RS1 Just Hit 1900 Hours - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 03-25-2008, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lylepdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My RS1 just informed me that I've hit 1900 hours.

I received my RS1 in the first shipment last year and have enjoyed it flawlessly since then (although I had slightly bright corners which have not bothered me while viewing progrtamming).

I watch in hi mode on a 108 inch wide 16:9 Hi Power.

Brightness is still very good ( I can watch sports with the lights on).

I usually leave the PJ on even if I'm not going to be watching for a couple of hours as many have said the lamp striking ages the bulbs more than leaving the PJs on. This also worked well extending the life of my two Vituoso bulbs both past 2000 hours.


As long as the bulb seems stable, are there any risks (like the infamous exploding bulbs of the past) that I need to worry about? Or, do I just keep using it until it becomes unwatchable?

I did a search on lamp life in the RS1's Owner's Thread and in this forum for RS1 lamp life but didn't find much. If I missed a discussion and anyone has a link to it, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks

Don't lose sight of the Big Picture
Lylepdx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 03-25-2008, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lylepdx View Post

My RS1 just informed me that I've hit 1900 hours.

The RS1 is a great projector and really grows on you. But if it starts talking to you the relationship may be going a bit too far.



All kidding aside, that's great news to me. I have a 104" wide HP with the RS1 and a whopping 48 hours on it. It is too bright in low lamp mode so I use an ND filter. I'd imagine I'll be very satisfied with a high hour lamp. The only problem is I'll probably be on the RS5 by that time.
RobZ is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 03-25-2008, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good to know. I am at 1244 hrs in low mode and loving it.

Mr Ian B
Mr Ian B is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 03-25-2008, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool. Well the feared expolding Xenon bulbs don't apply to the RS1 so I think you are OK. I have had a good number of these UHP lamps blow and there never was really any problem.

I had two Xenon bulbs "explode". One at work and one at home. They just made small pop and there was a touch of smoke and that was it. No harm to the projectors (G15s).

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 03-26-2008, 02:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ettepet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I switched lamps recently, but my old (now spare) lamp was doing fine at 1824 hours. Always left it on for hours on end.

Did have it flicker a bit around 1000 hours, which disappeared within 200 hours of usage. My "solution" was to leave the pj on longer (10 hours or so) a couple of times. Not sure if that is what solved the flickering as I had only the one lamp to try it on.
Ettepet is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 03-26-2008, 02:18 AM
Member
 
kaydee6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any shading error on low ire as the lamp age? Mine has a green corner only recently and my lamp hr is at 235 only
kaydee6 is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 03-26-2008, 02:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ettepet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaydee6 View Post

Any shading error on low ire as the lamp age? Mine has a green corner only recently and my lamp hr is at 235 only

I have seen none sofar, at least not on my 100" screen (Carada BW 16x9, HD1 on short throw, non-"bat cave", normal lamp mode).

I do vaguely see 1 fairly large green, 1 smaller blue and 1 small (slightly) red spot on the lens cap if the cap is still on.

Apart from the brightness nothing changed afaik.
Ettepet is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 03-26-2008, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lylepdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to hear I don't have to worry about an exploding lamp!

As to color uniformity, shading, etc.... the picture remains very watchable.

I have owned front projectors since 1991 and the JVC RS1 is so far superior to what I have owned or to what else was available until only recently that I will not let myself get caught up in its short comings.

Don't lose sight of the Big Picture
Lylepdx is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 03-26-2008, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See no evil. Hear no evil.

Probably a good philosophy in the AV world.

I'm glad it is working out for you. The RS1 is awesome!!!

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 03-26-2008, 04:24 PM
 
AVSRichard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need some bumper stickers and route signs on it!

Richard
AVSRichard is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 03-27-2008, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
glenned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just replaced my RS1's original lamp. It had about 3055 hours on it. It was getting a little dim. I have a 123"d Firehawk screen.

Glenn
glenned is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 03-28-2008, 01:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenned View Post

I just replaced my RS1's original lamp. It had about 3055 hours on it. It was getting a little dim. I have a 123"d Firehawk screen.

Glenn

Amazing, I would be please to get even 2000

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 04-15-2008, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
rdalcanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just changed my lamp as well. I can't get the timer reset to work, and I followed the manual as far as I can tell. Any tips?
Thanks!
rdalcanto is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 04-15-2008, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdalcanto View Post

I just changed my lamp as well. I can't get the timer reset to work, and I followed the manual as far as I can tell. Any tips?
Thanks!

Projector has to be on. At least that's the only way I could get it to work. I just replaced my bulb with 1023 hours. Now the new bulb is too bright! I should have waited longer. Some aspects of the picture do look better. I was watching a movie with a night scene and the headlights on a car looke much more realistic with the new bulb. The combination of high native contrast ratio with the brightness of the RS1 produces some of the most realistic night scenes.

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 04-15-2008, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenned View Post

I just replaced my RS1's original lamp. It had about 3055 hours on it. It was getting a little dim. I have a 123"d Firehawk screen.

Glenn

WOW....
SJHT is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 04-15-2008, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
rdalcanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post

Projector has to be on. At least that's the only way I could get it to work.

Did you use the remote, or the buttons on the top?
rdalcanto is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 04-16-2008, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdalcanto View Post

Did you use the remote, or the buttons on the top?

Remote. I followed the direction in the manual which neglect to mention that the projector should be on. "After pulling my hair out", I turned it on and then followed the direction. The screen goes blank after it's done and then you hit the hid button and the menu reappears. The timer is then reset to zero if you check.

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 04-16-2008, 11:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Hughman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've changed lamps twice now and on both occasions resetted using PJ buttons with it off, no problems either time.
Hughman is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 04-16-2008, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Marcel W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdalcanto View Post

I just changed my lamp as well. I can't get the timer reset to work, and I followed the manual as far as I can tell. Any tips?
Thanks!

It's also important to hit the buttons really, really fast. The sequence has to be done within 1, maybe 1.5 seconds, otherwise nothing happens.
Marcel W is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 04-16-2008, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
rdalcanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel W View Post

It's also important to hit the buttons really, really fast. The sequence has to be done within 1, maybe 1.5 seconds, otherwise nothing happens.

That must be the problem. I am pushing slow and deliberate. I will try fast....
rdalcanto is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off