!

The screen will only be taken apart to clear the stairs and then put back together.

Thanks
Jester435 is offline  
post #1747 of 1765 Old 09-24-2014, 04:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sunny South East, Carlow, Ireland
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone know a supplier that ships international to Ireland, Elite have agents over here but can't get he Cinegrey 5D material! its a bit of joke really.

The reply was as this material is made in china its not possible to get it here!!

I thought everything was made in China
mediahomesireland is online now  
post #1748 of 1765 Old 09-27-2014, 02:21 AM
Member
 
khactuyen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose, California, 95112-6147
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to khactuyen
Hello, i have bought new 120' vmax2 but there are waves on bottom screen, it will be auto flat after long time? how i can make flat? can i replace buy other new from elite (i bought from seller on ebay)?


thanks.

Last edited by khactuyen; 09-27-2014 at 02:28 AM.
khactuyen is offline  
post #1749 of 1765 Old 09-27-2014, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I have a 92in Sable fixed. No matter what I do I can't get the center support in place. How critical of a part is this? Screen looks good and my understanding is that the center support is optional.

AVR: Denon 2112
Speakers: EMP Tek e55ti, Center- EMP Tek e56ci, Side Surrounds- EMP Tek e55wi, Rear Surrounds- KLH 911b, Sub- SVS PC12 Plus
Display: BenQ w1070 on a 92in fixed screen
Blu-Ray Player:Samsung BD-EM59C;
Playstation 4, Apple TV, Harmony Remote
AllenA07 is online now  
post #1750 of 1765 Old 09-27-2014, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenA07 View Post
I have a 92in Sable fixed. No matter what I do I can't get the center support in place. How critical of a part is this? Screen looks good and my understanding is that the center support is optional.
A 92 inch frame is relatively small. I don't see the need for the center support for such a small frame.
ben38 is offline  
post #1751 of 1765 Old 09-28-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
blue dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does Elite make a cinetension2 with sound transparent material in 2.35:1? I couldn't find it, maybe someone can point me in the right direction.

Paradigm v.5 speakers: Studio 100s - Fronts, Studio CC-690 - Center , ADP-590s - Surround.
Pardigm V.4 speakers: Studio 20s - Rear Surround, Sub12
Pre/Pro - Yamaha CX-A5000, AMP - Yamaha MX-A5000
TV - Samsung UNDF658000
blue dragon is offline  
post #1752 of 1765 Old 09-29-2014, 12:01 PM
Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Aeon screens are now available.
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #1753 of 1765 Old 09-29-2014, 12:12 PM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 12,075
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 335
I just realized that my Cinetension 2 is over 7 years old and still working and flat!

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the AVS Club and help support the site. Help Support AVS Forum Sponsors.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #1754 of 1765 Old 09-30-2014, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
ProjectionHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by khactuyen View Post
Hello, i have bought new 120' vmax2 but there are waves on bottom screen, it will be auto flat after long time? how i can make flat? can i replace buy other new from elite (i bought from seller on ebay)?


thanks.
You probably won't get anywhere from Elite or the seller in terms of a warranty/defect. How bad is it while you are projecting on to it compared to the pics you submitted?
ProjectionHead is offline  
post #1755 of 1765 Old 10-01-2014, 02:59 AM
Member
 
kojotandoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called elite yesterday and the aeon screens aren't available in cinegrey 5d material yet
kojotandoh is offline  
post #1756 of 1765 Old 10-07-2014, 05:31 PM
Member
 
danj1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^yep! No cinegray 5d yet. Rep said next year probably.

Kills me that the aeon series frame is cheaper than the ez frame. Makes no sense to me at all.

Just ordered the cinegray 5d with EZframe since I need something to project on besides my tan colored textured walls. Can't wait 6 months or more.

I hope they do a larger screen than 120" in the Aeon too. Really want to go 135".

Also... someone above just said the Aeon is available now. Where? The dude from Elite said they weren't available to purchase yet. Just talked to him about 10 minutes ago too.

Last edited by danj1111; 10-07-2014 at 05:52 PM.
danj1111 is offline  
post #1757 of 1765 Old 10-08-2014, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
KPOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking at the Elite 150" pull down screen to use with my Epson 8350, does anyone have any feedback about the 150"? It would be going into a room that I'm in the process of re-modeling (Remodeling my first room for a projector). Will the Epson 8350 be bright enough to cast a good image on a 150" screen? I've got a 120" screen currently on the wall and that seems too small. According to http://www.projectorcentral.com/Epso...ulator-pro.htm, I should go with a 133" so the Elite Screens 135" is also an option.

Since I have a fireplace at the end of the room, the screen needs to be a pulldown. http://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens-.../dp/B000BFW6RO

Last edited by KPOD; 10-08-2014 at 08:20 AM.
KPOD is offline  
post #1758 of 1765 Old 10-08-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by danj1111 View Post
^yep! No cinegray 5d yet. Rep said next year probably.

Kills me that the aeon series frame is cheaper than the ez frame. Makes no sense to me at all.

Just ordered the cinegray 5d with EZframe since I need something to project on besides my tan colored textured walls. Can't wait 6 months or more.

I hope they do a larger screen than 120" in the Aeon too. Really want to go 135".

Also... someone above just said the Aeon is available now. Where? The dude from Elite said they weren't available to purchase yet. Just talked to him about 10 minutes ago too.
Hmm. I talked to Elite and another dealer. Both said they were available.
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #1759 of 1765 Old 10-08-2014, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I can also confirm my dealer said the same yesterday
Ivwolfevi is offline  
post #1760 of 1765 Old 10-13-2014, 09:06 AM
Member
 
danj1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool. seems you guys have access to better info- what've you heard about the release date for cinegray 5D in the aeon series?
danj1111 is offline  
post #1761 of 1765 Old 10-16-2014, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi this is my first post - Does anyone have a elite cinegrey 5d and can take a image of a plain blue screen. i cant get it to be even without different shading (a lighter stripe in the middle Depending where you sit) no matter where i put my projector or change my color settings(even zoom). I'm currently using a epson 8100 if i where to purchase a better projector would this improve? eg. sony vpl vw 40 es. Generally hot spotting is a circle radiating out correct? Is it possible that due to the sable frame not being 100% flush this is caused. I have just exchanged the faulty material and have the new one one the way from amazon - so preferably don't want to change the material. Any feedback would be welcome as ive never lived with ambient light rejection screens before - but i have seen even pictures on the web.
Patrow is offline  
post #1762 of 1765 Old 10-17-2014, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
ProjectionHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They are available but only in the cinewhite.

http://www.projectorscreen.com/store...-1-1-Gain.html
http://www.projectorscreen.com/store...-1-1-Gain.html

I haven't heard anything about a cinegray5d in this model yet but wouldn't be surprised if we see it q2 of 2015. The Ezframe series is marked as "while supplies last" as Elite is introducing their EzFrame 2 series, which has some minor enhancements with how the surface attaches as well as coming with an installation kit.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ezframe1.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	316882   Click image for larger version

Name:	ezframe2.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	316890  

Last edited by ProjectionHead; 10-17-2014 at 12:54 PM. Reason: added embedded images
ProjectionHead is offline  
post #1763 of 1765 Old 10-17-2014, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrow View Post
Hi this is my first post - Does anyone have a elite cinegrey 5d and can take a image of a plain blue screen. i cant get it to be even without different shading (a lighter stripe in the middle Depending where you sit) no matter where i put my projector or change my color settings(even zoom). I'm currently using a epson 8100 if i where to purchase a better projector would this improve? eg. sony vpl vw 40 es. Generally hot spotting is a circle radiating out correct? Is it possible that due to the sable frame not being 100% flush this is caused. I have just exchanged the faulty material and have the new one one the way from amazon - so preferably don't want to change the material. Any feedback would be welcome as ive never lived with ambient light rejection screens before - but i have seen even pictures on the web.
How far is your throw?
ben38 is offline  
post #1764 of 1765 Old 10-18-2014, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
taskman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrow View Post
Hi this is my first post - Does anyone have a elite cinegrey 5d and can take a image of a plain blue screen. i cant get it to be even without different shading (a lighter stripe in the middle Depending where you sit) no matter where i put my projector or change my color settings(even zoom). I'm currently using a epson 8100 if i where to purchase a better projector would this improve? eg. sony vpl vw 40 es. Generally hot spotting is a circle radiating out correct? Is it possible that due to the sable frame not being 100% flush this is caused. I have just exchanged the faulty material and have the new one one the way from amazon - so preferably don't want to change the material. Any feedback would be welcome as ive never lived with ambient light rejection screens before - but i have seen even pictures on the web.
Have you tested just throwing your projector up against a wall to verify the light strip isn't present? If you have, there may be defects in the screen that are hard to see without a bright light hitting them, from a projector for instance. I had that issue with one of my EZframes. With the lights on in the room, use a flashlight or headlamp and stand close to the screen to see if you get a reflection from possible stains on the screen.
taskman is offline  
post #1765 of 1765 Old 10-18-2014, 11:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the response, the hot spot moves as the sitting position changes, I've tried changing the throw distance and not using lense shift. If I use a camera I can clearly see what's causing the problem a round circle of intense light. It's defiantly the screen causing this,
My standard grandview does not cause this. If I use for eg iTunes with thumbnails and sit in the center of the screen the white background gets darker left and right of the center of the screen. In the next two days I get my replacement screen if it also hotspots then it is a characteristic of the screen. Then I might buy something like one of elunevision (if I can get mine sold)they promise no hot spotting of their screens, does anyone else with the same screen (cine grey 5d)have the same problem? If you look at the eg of hot sptotting at the elunevision screen feature page and have look at the two football fields it's exactly what I'm experiencing.( can't give a link because I haven't had more than 5 posts)
Patrow is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Projection Screens , Da Lite Screens , Panasonic Et Lae700 Replacement Lamp For Pt Ae700u , Projectors , Elite Screens Inc
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off