AVS Forum

AVS Forum (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   Screens (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/23-screens/)
-   -   Guidelines for vertical placement of projector? (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/23-screens/961480-guidelines-vertical-placement-projector.html)

Laserfan 12-26-2007 08:07 PM

I can't seem to find any basic rules for "vertical offset from center" placement of a front projector. I know that if the PJ is too far above-or-below screen center that one encounters keystoning, but I've also seen somewhere that you don't want to place the pj dead-center on the screen either, that there should be SOME offset so light isn't reflected directly back into the projector lens.

Does anyone here know any "rules of thumb" in this regard? Is it a matter of trial & error i.e. do I pick height and look for hotspotting or evenness of light at the seating position? Figure an equal angle between center & pj as the seating position TO center?

I'm new at this but want to try to do it right the first time. TIA for any insights.

Laserfan 12-28-2007 07:23 AM

Hmmm, everyone in here has opinions about everything else, but not about this? I guess the "good news" for me is that my pj is in a rack so I can move it up-and-down and see if there are any differences from doing so. Glad I don't have fixed ceiling mount to guess-at!

budwich 12-28-2007 08:04 AM

not sure that about the question that you ask is.... it is somewhat moot, I think.... because most projectors come with a "built in offset".... so "dead center" is probably never going to happen. As a result, you are "dance with what you brung".... some have more, some have less.

saldog78 12-28-2007 04:00 PM

The answer is, there is no answer. Every projector is different; some have fixed offset (so it needs to be mounted a certain percentage above the centerline), and some have vertical lens shift features, so it's adjustable. You can't really figure out where you'll put the projector until you a pick a projector.