Optoma HD8600 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 660 Old 02-22-2010, 09:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hmmm, how about the colorspace choices? Running out of stuff.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 660 Old 02-23-2010, 12:20 AM
Member
 
rafparedis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belgium - Hasselt
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Color space choices are at the default setting, and haven't touched them (it's set on auto if I recall correctly). I've asked for the off chance that it might be firmware related, but I guess I'll have to contact support and get it fixed. I've taken some pictures to illustrate the effect. Sorry for the quality of the pictures:$

the normal image


the image with a color (blue) missing
rafparedis is offline  
post #273 of 660 Old 02-23-2010, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hmmm old man in a wheelchair by some garbage cans, what the hey are you watching?

Nasty HDMI hang up problem looks like service will have to help. Any future firmwares you should be able to do at home. I got one from Optoma for my HD8200 to do at home it's pretty easy and was done with the RS-232 input.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #274 of 660 Old 02-23-2010, 02:21 PM
Member
 
rafparedis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belgium - Hasselt
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Hmmm old man in a wheelchair by some garbage cans, what the hey are you watching?

Nasty HDMI hang up problem looks like service will have to help. Any future firmwares you should be able to do at home. I got one from Optoma for my HD8200 to do at home it's pretty easy and was done with the RS-232 input.

True blood series one. Liked it

I've filled in the support form. Now it's waiting for a response. Firmware should be even easier with the HD86(00), USB port. RS-232 ports are getting rare on more recent computers, especially laptops.
rafparedis is offline  
post #275 of 660 Old 02-24-2010, 02:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Alpha10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like a handshake issue, are you sure it is the projector?

The reason I ask is I had never seen it with my old Pioneer 51 blu-ray player, but since having my Oppo 83SE I have had it a few times.......

Cheers
Alpha10 is offline  
post #276 of 660 Old 02-24-2010, 03:53 AM
Member
 
rafparedis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belgium - Hasselt
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha10 View Post

Looks like a handshake issue, are you sure it is the projector?

The reason I ask is I had never seen it with my old Pioneer 51 blu-ray player, but since having my Oppo 83SE I have had it a few times.......

Cheers

I did all I could to determine the component.
The fault occurred with all sources I tried (Toshiba HD DVD player, Xbox360 and PVR) All sources are connected to the receiver, a yamaha RX-V3900. I've tried different cabling to the projector to rule out a faulty hdmi cable. I used different displays on the receiver to check if the receiver was at fault, neither one gave this behavior. The other displays are an Optoma HD800X projector and a Samsung LE40M86 LCD Tv.

I've also updated the receiver firmware from 1.08 to 1.10 but no change there.
rafparedis is offline  
post #277 of 660 Old 02-24-2010, 11:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What about taking the receiver out of the mix, clear signal?

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #278 of 660 Old 02-26-2010, 05:05 AM
Member
 
LydMekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, would also try direct cable from the source to the proj and not into the receiver to see if it helps.

Shait Happenz...
LydMekk is offline  
post #279 of 660 Old 02-27-2010, 12:37 AM
Member
 
rafparedis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belgium - Hasselt
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha10 View Post

Looks like a handshake issue, are you sure it is the projector?

The reason I ask is I had never seen it with my old Pioneer 51 blu-ray player, but since having my Oppo 83SE I have had it a few times.......

Cheers

I've been tossing around in my sleep about this issue and this thought came to me. I think we might be on to something. Both the Oppo and my yamaha receiver have the (same?) anchor bay video processor. So this might be a software issue after all? The chip in both the oppo and yamaha is the ABT2010.

Tom, is this something you can take to your contact at optoma?
rafparedis is offline  
post #280 of 660 Old 03-12-2010, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Alpha10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

I need to call my friend they're supposed to have something for my projector also. No answer today it's a Lincoln / Washington holiday.

What do you need just the 1080/24 working correctly?

Hi Tom, I don't suppose you have heard anything about the firmware update?

Cheers
Alpha10 is offline  
post #281 of 660 Old 03-13-2010, 12:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nothing yet I'll ask next week. last time I called I did get the lastest firmware for my HD8200 (C08) mine had C07. Updating was pretty easy and went smooth expect the same for the HD8600.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #282 of 660 Old 03-14-2010, 01:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Alpha10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Nothing yet I'll ask next week. last time I called I did get the lastest firmware for my HD8200 (C08) mine had C07. Updating was pretty easy and went smooth expect the same for the HD8600.

Cheers, I would appreciate it. Last time I asked in Europe I was told definitely before the end of February
Alpha10 is offline  
post #283 of 660 Old 03-15-2010, 09:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No answer today, hope my buddy isn't back in Taiwan. I'll try tomorrow.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #284 of 660 Old 03-17-2010, 11:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Almost there, my engineer buddy is still tweaking the new firmware which makes the 24frames and pure motion better, also there's a tweaking for the dynamic iris to make it even better.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #285 of 660 Old 03-17-2010, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Alpha10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Almost there, my engineer buddy is still tweaking the new firmware which makes the 24frames and pure motion better, also there's a tweaking for the dynamic iris to make it even better.

Super news, hopefully soon then, that is if they release in US and Europe at the same time?

Cheers
Alpha10 is offline  
post #286 of 660 Old 03-17-2010, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Almost there, my engineer buddy is still tweaking the new firmware which makes the 24frames and pure motion better, also there's a tweaking for the dynamic iris to make it even better.

Guitarman,

Do you have a new website? The dementia one does not work.

B.
Brian B is online now  
post #287 of 660 Old 03-17-2010, 08:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No I really didn't do much trying to be a dealer so I ended it. I still use the location for picture loading that's it.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #288 of 660 Old 03-25-2010, 05:48 AM
Member
 
stefanelli73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,.......Do you have news about new firmware?
stefanelli73 is offline  
post #289 of 660 Old 03-25-2010, 01:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Still QCing it.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #290 of 660 Old 03-25-2010, 05:55 PM
Member
 
stefanelli73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Still QCing it.

What?
stefanelli73 is offline  
post #291 of 660 Old 03-25-2010, 06:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quality controling the firmwares outcome. Not finished yet.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #292 of 660 Old 03-26-2010, 01:40 AM
Member
 
stefanelli73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, thanks.
stefanelli73 is offline  
post #293 of 660 Old 03-31-2010, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: earth -alpha quadrant - france
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Hi guitarman

My own french review, about the HD86 is online, you can check my results here :

http://www.cinetson.org/phpBB3/proje...ge-t31726.html

Visit the new pjhc.fr forum here : http://www.projection-homecinema.fr/forum/
kraine is offline  
post #294 of 660 Old 03-31-2010, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raul GS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraine View Post

My own french review, about the HD86 is online, you can check my results here

That's interesting, you found the dynamic iris more bothersome than Tom, but you also used a different setting. Did you try it with the Iris set at 3 (I think that was Tom's preference)?

Ignorance more frequently begets confidence, than it does knowledge. Charles Darwin
Raul GS is online now  
post #295 of 660 Old 03-31-2010, 07:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You have to be real fussy to be bothered by the DI on the HD8600. Reading the great Planar review some were fussy about it also. Greg Rogers found the planars DI as excellent compared to others. Minimal at showing brightness pumping and zero at brightness compression. A excellent DI system but still there will be fussy viewers.

What I like about the DI is it lets you see full brightness in mid and bight scenes and goes nice and black during very dark scenes. Me I'm not so fussy I enjoy the technology immensely.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #296 of 660 Old 04-01-2010, 01:48 AM
Member
 
stefanelli73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new firmware is it possible download from internet or not?....and when? in April?
stefanelli73 is offline  
post #297 of 660 Old 04-01-2010, 07:08 AM
 
scottyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: mound,mn,usa
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
scottyb is offline  
post #298 of 660 Old 04-01-2010, 07:46 AM
Member
 
kipkab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gamm-Arth village
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraine View Post

Hi guitarman

My own french review, about the HD86 is online, you can check my results here :

http://www.cinetson.org/phpBB3/proje...ge-t31726.html

Hi Kraine, nice review,can you please put some screenshots inside?
thank you
kipkab is offline  
post #299 of 660 Old 04-01-2010, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Raul GS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

You have to be real fussy to be bothered by the DI on the HD8600.

He also gets a different native on/off than you. I think you got around 4k and he got a little less than 2k, but I'm pretty sure you are both using different iris settings. It would be nice if he could confirm this.

Ignorance more frequently begets confidence, than it does knowledge. Charles Darwin
Raul GS is online now  
post #300 of 660 Old 04-01-2010, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: earth -alpha quadrant - france
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Adel I will try to do some screenshots tonight before turning back the projector to Optoma.

About the contrast, iris was set to 6, lampe mode normal.

It's true, that I didn't like dynamic iris, the only one wich I found not distracting was the SONY DI on the VW60/VW80/VW85 series.

Visit the new pjhc.fr forum here : http://www.projection-homecinema.fr/forum/
kraine is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd8600 50 000 Contrast Ratio Hdmi
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off