JVC-HD1 --> How To Reset to Default Settings? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-28-2009, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
penguin killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've been messing with my JVC-HD1 and now it's in a state where I'm not sure if I really like the picture. I followed some of the RS-1 calibration settings that folks recommend, but I want to compare that now with the out of the box picture I had. Does anyone know if there's a way to reset the projector to it's default settings?

A second question I have is that appears that I have a bit of a ghosted image, particularly on SD content. I've tried changing the focus to see if that would help, but it doesn't look like it does. I didn't notice the difference until recently, so I'm wondering if some of the settings I changes actually caused this.

Appreciate any help here.

Thanks,
Sean
penguin killer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-28-2009, 04:29 PM
hrd
AVS Special Member
 
hrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin killer View Post

I've been messing with my JVC-HD1 and now it's in a state where I'm not sure if I really like the picture. I followed some of the RS-1 calibration settings that folks recommend, but I want to compare that now with the out of the box picture I had. Does anyone know if there's a way to reset the projector to it's default settings?

A second question I have is that appears that I have a bit of a ghosted image, particularly on SD content. I've tried changing the focus to see if that would help, but it doesn't look like it does. I didn't notice the difference until recently, so I'm wondering if some of the settings I changes actually caused this.

Appreciate any help here.

Thanks,
Sean

Do you know how to get into the service menu? The RS20 has a reset option in the service menu. I would not be surprised if the RS1 does as well.
hrd is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-28-2009, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
penguin killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrd View Post

Do you know how to get into the service menu? The RS20 has a reset option in the service menu. I would not be surprised if the RS1 does as well.

No, I don't. I think I found a pdf file for installing an update of the firmware that indicated you press up down left right enter really quick. Is that correct?
penguin killer is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-29-2009, 03:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherardp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See post 1 for service menu access
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=813550

Click the link to see pics of my home theater

http://s450.photobucket.com/albums/q...oom/?start=all
Sherardp is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-29-2009, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
penguin killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherardp View Post

See post 1 for service menu access
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=813550

Got it. Did it last night. Worked like a charm.
penguin killer is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-30-2009, 06:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Jason Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 12,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How did it compare to your settings?
Jason Turk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off