Epson Calibration Guide! (1080, 1080UB, 6100, 6500UB, 7500UB) - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 742 Old 12-05-2013, 07:03 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereomandan View Post

Glad to help. Sorry I don't have any reference calibrations for a 6100.

I would be interested to know how the latest Epson's behave with the current CMS system.

Dan
Dan,
My 6500 died and I bought a 5010, when this was the current model. With 0 hrs on the lamp the calibration was very close right out of the box (I use Dynamic exclusively, as I can't notice the "green" issues in normal content and I like the extra lumens). It is quite a bit brighter than the 6500 (I'm getting over 1000 lumens after calibration @ about 16' from my 120' diag screen).

I was touching up the calibration every 100 hours until 300 hours and there were very little changes needed. I waited until 500 hours and between 300 and 500 something drastically changed. I had to significantly change brightness (black level shot way up to dark gray) and increase contrast (white level was very low). Also had to do a lot more work to get the gamma curve flat, but this was probably due to such a change of the white levels.

One thing that I have noticed is that the light output of this projector is not deteriorating at the rate of my 6500. Don't know if it is this particular bulb or the new bulb that Epson is using (I think it is a 230 watt bulb now, 6500 was a 200 watt bulb), but I have more confidence that over 1000 hours is not easily possible. I had bulbs dying in the 800 hour range on my 6500 (I think I had 3 go).

Hope this helps, as I think the 5020, and 5030 are just refinements of the 5010, so hopefully they will behave similarily.

It was quite an improvement over the 6500. I have since added a Darbee, which I really like, but of course turn off when calibrating.
Knd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 742 Old 12-05-2013, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stereomandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post

Dan,
My 6500 died and I bought a 5010, when this was the current model. With 0 hrs on the lamp the calibration was very close right out of the box (I use Dynamic exclusively, as I can't notice the "green" issues in normal content and I like the extra lumens). It is quite a bit brighter than the 6500 (I'm getting over 1000 lumens after calibration @ about 16' from my 120' diag screen).

I was touching up the calibration every 100 hours until 300 hours and there were very little changes needed. I waited until 500 hours and between 300 and 500 something drastically changed. I had to significantly change brightness (black level shot way up to dark gray) and increase contrast (white level was very low). Also had to do a lot more work to get the gamma curve flat, but this was probably due to such a change of the white levels.

One thing that I have noticed is that the light output of this projector is not deteriorating at the rate of my 6500. Don't know if it is this particular bulb or the new bulb that Epson is using (I think it is a 230 watt bulb now, 6500 was a 200 watt bulb), but I have more confidence that over 1000 hours is not easily possible. I had bulbs dying in the 800 hour range on my 6500 (I think I had 3 go).

Hope this helps, as I think the 5020, and 5030 are just refinements of the 5010, so hopefully they will behave similarily.

It was quite an improvement over the 6500. I have since added a Darbee, which I really like, but of course turn off when calibrating.

Excellent information KND! Thank you.

How is the color saturation tracking on the 5010? Does it track well? That would be great if Epson fixed their CMS system to work properly when calibrating.

Does it have the same issues as the some of the previous Epson models? (If you turn down the color saturation to reign in the 100% saturation points, the 75%, 50% and 25% points become way undersaturated)

Dan
stereomandan is offline  
post #723 of 742 Old 12-05-2013, 09:23 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereomandan View Post

Excellent information KND! Thank you.

How is the color saturation tracking on the 5010? Does it track well? That would be great if Epson fixed their CMS system to work properly when calibrating.

Does it have the same issues as the some of the previous Epson models? (If you turn down the color saturation to reign in the 100% saturation points, the 75%, 50% and 25% points become way undersaturated)

Dan

Dan

From my experience the same problem exists as with earlier models, but I have to confess, I always use the 75% points so I haven't done the 100% and then checked 25%, 50%, and 75%, but by calibrating 75%, the 25% and 50% are quite close, with the 100% outside the triangle for R, G, and B. I think the secondary colors were much closer to their proper location.
Knd is offline  
post #724 of 742 Old 12-05-2013, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stereomandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks Knd. That's what I expected, but there's always hope! smile.gif

At least they are much better out of the box now, and the extra brightness is always a big benefit.

Dan
stereomandan is offline  
post #725 of 742 Old 01-13-2014, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Hi Dan,

I've used this guide successfully in the past on several projectors.

I am now trying to calibrate a Sharp LED TV, can I still use this method for this particular display type?

Should I use field or window pattern? And still 75% saturation? Not 100% saturation?

Thanks much!
smokarz is offline  
post #726 of 742 Old 01-13-2014, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 80
So following this guide, I tried it on my Sharp LED.

I am able to adjust RED, BLUE, GREEN, and YELLOW.

However, I can't not get anywhere close for CYAN and MAGENTA.

On CYAN, I get the yellow bar down to 43 (no where close to 24 according to spreadsheet) before the RBG levels reading disappear on HCFR.

For Magenta, I can get the the Green bar down to 41 (match spreadsheet) but I can not use HUE to get the RED and BLUE bars to match. RED is 250 and BLUE is 230. If I adjust any further, the RGB level readings disappear.

I am not sure if this is a fault with my meter (i1D3), HCFR, or the TV.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
smokarz is offline  
post #727 of 742 Old 01-15-2014, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stereomandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Re your first post: I use the window patterns at 75% saturation for the first pass calibration on all my displays.

Regarding your issue with the cyan and magenta. Try adjusting your main color and/or tint control. These tend to have a global effect on all colors and may allow you to find a happy middle ground that gets you into the range where you can then use the finer controls for the primary and secondary colors within the adjustment range.

Dan
stereomandan is offline  
post #728 of 742 Old 01-15-2014, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Thanks for the reply Dan..

I current have my Color and Tint set at 0. What would you reccomend as a good start for Color/Tint settings given my issue above?
smokarz is offline  
post #729 of 742 Old 02-19-2014, 04:27 AM
Newbie
 
btekcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

I'll calibrate my Epson 9100W projector and I have a CineTensioned curtain. I bought X-Rite EODIS3 i1Display Pro model I read also 1st page, but I cannot find calibrator distance from the curtain. Anybody knows this point ?

Regards
btekcan is offline  
post #730 of 742 Old 02-19-2014, 07:25 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
In the attached the author suggests putting the sensor 3"-4" away from the screen. I usually calibrate with my sensor farther away. I place a tripod leg perpendicular against the wall holding the screen and then adust the height and angle to get maximum light readings. So I'm guessing my method is about 12 to 18 inches away.

http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=
Knd is offline  
post #731 of 742 Old 05-15-2014, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Has anyone calibrated a JVC with this method?
Holiday121 is offline  
post #732 of 742 Old 07-25-2014, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
orion2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereomandan View Post
Re your first post: I use the window patterns at 75% saturation for the first pass calibration on all my displays.
Dan, firstly, thanks for such an excellent guide. However, I am extremely confused at the moment. I am using the latest version of HCFR and I noticed that the saturation targets for 75, 50 and 25% as shown on the CIE chart in HCFR are different from those in your Excel sheet. To me, it appears that the HCFR targets are perhaps incorrect. The reason I say this is that when I use my CMS to align primaries and secondaries to the 100% saturation targets for Rec709, the 75% values that I measure are very close to your targets according to your Excel file. I don't know if I have something incorrect checked in my HCFR settings, but I could really use some help to determine why the two sets of targets don't match.

Thanks a lot!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HCFR_75_Sat_Target.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	180618   Click image for larger version

Name:	Predicted_75_Sat_Targets.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	180626  
orion2001 is offline  
post #733 of 742 Old 12-01-2014, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Basstrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Does anyone know how to restore the images to post #1 on this thread?

Vizio M652i-B2....................HCFR 3.3.1
Vizio E600i-B3.....................i1 Display Pro
Sharp LC-70C8470U............ControlCAL Elite X5 Edition v2
Onkyo TX-SR606.................AVSHD-709
PS-3
Homegrown HTPC
Basstrix is offline  
post #734 of 742 Old 12-07-2014, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
curtlots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northeast WI
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstrix View Post
Does anyone know how to restore the images to post #1 on this thread?
I'm wondering the same. Such an excellent guide, but the photos would go a long way to helping a newbie like myself.
curtlots is offline  
post #735 of 742 Old 12-16-2014, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stereomandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstrix View Post
Does anyone know how to restore the images to post #1 on this thread?
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtlots View Post
I'm wondering the same. Such an excellent guide, but the photos would go a long way to helping a newbie like myself.
Sorry about that guys. I switched ISP's a while back and looks like they finally deleted my old files.

Anyone know a good free site that I can use to load these photos onto and allows them to be hotlinked to threads like this?

Thanks,
Dan
stereomandan is offline  
post #736 of 742 Old 12-16-2014, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Basstrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereomandan View Post
Sorry about that guys. I switched ISP's a while back and looks like they finally deleted my old files.

Anyone know a good free site that I can use to load these photos onto and allows them to be hotlinked to threads like this?

Thanks,
Dan
Dan,


I use photobucket. I just logged in there and it looks to still be free.


Thanks for the reply,
Brian

Vizio M652i-B2....................HCFR 3.3.1
Vizio E600i-B3.....................i1 Display Pro
Sharp LC-70C8470U............ControlCAL Elite X5 Edition v2
Onkyo TX-SR606.................AVSHD-709
PS-3
Homegrown HTPC
Basstrix is offline  
post #737 of 742 Old 06-08-2015, 05:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everybody. I have an Epson 5030 with 150hs of use.
I have read this topic several times and can not adjust the gamma of my projector.

Even without any calibration adjustment the result of Gamma is a very big drop from 60 IRE. And then, really lowering the contrast, does not solve the problem. To get an idea of the situation, I came to put the contrast in -20 and does not solve. I also used the chart for adjustment of gamma. Completely downloaded the second and third from right together with this low contrast.It made no difference in the Gamma and the image was too dark, lifeless and ugly.

Each time you calibrate the projector to achieve the target Y the result shows that always need to download the contrast more. Always a 2 points from the IRE 60. I can never achieve the right result because it always asks the same two points less.

I could not adjust the contrast in order to see the bars 233 and 234 not putting in maximum or minimum.

My colorimeter is 7.8 inches away from the screen. Use a HTPC Zotac Nano. I'm running AVSHD from it. My screen is 0.8 gain. I've been using CINEMA mode.

A detail: I could only see the bars 234 and adjust the contrast, by setting the KODI to (0-235) and leaving the Epson normal HDMI. It does not solve set the Epson to Expand HDMI and let the KODI in normal mode.

At the address below I found a picture on the internet that shows a graph of gamma almost the same as my case:
http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/da...8e3d248_2.jpeg

Please, any tips of where I am going wrong?

Last edited by Fabio-RS; 06-08-2015 at 12:12 PM.
Fabio-RS is offline  
post #738 of 742 Old 06-08-2015, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been searching a little longer.
I did not understand yet because my projector does not show the bars 233 and 234 in AVSHD via HTPC. Adjusting the contrast on -24, which is the limit, it seems possible to see some of the bars, but very discreetly.

But I found that to view the BTB and WTW should I adjust my source for (16-235), in my case the KODI (HTPC). And Epson, whatever adjust the HDMI to Normal or Extended, in both cases get to see the BTB and WTW.

I have not tried completely calibrate that way. I do not know if they will be resolved gamma.
Fabio-RS is offline  
post #739 of 742 Old 06-08-2015, 12:05 PM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabio-RS View Post
I've been searching a little longer.
I did not understand yet because my projector does not show the bars 233 and 234 in AVSHD via HTPC. Adjusting the contrast on -24, which is the limit, it seems possible to see some of the bars, but very discreetly.

But I found that to view the BTB and WTW should I adjust my source for (16-235), in my case the KODI (HTPC). And Epson, whatever adjust the HDMI to Normal or Extended, in both cases get to see the BTB and WTW.

I have not tried completely calibrate that way. I do not know if they will be resolved gamma.
Try setting contrast to 0. Go into "image", "advanced", "gamma", "adjust from graph". You should then see a window with 11 boxes that you can arrow over to and move up or down with the arrows on the controller. Leave the first one on the left centered (this is 0 IRE), and the far one on the right in the same position, centered (100 IRE). Pull the one next to 100 IRE down 10-12 spots. Then run yor gamma again and the gamma @ 60 and above should be improved. If so then start moving the sliders down to pull the gamma up throughout. What I have found is as you use the sliders from left to right the farther right you go the greater the range they effect. For example the 2nd slider from the left may only effect 10 IRE, where the next to last slider has some effect on 60-90 IRE.

Also, make sure the dynamic iris is turned off, before starting.

I'm working from memory on the menu names, so I could be off on them. The next time I turn my projector on I'll check.

Good luck. Let us know how it is going.
Fabio-RS likes this.
Knd is offline  
post #740 of 742 Old 06-08-2015, 12:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you very much. His tips over the years that topic was very important and learned a lot.

I wrote earlier wrong and now fix there. This adjustment would you suggest on the right side of the chart I've ever done, going down to the limit to try to correct the gamma. I changed the second and the third from the right. However, this test was in contrast -12. The result was almost negligible. I tested with 3 or 4 spots, then to the halfway point and finally to the low limit.
Fabio-RS is offline  
post #741 of 742 Old 06-10-2015, 07:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have two questions before trying to calibrate again:

1) Adjust for Gamma HCFR with black compensation? Or another option?
2) Panel Type: Choose LCD or projector, Refresh Display, non refresh display?

thank you
Fabio-RS is offline  
post #742 of 742 Old 06-11-2015, 03:28 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabio-RS View Post
I have two questions before trying to calibrate again:

1) Adjust for Gamma HCFR with black compensation? Or another option?
2) Panel Type: Choose LCD or projector, Refresh Display, non refresh display?

thank you
You may want to ask these in the HCFR thread. I'm not familiar with the new HCFR.
Fabio-RS likes this.
Knd is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8100 Home Theatre Projector V11h336120 , Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 3010 2d And 3d Projector V11h421020 , Epson 1080 Hd Budget Priced Projector , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8500 Ub Lcd Projector V11h337020 , Epson Home Cinema 8700 Ub Projector , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 6100 1080p 3lcd Home Theater Projector , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 6500ub Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off