Carada New Masking System - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 614 Old 10-08-2009, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Samaritano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey Rich don't feel bad, I'm on the same boat. My HT has been 3 years in the making and I'm still not done, hopefully in the next 2 months. I bought all my equipment and so far everything has worked as advertised.
Good luck with your reno, it is looking good.

Edgar
Samaritano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 614 Old 10-08-2009, 04:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samaritano View Post

Hey Rich don't feel bad, I'm on the same boat. My HT has been 3 years in the making and I'm still not done, hopefully in the next 2 months.

Ok, then I don't feel so bad.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Samaritano View Post

I bought all my equipment and so far everything has worked as advertised.

Ok, now I'm bummed again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samaritano View Post

Good luck with your reno, it is looking good.

Thank you. I appreciate it. I think it will be pretty cool in the end.
R Harkness is offline  
post #603 of 614 Old 03-12-2011, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BRAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow!!! This thread sure got quiet in a hurry. Where did everyone go? Certainly, this wonderful masking system deserves more discussion here.

I wanted to stop by and say that I still love my horizontal Masquerade. One of my best theater upgrades ever! Having said that, sadly, I have decided to sell off both my 92" Masquerade and matching MMS screen. I will be going with a much larger AT screen following my current theater expansion. This is in no way a knock on the Masquerade, it just simply doesn't fit with my current plans. Anyone in the great white north who may be interested, PM me for more details.

Regards.
BRAC is offline  
post #604 of 614 Old 03-14-2011, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Jim1921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a Masquerade back in 2008 for my previous home. We relocated to Raleigh and now I am building a new HT. I hope to have enough left in my budget for the Masquerade again, but we will have to see how the budget goes.
Jim1921 is offline  
post #605 of 614 Old 10-16-2011, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beatboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know where to buy a used Carada Masquerade system? I am looking for one for my 110" screen.

Josh

hidefpreview
beatboy77 is offline  
post #606 of 614 Old 02-28-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatboy77 View Post

Does anyone know where to buy a used Carada Masquerade system? I am looking for one for my 110" screen.


Josh

I have one for sale. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #607 of 614 Old 02-28-2014, 08:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatboy77 View Post

Does anyone know where to buy a used Carada Masquerade system? I am looking for one for my 110" screen.


Josh
Is it not available online?

Mike
Mike_WI is offline  
post #608 of 614 Old 02-28-2014, 01:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Not sure... Just letting it out there in case anyone is looking. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #609 of 614 Old 03-02-2014, 10:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Not sure... Just letting it out there in case anyone is looking. smile.gif

Whoah. I thought getting rid of your Masquerade would have been a "out of my cold, dead hands" scenario. Are you going CIH or something?
R Harkness is offline  
post #610 of 614 Old 03-03-2014, 05:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Harkness View Post

Whoah. I thought getting rid of your Masquerade would have been a "out of my cold, dead hands" scenario. Are you going CIH or something?

I just lately have had screen fever which is not bad for me since I have had the same screen since I did the theater. I am going with a 133" Curved 3D screen. Viewing area 65" by 116". Yes, I will miss the cool factor of masking the bars but for awhile now have wished I had a bigger screen. I still love the Masquerade and won't hesitate to recommend it when asked on my site. We are modifying my screen area to fit in the bigger screen. I have already made the entire area look like a black hole with my black velvet treatment. Now a bigger screen is my last key step to making the theater experience as immersive as possible.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #611 of 614 Old 03-03-2014, 05:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Also my older SS would not display 3D correctly so I have had an electric 120" screen for 3D. It will be nice to have one screen do it all and not have to change the projector image size back and forth. Yes, my 1000ES has screen memory positions but now all of them do when I Review others. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #612 of 614 Old 03-03-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 371
joerod,

Well, if ya gotta go bigger, ya gotta go bigger.

116" wide is a decent size for scope movies. I was enjoying Gravity at that size (in 3D,10 to 11ft viewing distance) just last night and it was nice and immersive. Sounds like your 16:9/1:85:1 content will always be huge. Careful what you wish for, given the variability of source material. smile.gif (I go up to about 136" for some 16:9/1:85:1 material that can bear it, but it certainly does stress lower quality sources, some Blu-Rays included).
But, hey, you no doubt have this all calculated well into your decision.

As for masking, I've often felt I'd sooner go to a somewhat cheaper projector and keep my masking, vs give it up.
R Harkness is offline  
post #613 of 614 Old 03-03-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Also my older SS would not display 3D correctly so I have had an electric 120" screen for 3D. It will be nice to have one screen do it all and not have to change the projector image size back and forth. Yes, my 1000ES has screen memory positions but now all of them do when I Review others. smile.gif

Are you talking about a Torus screen?

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #614 of 614 Old 10-04-2014, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
142" Masquerade System

I'm thinking of ordering a 142" BW 1:78.1 MMS Masquerade System for my Sony 40ES projector. I've read completely through this thread and everything sounds very positive. David has answered every single email since I started my quest for a screen back in June. As I write this my drywall is going up in my basement, won't be long now, well I hope not. My screen wall is 151" x 96". This will leave about 7.5" on each side for my speakers and 14" on the bottom for my center speaker. My room is deep so throw and seating distance are what I choose. Does anyone have a 142" Masquerade system? I know this thread is not very active recently, just seeing if there is still interest.

-Tom
Tom899 is offline  
Reply Screens

Tags
Stewart , Criterion Collection , Projection Screens , Dalite

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off