Official epson 6500ub owners thread - Page 144 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 4382 Old 01-10-2012, 12:43 AM
Newbie
 
stimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have any question where buy used Epson 6500UB besides ebay? thanks.
stimer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 4382 Old 01-10-2012, 12:54 AM
Member
 
markmarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by isingh View Post

You mean 5010 ?

Yes 5010, sorry.

I'm leaning toward the 8700ub. Supposedly better on SD dvds, of which I have thousands.
markmarz is offline  
post #4293 of 4382 Old 01-10-2012, 01:25 AM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will I have to do anything to activate the 2 year, next day replacement warranty, or is it simply a matter of keeping my receipt?

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #4294 of 4382 Old 01-10-2012, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
isingh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

Will I have to do anything to activate the 2 year, next day replacement warranty, or is it simply a matter of keeping my receipt?

EPSON definitely will ask for proof of purchasing so definitely save that. You can register your product also. In my case I had to call tech support the very next day of receiving the pj and the cust rep asked me to send him the proof of purchase.
isingh is offline  
post #4295 of 4382 Old 01-10-2012, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
domingos38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by stimer View Post

Hello, I have any question where buy used Epson 6500UB besides ebay? thanks.

theres no more refurbed 6500UB's
not even on ebay
domingos38 is offline  
post #4296 of 4382 Old 01-10-2012, 03:19 PM
Member
 
markmarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by domingos38 View Post

theres no more refurbed 6500UB's
not even on ebay

Well, isingh told us about this a few posts back:

EPSON has its refurb 6500ub from its site though they have for 1599:

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/c...s&oid=63085486 Personally I bit the bullet and ordered an 8700UB, also via the link to B&H kindly supplied by isingh.
markmarz is offline  
post #4297 of 4382 Old 01-11-2012, 10:32 PM
Member
 
bigdrummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I received my 6500ub today, and everything is working great! I'm projecting a 127" image on my wall, and it looks incredible! I love the lens shift. It makes it so much easier to get everything lined up just right. Well, back to it!

Joe
bigdrummy is offline  
post #4298 of 4382 Old 01-14-2012, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oh well, so much for my new 6500 refurb. Didn't even last 8 calendar days (about 5-6 total hours in 4-5 day's use) before it went into protection mode (red flashing lights). I've run my 8100 in the same location for just under two years and had no issues whatsoever. It's definitely not an environment (no changes to equipment/setup nor a heat issue, room was about 69 degrees and I'd only been running it about an hour this morning when it went into this mode.

Pretty sure it is iris related, it's been terribly noisy since I fired it up. Tried calling Epson earlier with my PrivateLine number and the rep I spoke with said I will want to go through my reseller (Visual Apex). Not sure he had a good bead on things, but I thought I could deal directly w/them seeing how it has the same warranty coverage as a brand new unit (Epson 2yr parts & labor, 90 days on lamp warranty)?

Now I'll have to wait until Monday, possibly Tuesday due to MLK day to get it back for repair. Serious bummer before the games today/tonight/tomorrow, but fortuntately I kept my 8100 for just such an emergency... -TD
tomd51 is offline  
post #4299 of 4382 Old 01-14-2012, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
isingh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomd51 View Post

Oh well, so much for my new 6500 refurb. Didn't even last 8 calendar days (about 5-6 total hours in 4-5 day's use) before it went into protection mode (red flashing lights). I've run my 8100 in the same location for just under two years and had no issues whatsoever. It's definitely not an environment (no changes to equipment/setup nor a heat issue, room was about 69 degrees and I'd only been running it about an hour this morning when it went into this mode.

Pretty sure it is iris related, it's been terribly noisy since I fired it up. Tried calling Epson earlier with my PrivateLine number and the rep I spoke with said I will want to go through my reseller (Visual Apex). Not sure he had a good bead on things, but I thought I could deal directly w/them seeing how it has the same warranty coverage as a brand new unit (Epson 2yr parts & labor, 90 days on lamp warranty)?

Now I'll have to wait until Monday, possibly Tuesday due to MLK day to get it back for repair. Serious bummer before the games today/tonight/tomorrow, but fortuntately I kept my 8100 for just such an emergency... -TD

Try again and talk to someone else, send them your VA receipt and they will know what to do ?
isingh is offline  
post #4300 of 4382 Old 01-14-2012, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm not too worried about being covered, VA is an authorized reseller and Epson has a very good track record about backing their stuff. It's just a pain I will have to wait until Monday or possibly Tuesday to get the ball rolling.

I wouldn't be able to ship the unit out until Monday at the earliest anyway, just the angst of wanting to get it fixed sooner than later... -TD
tomd51 is offline  
post #4301 of 4382 Old 02-19-2012, 09:34 PM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally installed my refurbished 6500ub bought from Visual Apex last month. I couldn't be happier! Aside from calibration (I can see a faint shift to pink, which no one else noticed) and should be easily correctible, it's wonderful.

Using a 96" Carada precision CCW 1.0 gain screen.

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #4302 of 4382 Old 02-24-2012, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
theshadow1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm selling my 6500UB with 1100 or so hours.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/vbcla...do=ad&id=17077



Thanks.
theshadow1234 is offline  
post #4303 of 4382 Old 03-01-2012, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Nazir007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just bought a pre-owned TW5000 Epson.

Is there anything like the optimal distance of the projector from the screen?

I am curious whether Epson recommends some distance to get the best possible picture quality. What zoom's ratio is recommended to achieve the best picture not too bright and not too dark

I will be very grateful for any help

Best Regards

Tomasz
Nazir007 is offline  
post #4304 of 4382 Old 03-03-2012, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
theshadow1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok Guys.

I just lowered my price for my used 6500UB. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/vbcla...do=ad&id=17077

If interested let me know.

Thanks.
theshadow1234 is offline  
post #4305 of 4382 Old 03-07-2012, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Nazir007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello
I have a big problem connected with establishing appropriate distance between projector and the screen.

I have used the manufacture’s calculator to get the distance appropriate to my desired screen size 106”. Epson calculations showed me 3,16m. When I extended the distance ( in the calculator) the screen size becomes bigger 136”. I thought that I will be able to adjust the size with zoom feature.

However, one advisor from Epson (credible??) told me that I shouldn’t modify this given distance more than +/- 10 cm.

Therefore, if I wanted to have my 6500UB/7500UB/TW5000 placed at about 4,1m I would lose some of the thrown picture and possibly a little picture quality.

According to the advisor you cannot zoom it so much as to retain all the picture obtained at 4,1m distance.

Please comment on this.
Does it really make sense.
I will be very grateful for any answer/ help
Best Regards
Nazir007 is offline  
post #4306 of 4382 Old 03-13-2012, 12:44 AM
Member
 
Nazir007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone please help me?
Nazir007 is offline  
post #4307 of 4382 Old 03-13-2012, 12:58 AM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazir007 View Post

Can anyone please help me?

It's true, that if you are farther away from the screen, you can loose as much as 40% of the brightness. The 6500 puts out lots of lumens! Although they say you should project from about the midpoint, I wouldn't worry too much about it. I think the Epson service provider was making a mountain out of a mole hill, but it's late, and I may have misread your question.

Good luck!

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #4308 of 4382 Old 03-15-2012, 10:02 AM
Member
 
batutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Psst. For the canadians out there, epson canada has the 6500ub and 1080ub refurbs in stock.
batutta is offline  
post #4309 of 4382 Old 03-15-2012, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazir007 View Post

Hello
I have a big problem connected with establishing appropriate distance between projector and the screen.

I have used the manufacture's calculator to get the distance appropriate to my desired screen size 106. Epson calculations showed me 3,16m. When I extended the distance ( in the calculator) the screen size becomes bigger 136. I thought that I will be able to adjust the size with zoom feature.

However, one advisor from Epson (credible??) told me that I shouldn't modify this given distance more than +/- 10 cm.

Therefore, if I wanted to have my 6500UB/7500UB/TW5000 placed at about 4,1m I would lose some of the thrown picture and possibly a little picture quality.

According to the advisor you cannot zoom it so much as to retain all the picture obtained at 4,1m distance.

Please comment on this.
Does it really make sense.
I will be very grateful for any answer/ help
Best Regards

The EPSON service guy is crazy, sorry!
toofast68 is online now  
post #4310 of 4382 Old 03-15-2012, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by batutta View Post

Psst. For the canadians out there, epson canada has the 6500ub and 1080ub refurbs in stock.

Looks like they're available for those in the US as well (1080 for $799, 6500 or 8350 for $999 and 8500 for $1,699):

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/B...yes&oid=-13264
tomd51 is offline  
post #4311 of 4382 Old 03-15-2012, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
cbaseuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

Finally installed my refurbished 6500ub bought from Visual Apex last month. I couldn't be happier! Aside from calibration (I can see a faint shift to pink, which no one else noticed) and should be easily correctible, it's wonderful.

Using a 96" Carada precision CCW 1.0 gain screen.

What calibration controls would change screen uniformity? I only know of RGB cuts and gain for white balance and RGBCYM for gamut - it sounds like you're talking about a uniformity issue.
cbaseuser is offline  
post #4312 of 4382 Old 03-15-2012, 02:47 PM
Member
 
batutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomd51 View Post

Looks like they're available for those in the US as well (1080 for $799, 6500 or 8350 for $999 and 8500 for $1,699):

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/B...yes&oid=-13264

Well after having a horrid time trying to order one of these and having my order cancelled twice and dealing with an indian call center, Epson just lost a customer.
batutta is offline  
post #4313 of 4382 Old 03-16-2012, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Nazir007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

It's true, that if you are farther away from the screen, you can loose as much as 40% of the brightness. The 6500 puts out lots of lumens! Although they say you should project from about the midpoint, I wouldn't worry too much about it. I think the Epson service provider was making a mountain out of a mole hill, but it's late, and I may have misread your question.

Good luck!

Thank you for your reply.

I am going to install a 106" gray screen with gain of 0,8.

Is the distance of about 4,15 m too much for this screen to make the best possible contrast?

Thanks in advance for any comments.
Nazir007 is offline  
post #4314 of 4382 Old 03-16-2012, 05:17 PM
Member
 
batutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by batutta View Post

Well after having a horrid time trying to order one of these and having my order cancelled twice and dealing with an indian call center, Epson just lost a customer.

Update; Epson straightened out the problem and my 6500ub is on its way. Here's hoping I get a unit with good convergence!
batutta is offline  
post #4315 of 4382 Old 03-22-2012, 03:20 AM
Member
 
batutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well, the first time I turned on the projector I was thrilled. Gorgeous picture. Great blacks. Convergence looked great. I was a happy man. Second time I turned on the projector...I GOT THE WAVY RED LINES!!!! Guess it's going back to Epson.
batutta is offline  
post #4316 of 4382 Old 03-26-2012, 02:48 PM
Member
 
batutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
And now looking at my second 6500ub. So far, so good. I think the previous unit had slightly better convergence, as mine goes out slightly at the far, far left, but the iris in this unit is much quieter. I almost can't hear it. The previous unit was always grinding away loudly. Anyway, put up my new HC GRAY screen, fired up Avatar and am blown away by the image. Blacks are nearly black. Colors nice and rich. Excellent sharpness. I know people say DLP is more film-like, but I can't tell much difference between the two, at least on this unit. And no rainbows (I am slightly sensitive to them). The shot in Avatar where the spaceship approaches pandora looked so three dimensional I almost felt like ducking as it soared overhead...Now it's time to finish assembling my theater.
batutta is offline  
post #4317 of 4382 Old 03-26-2012, 08:45 PM
Member
 
bigdrummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazir007 View Post

Thank you for your reply.

I am going to install a 106" gray screen with gain of 0,8.

Is the distance of about 4,15 m too much for this screen to make the best possible contrast?

Thanks in advance for any comments.

I have my 6500ub about 13' from the screen, projecting a 127" image, with the zoom set as large as it will go, and I have it on the low lamp setting. I did a 'self calibration' with the Spears & Munsil BD, and I have the room draped in flat black all around. It looks absolutely glorious. This projector is extremely versatile. Relax.

Joe
bigdrummy is offline  
post #4318 of 4382 Old 03-27-2012, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
3 years late to the party, but I just found a refurb 6500ub straight from Epson (they pop up from time to time). Should be here in a week or so. I'm really looking forward to enjoying the picture quality that I've reading about for so long.

This will be my first foray into front projection (new house has basement, yay!). Been wanting a true HT for years and can finally make it happen.

EDIT: ARGH...Epson cancelled my 6500ub order because I put the the wrong phone # in (home vs cell). I couldn't remember which one was 'official' on my bank. Doesn't matter that the charge went through ok and is pending. They still cancelled, and now it is out of stock again!

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #4319 of 4382 Old 03-27-2012, 12:48 PM
Phi
Member
 
Phi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batutta View Post

Well after having a horrid time trying to order one of these and having my order cancelled twice and dealing with an indian call center, Epson just lost a customer.

I'm having a heck of a time trying to order the projector from Epson. I've had 4 orders canceled. How did you get your order straightened out?
Phi is offline  
post #4320 of 4382 Old 03-27-2012, 03:47 PM
Member
 
batutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phi View Post

I'm having a heck of a time trying to order the projector from Epson. I've had 4 orders canceled. How did you get your order straightened out?

Well the problem was that they were saying my credit card address did not match the shipping address, which I double-checked and it did. So I tried again thinking it was a typo. Finally, in hassling them to take the pre-authorization off my card (which they said could take ten days!!!) I got them and the credit card company on the phone together to confirm the address and finally was able to make my order. Took several hours of hassling phone calls though. The first several people it was obvious I was talking to someone in an Indian call center. The last guy I got, who sorted out my problem, sounded North American. Not making it a racial issue, just saying the first people seemed uninvested. The last one sounded like he worked for the actual company.
batutta is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Lamp Powerlite Hc 6100 Hc6500ub
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off