The "official" Panasonic PT-AE3000 calibration thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eskimo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to get this started - this is my first PJ, and there are certainly PLENTY of adjustments available to screw everything up..er, optimize the image..

What's worked for you?

No replacement for displacement...
Eskimo1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu Pedaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Big Lake, MN
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So far, just planning on a minor box cutter calibration to remove cardboard and packing material when it arrives this afternoon. That should really increase my brightness.

Edit: Ok, the boxcutter tweak has really opened up the light path between the PJ and screen, but hasn't shown me much so far. I think I'm going to have to try messing with the outlet settings and plug it in.

In all seriousness, I have the mount hung, cut a hole in the drywall, and fished my HDMI through. I need to run to the hardware store to get a plug end for the end of my fancy romex extension cord, a remodel circle box thing, and then a circle box thing blank cover which I will drill to fit my cords. Then we'll be able to see what it does for me.

And then...
Stu Pedaso is offline  
post #3 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Texas steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houoston Tx
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eskimo1 View Post

Just wanted to get this started - this is my first PJ, and there are certainly PLENTY of adjustments available to screw everything up..er, optimize the image..

What's worked for you?


Mine just shipped yesterday and should have it friday!!!!!

Texas Steve
Texas steve is offline  
post #4 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Somebody on this forum once said that any projector that has a calibration thread is not a good projector out of the box.

All projectors, even in a given model, will not have the same settings to yield the same picture quality.
kevivoe is offline  
post #5 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Pannys are usually known to be good out of the box compared to other manufacturers. Hope just a little tweaking will be enough.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #6 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
kendo70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Or planning to use when you get it?

Assuming they are pretty good out of the box, setting a picture mode might be the only "calibration" initially required.
kendo70433 is online now  
post #7 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 12:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Jason Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 12,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an offer...I will pick up shipping both ways for anyone who wants to send me their Panasonic...I want to review it and such. Obviously it would get calibrated properly while here.

My supplier is WAY behind in getting me one.

Anyone interested contact me.
Jason Turk is offline  
post #8 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eskimo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jason - I think I will take you up on that!

Drop me a PM.. how long will you need it?

It'll be here Thursday or Friday. I can ship it out Monday.

No replacement for displacement...
Eskimo1 is offline  
post #9 of 53 Old 10-28-2008, 05:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Jason Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 12,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Already got a taker. I should have it Monday so expect a review by Tuesday.
Jason Turk is offline  
post #10 of 53 Old 10-29-2008, 12:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Can anyone post or PM me the service menu access commands for the AE3000?

Thanks

RJ
...

XBL GT: xX ShadowAxx Xx 

PSN ID: Bytehoven

Battle Log: Bytehoven  

Bytehoven is offline  
post #11 of 53 Old 10-29-2008, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
ferbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Bytehoven
Read my reply on post #10 here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1079149
ferbal is online now  
post #12 of 53 Old 10-29-2008, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
got it. Thanks

XBL GT: xX ShadowAxx Xx 

PSN ID: Bytehoven

Battle Log: Bytehoven  

Bytehoven is offline  
post #13 of 53 Old 10-31-2008, 04:24 PM
Member
 
AWBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What mode is everyone using out of the box?

And off of that point: for watching blu-ray in a completely light controlled room, what mode should I use to calibrate the machine.
AWBoy is offline  
post #14 of 53 Old 10-31-2008, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I'm using Cinema 2 as it looks the most accurate to me for color and greyscale. Normal looks nice & punchy however. Colors don't look off, so Normal may be good for low gain screens.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #15 of 53 Old 10-31-2008, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kenrosencpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me know if I need to upgrade my AE2000
Kenrosencpa is offline  
post #16 of 53 Old 10-31-2008, 08:08 PM
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenrosencpa View Post

Let me know if I need to upgrade my AE2000

Just sold my 2000U in the classified here on AVS...Trust me! Get the 3000U It is well worth it. Much better blacks and the frame creation is awesome...I honestly can't frickin believe how good it looks!...1080i on Directv looks like 1080P I swear!...Upgrade, you won't look back!... Anyone in the Atlanta Georgia area is welcome to come see this thing at my home...Just PM me.
dogone is offline  
post #17 of 53 Old 11-04-2008, 07:44 PM
Member
 
n171n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Turk View Post

Already got a taker. I should have it Monday so expect a review by Tuesday.


Jason, any updates/settings to report?

thanks!
n171n is offline  
post #18 of 53 Old 11-04-2008, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
conradjohnsonfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the lip sync issue with frame creation turned on?

Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by dogone View Post

Just sold my 2000U in the classified here on AVS...Trust me! Get the 3000U It is well worth it. Much better blacks and the frame creation is awesome...I honestly can't frickin believe how good it looks!...1080i on Directv looks like 1080P I swear!...Upgrade, you won't look back!... Anyone in the Atlanta Georgia area is welcome to come see this thing at my home...Just PM me.

conradjohnsonfan is offline  
post #19 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 04:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eskimo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by conradjohnsonfan View Post

How is the lip sync issue with frame creation turned on?

Thanks

What "issue" do you speak of? Is there going to be delay needed? Yes. I've got ~100ms dialed in on my AVR for that.

That's not an issue, that's a fact of life..

Gaming with FC turned off, however, I notice no lag.

No replacement for displacement...
Eskimo1 is offline  
post #20 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I find Normal the only mode I can watch....Is that just me?

It could be due to the 400 lumen drop from my ax-200.
aquafire is offline  
post #21 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 05:32 PM
Member
 
BrandonH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Normal looks pretty bad to me, Color1 and Cinema1 are the only ones I like. I just plugged Art's Cinema1 settings into mine and I think it looks pretty good- pretty similar to how I had my Color1 configured. I'm coming from a Sayno Z4 with 1700 hours on the bulb, so even Color1 or Cinema1 with the bulb set to Eco is brighter then my old projector.
BrandonH
BrandonH is offline  
post #22 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found them in his review. Ok ill try that.
aquafire is offline  
post #23 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
logain2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquafire View Post

I find Normal the only mode I can watch....Is that just me?

It could be due to the 400 lumen drop from my ax-200.


I agree, once you have the high lumes of the ax200/100 it is really hard to watch ay mode except normal.

Maybe it is just me. I am a little disapoited that it wasn't a little more bright. but dyamic mode durig the day for games works good.

I am concered about how this will look once the bulb dims

Stephen
logain2000 is offline  
post #24 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes agreed. It is a dim projector on my big screen. I was very shocked to read this in Art's review:

3000 VS 1080UB
The Epson is slightly brighter (roughly 15%) in best mode, and significantly brighter in its brightest mode (by almost 50%) giving it an advantage for those wanting larger screens. The Epson was the lower cost king of black level performance, and while the Panasonic claims higher contrast, the Epson still has a slight advantage in this department.
aquafire is offline  
post #25 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 05:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
JimmyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Runco Island CA.
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What size and type (gain if any) screen are you using ?

Quote:


aquafire: Yes agreed. It is a dim projector on my big screen

JimmyR is offline  
post #26 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phifer Sheer Weave 4500- 1.15 gain.

139" wide 2.35:1
aquafire is offline  
post #27 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 06:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
JimmyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Runco Island CA.
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquafire View Post

Phifer Sheer Weave 4500- 1.15 gain.

139" wide 2.35:1

Wow, that screen is sure pushing it for the Panosonic. MY scope HiPower is 10' wide at 19' throw. When I had the 3000 I felt 10' wide was just about the size limit for screen adaquate brightness when in Cinama mode at 6500k.
JimmyR is offline  
post #28 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya Cinema is way too dim. How does epson have 50% more brightness with the same Lumen rating????
aquafire is offline  
post #29 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 06:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
JimmyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Runco Island CA.
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquafire View Post

Ya Cinema is way too dim. How does epson have 50% more brightness with the same Lumen rating????

Maybe I'm not seeing everything posted or understanding what your saying. That makes no sense at all.
JimmyR is offline  
post #30 of 53 Old 11-05-2008, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
conradjohnsonfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is what I was asking. You don't have to be a smart ass about it. I wrote that sentence hurriedly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eskimo1 View Post

What "issue" do you speak of? Is there going to be delay needed? Yes. I've got ~100ms dialed in on my AVR for that.

That's not an issue, that's a fact of life..

Gaming with FC turned off, however, I notice no lag.

conradjohnsonfan is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off