JVC DLA-RS15 vs DLA-RS25 for photographic images - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 10-07-2009, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a bit new to projectors, so sorry if something in my question sounds dumb...

I need a projector for watching movies in a dedicated theater room (13'x12.5', one row, pitch black room with Da-Lite high power screen). I also do photography work, and use projector to demo the images, which puts some specific requirements on the PJ - 1) very high single-frame contrast (I believe it is called ANSI contrast); 2) wide and uniform color gamut; 3) accurate colors

Based on feedback here and reviews on the net, I think JVC's new line is perfect for me. However, I am a bit puzzled as to whether the CMS features of the RS25 will be of any use for me. The thing is, color management is different in the photo world. We do not calibrate colors on the device to some specific standard, but leave them "native" to get the most out of gamut and contrast ratio. The only adjustments made on the device are usually white point and gamma, with the latter not necessary. After that, the ICM profile of the device (of course, custom made) takes care of all color matching.

So, if I understand everything correctly, in my scenario RS15 and RS25 would be identical in terms of color reproduction, as I would pretty much bypass any color settings on the device (except for white temp). Am I missing something? It just seems counter-intuitive that a projector with CMS does not give any advantages to a photographer...

There are still benefits of higher contrast and being able to calibrate colors for movies on RS-25 - I understand those. I just want to clarify if RS-25 has any advantages when I'm feeding a color-matched image from a computer to an ICM calibrated projector.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 10-07-2009, 09:31 AM