Has anyone tried the new Monoprice screens? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 259 Old 12-17-2006, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
Polygamy16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamSpeed View Post

Looks like the border material is coming up on the lower right corner? Is that really the case, or is it just the way the pic appears with that corner of the screen resting on something that is cauing it to bow?

In that picture it was slightly resting on my bass-drum mic thus causing it to bow. . .nothing to do with the screen itself
Polygamy16 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 259 Old 12-17-2006, 07:50 PM
Member
 
TeamSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So with the screen down and not touching anything, how does the screen look in regards to any waves? The price is so right for this screen to do the gray paint mod outlined by Tiddler, but it would have to be very straight.
TeamSpeed is offline  
post #33 of 259 Old 12-17-2006, 10:08 PM
Newbie
 
Polygamy16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamSpeed View Post

So with the screen down and not touching anything, how does the screen look in regards to any waves? The price is so right for this screen to do the gray paint mod outlined by Tiddler, but it would have to be very straight.

I'll move my mics aside and snap some more shots. . .
Polygamy16 is offline  
post #34 of 259 Old 12-17-2006, 11:51 PM
Member
 
kim77512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgronseth View Post

The questions I asked were:
1. Color of the case?
Answer: White
2. Size of the case?
Answer: He didn't have that info but said it is just a couple inches wider than the screen. He said he could find the info, but I didn't ask him to do that.
3. What is the Viewing Angle?
Answer: He didn't know.
4. I assume it has a black border?
Answer: Yes a couple of inches or so.
5. Weight of product?
Answer: He didn't know right off hand but thought it was about 70lbs.
6: Return Policy?
Answer: Same as other products, 21 days, no restocking fee, but S&H is not refunded.
7: Warranty?
Answer: He didn't have anything specific, just said to check the website. (I couldn't find any specific warranties beyond the 21 days, but I didn't look too much.)

I'm Sean with Monoprice, Inc. Here're a little bit more answers for the questions above.

1. Color of the case?
Answer: Matt White

2. Size of the case?
Answer: It is just a couple inches wider than the screen. Sorry, no further info at this time on this question.

3. What is the Viewing Angle?
Answer: Not sure. Sorry.

4. I assume it has a black border?
Answer: Yes a couple of inches or so.

5. Weight of product?
Answer: Its actual weight is about 30LBs, however, we charge shipping cost based on 70LBs due to its over-size volume.

6: Return Policy?
Answer: Same as other products, 21 days, no restocking fee, but S&H is not refunded.

7: Warranty?
Answer: It comes with one year warranty from us.
kim77512 is offline  
post #35 of 259 Old 12-18-2006, 03:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Since it is a Matt White screen there should be no problem with viewing angle. Even though there is usually 1.1 output one should not have viewing angle issues.
rwestley is offline  
post #36 of 259 Old 12-18-2006, 02:43 PM
Member
 
MenoMosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if this screen will allow light through if lowered in front of a window?
MenoMosso is offline  
post #37 of 259 Old 12-21-2006, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
XXXLCracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just mounted the 16:9 108" electric screen in my basement. I will post some pictures. The screen is flush mounted on the wall and took @ 15 minutes. It is helpful to have a second set of hands.


I also ordered the wireless remote. It is not plug and play. You have to cut the existing controller and plug and splice the Wireless receiver onto the cut end. I am waiting for some more specific instructions from Monoprice on the remote install. I am using this screen with the IN72 and so far I am satisfied. This is in my home theater in my basement which has virtually no ambient light. Keep in mind, this is my first projector/screen so I am not as particular as some.

Any questions, I would be more than happy to assist.

UPDATE =
Just wired up the receiver for the wireless remote.
Took @ 20 minutes. at this time Monoprice does not have a writeup.
Tools needed:
Soldering iron
Phiilips head screwdriver
Wire stripper/crimping tool
Basic electrical knowledge and experiencing with basic wiring - if you have ever wired up a car stereo, you are set.
popalock likes this.
XXXLCracker is offline  
post #38 of 259 Old 12-21-2006, 12:16 PM
Member
 
StormyQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback. Look forward to seeing your pics.
StormyQ is offline  
post #39 of 259 Old 12-21-2006, 12:56 PM
Member
 
MenoMosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XXXLCracker: Thanks for posting your experience. Could you let me know if the screen blocks light from behind? I would be lowering mine in front of a window, so I need to make sure the material is not at all translucent. Also, do you notice any waves on the screen, or does it appear to be flat and smooth when extended?

Thanks for your help!
MenoMosso is offline  
post #40 of 259 Old 12-21-2006, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Nitemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does any one know if these screens support a 12 volt trigger?
Nitemage is offline  
post #41 of 259 Old 12-21-2006, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
XXXLCracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just mounted the 16:9 108" electric screen in my basement. I will post some pictures. The screen is flush mounted on the wall and took @ 15 minutes. It is helpful to have a second set of hands.


I also ordered the wireless remote. It is not plug and play. You have to cut the existing controller and plug and splice the Wireless receiver onto the cut end. I am waiting for some more specific instructions from Monoprice on the remote install. I am using this screen with the IN72 and so far I am satisfied. This is in my home theater in my basement which has virtually no ambient light. Keep in mind, this is my first projector/screen so I am not as particular as some.

Any questions, I would be more than happy to assist.
XXXLCracker is offline  
post #42 of 259 Old 12-21-2006, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by XXXLCracker View Post

Any questions, I would be more than happy to assist.

I'll start with 3 questions

1. How much drop (inches of black above viewing area) does it have?

2. Is the stop position finely adjustable?

3. How many seconds to come fully down?

thanks,

George
IndianaGeorge is offline  
post #43 of 259 Old 12-25-2006, 05:42 PM
Member
 
bthessel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking about the 108" to go with my new in72. Any new info or reviews on this screen?
bthessel is offline  
post #44 of 259 Old 12-26-2006, 08:15 AM
Member
 
grokus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For people who have bought a monoprice screen. It comes with a wired remote, correct?

Shipping seems to have gone up, $60 for MA.
grokus is offline  
post #45 of 259 Old 12-26-2006, 11:26 AM
Member
 
tmcquitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine arrived today. I ordered the 108" Electric 16:9 version.

A couple things, first. I haven't mounted my projector, yet. So, I won't have pictures for a couple days. I need to mount the projector, cut a couple holes into the ceiling for putting the cables up and down.

I should have the projector up today. My first impressions. The box seemed to be well packed. It has a heavy bar to weigh down the screen. The rubber boots (one for each end) were off, in the interior bag. It is also missing one screen that mounts the projector to the bracket.

It is white.

It also has a wired remote. The remote's cable comes out the right side. It looks like a beefy cable.

I did check for back light... I took a flashlight and put it directly against the back of the screen. It did show some light. I don't know if that will be strong enough to make a difference. I used a generic flashlight that uses 2 C Cells.

While there was some light, it was not uniform. My room was completely black when I put the flashlight to it.

I hope that helps.
tmcquitty is offline  
post #46 of 259 Old 12-26-2006, 10:37 PM
Newbie
 
Kammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the mounting brackets that hold the screen adjustable?

The reason I ask is that if I purchase one, I will need to mount it across a couple of beams on my ceiling that will run perpendicular to the screen.

Thanks.
Kammer is offline  
post #47 of 259 Old 12-27-2006, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
Viperhawke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, a few quick questions for the ones that have it already...

Can you post all the dimensions of the case? Total width, height, depth, anything else? Please mention if you have the 108 or 135.

I'll be mounting this in the area of my built-in bookshelves that currently houses several single tubelights and their respective fixtures. I'm trying to figure out if this whole thing will be completely out of sight or not. Also has anyone tried programming the functions of the RF remote with any RF universal remote? (Harmony etc.) And since nobody mentioned, what is the time to full extension?

Thanks! Ya'll Rule.
Viperhawke is offline  
post #48 of 259 Old 12-27-2006, 06:09 AM
Member
 
tmcquitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kammer View Post

Are the mounting brackets that hold the screen adjustable?

The reason I ask is that if I purchase one, I will need to mount it across a couple of beams on my ceiling that will run perpendicular to the screen.

Thanks.

No. It wouldn't be hard to build something that they attach to.

The bracket is an L-bracket. It covers the side and back. There are two screws that mount to the screen. There's a single hole near the top for mounting to the wall.
tmcquitty is offline  
post #49 of 259 Old 12-27-2006, 06:11 AM
Member
 
tmcquitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianaGeorge View Post

I'll start with 3 questions

1. How much drop (inches of black above viewing area) does it have?

2. Is the stop position finely adjustable?

3. How many seconds to come fully down?

thanks,

George

George,

1. It's about 1 1/2 inches on my 108" screen (16:9).

2. The stop is adjustable, but not finely.

3. I didn't time it. I will today.
tmcquitty is offline  
post #50 of 259 Old 12-28-2006, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
Viperhawke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmcquitty View Post

George,

1. It's about 1 1/2 inches on my 108" screen (16:9).

2. The stop is adjustable, but not finely.

3. I didn't time it. I will today.


If you can, would you please measure the outside dimensions of the case and post them on here? That is the only thing stopping me from buying.

I just need the width, height, and depth. Thanks.
Viperhawke is offline  
post #51 of 259 Old 01-01-2007, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmcquitty View Post

George,

1. It's about 1 1/2 inches on my 108" screen (16:9).

2. The stop is adjustable, but not finely.

3. I didn't time it. I will today.

Thanks! I can't understand why they would not provide at least 6-12 inches of drop

-George
IndianaGeorge is offline  
post #52 of 259 Old 01-01-2007, 08:31 PM
Member
 
tmcquitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, here's my pictures of my monoprice screen. I am using King Kong in HD-dvd from an Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive.

They don't quite look as good as in real life.

I had a friend over yesterday and he was amazed.

Thomas

tmcquitty is offline  
post #53 of 259 Old 01-03-2007, 07:28 AM
Member
 
eglinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CT.
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TMCQUITTY,
When you adjust the stop position, do you use the allen head set screws?
Do you experience the screen lowering all the way down... then it goes back up to the set stop position?? I have adjusted my new Mustang screen that way the stop screws on the end of the roller looks just like the picture on Monoprice website
When my screen "goes back up to the set height" it seems to have mor waves than when it just comes down and "I" stop it
eglinski is offline  
post #54 of 259 Old 01-03-2007, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is an idea.

Does anyone know if it would be possible to remove the fabric from, say a 106" Dalite High Power pull-down screen and put it in this electric screen?

That would be a really cheap electric High Power.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
post #55 of 259 Old 01-03-2007, 10:54 AM
Member
 
EocThermos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tmcquitty- is this your first screen, or do you have something to compare it to?
EocThermos is offline  
post #56 of 259 Old 01-03-2007, 03:21 PM
Newbie
 
MyChimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow..that really looks clear....I will have to save up!
MyChimera is offline  
post #57 of 259 Old 01-03-2007, 08:12 PM
Member
 
tmcquitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eglinski View Post

TMCQUITTY,
When you adjust the stop position, do you use the allen head set screws?
Do you experience the screen lowering all the way down... then it goes back up to the set stop position?? I have adjusted my new Mustang screen that way the stop screws on the end of the roller looks just like the picture on Monoprice website
When my screen "goes back up to the set height" it seems to have mor waves than when it just comes down and "I" stop it


I haven't adjusted the stop position. The remote allows you to stop it at any level, but it is not finely adjustable.

I have one wave on the left hand side about 1 foot down from the bottom. It is visible on the last picture.

Those were quick snapshots taken with my dSLR. However, I had to make several adjustments to get the pictures to turn out that "nice". The first batches had the lens open too long or really bad coloring.

It looks much better than the pictures show.
tmcquitty is offline  
post #58 of 259 Old 01-03-2007, 08:19 PM
Member
 
tmcquitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EocThermos View Post

tmcquitty- is this your first screen, or do you have something to compare it to?


It is my first screen. My first projector (not used for HT) was a Mitsubishi DLP. It has been a workhorse (about 500,000 miles on it, as I travel with it).

I have projected onto the wall at my house, but it is a textured wall common in Texas. I didn't like the texture or the color (tan), so I wanted a screen. The price was right ($207, including 50 ft cables- s-video, component, vga). I am going to get an HDMI cable, but right not my dish receiver for that room is not HD. We were supposed to get two VIP622s, but only got one. So that one went to the 62" Mitsubishi DLP TV downstairs.

When I finish up (hopefully this weekend) on the TV components, I will have an Intel Mac Mini with the EyeTV Hybrid recording HDTV pushed through the VGA connection. I have a DVD player with component out for DVDs, when I am not ripping and encoding on the mini. And the XBOX 360 can go back into my office on the Sharp Aquos, which since I dropped cable has nothing going to it.

I want to find a way to get rid of some of that wave on the left side. While it is not critical, when I think about it, it drives me nuts. However, I am like that..
tmcquitty is offline  
post #59 of 259 Old 01-03-2007, 08:22 PM
Member
 
tmcquitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viperhawke View Post

If you can, would you please measure the outside dimensions of the case and post them on here? That is the only thing stopping me from buying.

I just need the width, height, and depth. Thanks.


Viper, I emailed the dimensions to you. If you wouldn't mind, could you post them here. I forgot what I emailed you. Something like 3 1/2, 4, and 106.
tmcquitty is offline  
post #60 of 259 Old 01-04-2007, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
augiedoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Tonawanda NY,
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Itoo was wondering if the 12v trigger on my projector could control this screen..
augiedoggy is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Monoprice , Projection Screens

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off