Optoma HD8600 - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 660 Old 12-31-2012, 05:08 AM
Member
 
poem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,
change some of the dynamic iris Cinema2 to cinema 1,
then that should stop pumping.
But that's it's been discussed here.
the "grinding noise" is the change of the fixed iris on a different setting.
for example from iris 4 to iris 9

everything in the green area.

regards
attichometheater likes this.
poem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 660 Old 12-31-2012, 07:39 AM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ilya Im not sure what does that do?
attichometheater is offline  
post #633 of 660 Old 12-31-2012, 07:42 AM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will check that out. Why the noise its strange I never heard it the first day I had it. Thanks
attichometheater is offline  
post #634 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 09:19 AM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im so frustrated with my purchase so far. I just cant get this unit to project the picture quality everyone is talking about. My HD7100 was much better which should not be the case. Maybe its my screen? Its a 100" white screen with I believe is 1 gain and a black velvet boarder and Im sitting 10'6" from the screen in a dedicated theater. Should I get a grey screen? The image just doesnt look sharp fuzzy edges, no pop and the fluctuation from light to dark is pathetic even with a lower iris setting. What to do? Help:confused:
attichometheater is offline  
post #635 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by attichometheater View Post

Im so frustrated with my purchase so far. I just cant get this unit to project the picture quality everyone is talking about. [...] Maybe its my screen? Its a 100" white screen with I believe is 1 gain and a black velvet boarder and Im sitting 10'6" from the screen in a dedicated theater. Should I get a grey screen? The image just doesnt look sharp fuzzy edges, no pop and the fluctuation from light to dark is pathetic even with a lower iris setting. What to do? Help:confused:

This sound familiar to me back when I was starting my optoma journey. First HD23 was too bright, washing out all the colors making impossible to setup contrast on minimum acceptable level. Second HD33 had flawed lens so picture had messed up geometry with barrel/pinch distortion. Third PJ - HD33 as well had same optics problem, on the top of that I got a fan error after just 7 hours of operation. Finally I ended up with Hd8300 and this puppy made my jaw drop finally. Not sure if optics is same as on hd8600 model but I get super sharp, clear crisp picture. I used Projecta 106 inch screen matte white with gain 1.0, PJ is 140 inches away from screen. 2D are stunning in Cinema 2 mode, blacks are more than I could expect with all reflected light from my white ceiling and colors and skin tone just make me think about going to the beach to get some more sun tan... I wish.

With all my past frustrations regarding the black level and inability to adjust contrast and brightness levels to desired , I thought about messing up my room and replace already installed screen. But I somehow knew, both earlier pj's might be too bright for the job so gray screen could be a solution. Instead I got hd8300 and it solves all my problems. Maybe because it has iris, maybe also because it has lower lumens lamp output. One way or the other, if your 8600 is too bright you may be experiencing exactly same thing I was. With your setup it would be wise to make sure your screen is indeed 1.0 gain.
esdwa is offline  
post #636 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Ilya Volk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belarus
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by attichometheater View Post

Ilya Im not sure what does that do?

Lamp mode, set "STD" or "Bright" instead of "Image AI".
Ilya Volk is offline  
post #637 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 10:13 AM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Image AI? I dont think it has it but if it does where would it be located in the menu? Thanks
attichometheater is offline  
post #638 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Ilya Volk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belarus
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
System - Lamp Mode.
Ilya Volk is offline  
post #639 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 05:30 PM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked and the only setting is bright and standard
attichometheater is offline  
post #640 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Ilya Volk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belarus
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So HD86 doesn't have Image AI? Well, it is useless anyway.

Its strange then that you notice pumping with dynamic iris, its not noticeable to me on HD83...
Ilya Volk is offline  
post #641 of 660 Old 01-08-2013, 10:33 PM
Member
 
poem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,
Check the Firmware , it must be the 1.11.
Di. In Cinema 1 and static Iris to 5.
Now The picture must have superior blacks and brightness without any pumping.
Lamp into Standard Mode.

Greetings poem
poem is offline  
post #642 of 660 Old 01-23-2013, 08:28 AM
Member
 
IrishHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all! I just order my hd86 and I'm coming from a hc4000. What would you all recommend for a mount that would get it as close to the ceiling as possible? Thanks!
IrishHT is offline  
post #643 of 660 Old 01-23-2013, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrishHT View Post

Hello all! I just order my hd86 and I'm coming from a hc4000. What would you all recommend for a mount that would get it as close to the ceiling as possible? Thanks!

I got same requirement for my twin HD83 (HD8300) so I purchased Peerless PRG-UNV-W ceiling mount. It turn out to be perfect mount for this projector putting it closer to the ceiling that I was expecting it. The mount has nice feature where you can detach projector from the bracket for servicing for example. It is very sturdy, solid build and it is going to hold my existing and future PJs well for years to come. It comes in two colors: white and black which is indicated by last letter of the model number. If you need a black, look for PRG-UNV model. I got mine on amazon.com.



Btw, great projector choice but just out of curiosity, what made you buying 2D only projector where HD83 is same thing but with 3D capability? Cheers

*** Few pictures with my PJ suspended with above mount


esdwa is offline  
post #644 of 660 Old 01-24-2013, 07:51 PM
Member
 
IrishHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esdwa View Post

I got same requirement for my twin HD83 (HD8300) so I purchased Peerless PRG-UNV-W ceiling mount. It turn out to be perfect mount for this projector putting it closer to the ceiling that I was expecting it. The mount has nice feature where you can detach projector from the bracket for servicing for example. It is very sturdy, solid build and it is going to hold my existing and future PJs well for years to come. It comes in two colors: white and black which is indicated by last letter of the model number. If you need a black, look for PRG-UNV model. I got mine on amazon.com.



Btw, great projector choice but just out of curiosity, what made you buying 2D only projector where HD83 is same thing but with 3D capability? Cheers

*** Few pictures with my PJ suspended with above mount


Thanks for the tip! I was under the impression that the hd86 was better at 2d viewing than the hd83. Was I mistaken? Anyone compared the 2d quality between the two? I wouldn't be opposed to exchanging one for the other.
IrishHT is offline  
post #645 of 660 Old 01-25-2013, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Ilya Volk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belarus
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Higher price, no 3D... It has to be noticeably better in 2D.
It is better, according to some impressions I read.
Ilya Volk is offline  
post #646 of 660 Old 01-25-2013, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Ilya Volk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belarus
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by esdwa View Post

what made you buying 2D only projector where HD83 is same thing but with 3D capability?

HD8200 is a same thing as HD8300 without 3D.

HD8600 is a different beast, higher level. I'm not even sure it was made by Optoma originally. There are several very similar models selling under different brands - Vivitek H5080/5082/5085, Infocus SP8604, Knoll HDP2300.

UPD After reading more, I think all those are clones of HD8600.
Ilya Volk is offline  
post #647 of 660 Old 01-25-2013, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Interesting.
So what exactly makes hd8600 superior over two other models? Besides slightly brighter lamp.
Is it different iris? Different lens? Video Processing? Anybody knows the catch? Just curious.
esdwa is offline  
post #648 of 660 Old 01-25-2013, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Ilya Volk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belarus
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
HD8600 has 280W lamp like HD8300; HD8200 had 220W.

Other than that, everything you listed is better I guess. Also lower fan noise. And don't forget manual Iris.
I personally haven't seen 86, but people over the internet leave very excited comments about it.
Ilya Volk is offline  
post #649 of 660 Old 01-28-2013, 07:34 PM
Member
 
IrishHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone for the added info. I am pretty excited and will be watching my mailbox closely! I'll post my opinion on the hd86 vs the hc4k as soon as I've calibrated it and had time to watch some blurays.
IrishHT is offline  
post #650 of 660 Old 01-28-2013, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You guys made me wonder. HD8600 was released in 2009 while HD8300 in 2011. I might be wrong but I do not think Optoma would release worse projector two years later only because it supports 3D.
I think what happened is that HD8600 was superb in 2009 but this might not be a case in 2011 when its successor came out.

The only way to tell would be to put these two puppies side by side and watch.

The iris whether manual or automatic won't improve absolute contrast. It will affect relative contrast so at this point I do not see how hd8600 could perform better over hd8300. Maybe it is because 86 is slightly brighter and with adjustable iris it allows to better control projector brightness to eliminate clipping which improve contrast.
esdwa is offline  
post #651 of 660 Old 01-28-2013, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by esdwa View Post

You guys made me wonder. HD8600 was released in 2009 while HD8300 in 2011. I might be wrong but I do not think Optoma would release worse projector two years later only because it supports 3D.
I think what happened is that HD8600 was superb in 2009 but this might not be a case in 2011 when its successor came out.

The only way to tell would be to put these two puppies side by side and watch.

The iris whether manual or automatic won't improve absolute contrast. It will affect relative contrast so at this point I do not see how hd8600 could perform better over hd8300. Maybe it is because 86 is slightly brighter and with adjustable iris it allows to better control projector brightness to eliminate clipping which improve contrast.

The Optoma HD8300 is the successor to the HD8200 not the HD8600. The quality level between the HD8600 and the HD8200 was quite different. Just because the HD8300 is newer doesn't mean it will be better compared to the HD8600. It doesn't always work this way.

------------------------------------

Look What AVS Made Me Do!
Seegs108 is online now  
post #652 of 660 Old 01-29-2013, 03:49 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

The Optoma HD8300 is the successor to the HD8200 not the HD8600. The quality level between the HD8600 and the HD8200 was quite different. Just because the HD8300 is newer doesn't mean it will be better compared to the HD8600. It doesn't always work this way.

Ok. Have you had a change to compare both projectors? Or do you know who did and where can we find such review?
So far I have not been able to find legitimate review online that would not necessary compare but just show opinion of someone who had a chance to use and test both machines. So any links to such articles or posts are mostly appreciated. Cheers
esdwa is offline  
post #653 of 660 Old 01-29-2013, 07:45 AM
Member
 
poem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

Last year we made ​​a comparison in my home theater with both projectors.
Meanwhile, the chairs have been replaced biggrin.gif!

The report was from the owner of the HD83 then inserted into my German forum.

I saw the 87 a little Step before the 83.wink.gif
I link the thread then you can translate yourself.

http://www.hifi-forum.de/index.php?action=browseT&back=12&sort=lpost&forum_id=94&thread=12140

Greetings
poem is offline  
post #654 of 660 Old 02-03-2013, 09:26 PM
Member
 
IrishHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally received my hd86 last week and spent all weekend making only minor tweaks in between watching blurays and playing Xbox. I've noticed one dead pixel in the upper left corner. Any ideas what to do? Aside from that, its putting up a decent picture. The contrast, black level and brightness is definitely better than my hc4000 but because I haven't been able to tweak the colors that well, its lacking that 3d look that I had with my hc4000. For example, the opening scene on tdkr with the airplane looked very 3d as did a scene in fast fast where the group is having a chat in doms garage. I just can't seem to get that effect on the hd86. Any suggestions? Maybe I need some color monitoring equipment and software? I have never used nor looked into such a purchase so any advice would be welcome! On a side note, rbe is all but nonexistent now and the lens shift is a lifesaver biggrin.gif
IrishHT is offline  
post #655 of 660 Old 03-05-2013, 09:26 AM
Member
 
jimmy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ive got a few questions for 8600 owners:

-What is everyone doing for maintenance and cleaning on the 8600?
-Has anyone experimented with a nd filter on it? If so what were the results and where did you purchase it?

Thanks.
jimmy12 is offline  
post #656 of 660 Old 03-05-2013, 11:39 AM
Member
 
IrishHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any tips on color calibration using hcfr and eyeone?
I have the rgb all at 100% but it looks way too red.
IrishHT is offline  
post #657 of 660 Old 05-07-2013, 09:18 AM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD8600 started to lose signal every 4 to 5 minutes the other day. I unpluged it tried again and the same thing kept happening. I hooked my cable box directly to the the projector and the same thing happens no there is no signal at all. Can someone please help me with some suggestions its seems I have no luck with projectors and Im begining to think the whole projector concepts is a waste of my time and money.
attichometheater is offline  
post #658 of 660 Old 05-07-2013, 12:47 PM
Member
 
poem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

has any device in your chain made an update?

Greetings
poem is offline  
post #659 of 660 Old 05-07-2013, 05:22 PM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not that I'm aware of. I've only been using my cable box /DVR and I'm not sure how they update. It's crazy how much trouble I've had with projectors starting with my Hd7100 I think I went trough 3 of them before I purchased the HD8600 a few months ago now I have the issue with signal loss. Just frustrating . Thanks for asking if you have any suggestions feel free
attichometheater is offline  
post #660 of 660 Old 05-07-2013, 05:40 PM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by poem View Post

Hi,
change some of the dynamic iris Cinema2 to cinema 1,
then that should stop pumping.
But that's it's been discussed here.
the "grinding noise" is the change of the fixed iris on a different setting.
for example from iris 4 to iris 9

everything in the green area.

regards
. I never thanked you for this advice so thank you and it worked great by the way
attichometheater is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd8600 50 000 Contrast Ratio Hdmi
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off