VPL-VW100 Problems. Any advice? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 06-30-2010, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tristancary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have a VPL-VW100 Sony projector that is not clicking on. The lamp started being intermittent and now will not click on. I would normally think the lamp needs to be replaced but it only has 6 or 700 hours on it. I was considering selling it and buying a plasma instead. Anyone have any recommendations or advice. Is it simply a lamp problem or could something else be the issue? Is spending almost a thousand dollars on a sony lamp worth it for this projector?
tristancary is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 07-01-2010, 01:02 AM
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The same symptom could appear for a number of reasons :
  1. a defective lamp
  2. a lamp which became defective after an improper power outage (no cooling down)
  3. too much thermal paste between the bulb and its heatsink
  4. a weak lamp power supply if your VW100 S/N is below 2005136
If you installed yourself a replacement bulb into the heatsink, check #3 first.
Then check your VW100 S/N; if below 2005136, you may benefit from the Hard Start Mod Kit (A1206459A), available from Sony Parts.
Beware that if your S/N is within 2003987-2005136, you do not need the full kit.
Adding this kit may or may not make your "faulty" lamp start again.
Obviously, the less troublesome option is changing the lamp bulb alone, which is only 385 bucks on eBay [search for "Replacement Lamp LMP-H400 for Sony modules" by xenoarc].
geeji is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 06-06-2012, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
IceMan-MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently started having similar issues. The unit won't fire up and just "clicks". Eventually the lamp/cover light stays light (solid) and per the manual it stated that the lamp was needing to be replaced. I was far from the 2000 hr lifespan but figured that it just perhaps went bad so dropped $700 bucks on a new one.

I just installed the new lamp and nothing has changed, it just clicks and never lights up.

My serial number is 2005600 + so per my research on AVSForum one would think I don't have the mod start issues, etc.

But it does seem like the lamp is not being ignited / turned on. I have taken the new lamp out and reinstalled it to make sure that everything was connected properly.

Any suggestions on what I can do??

Thanks for any help
IceMan-MN is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 06-25-2012, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry for the late answer, was away from my desk.
I would say that a weak Lamp Power Supply is the most likely suspect, which would explain your start-up problem.
If you like to bet, you could order the Lamp Power Supply Block (1-468-952-11 or 1-468-952-12) from Sony Parts, but considering the price ($448) this would be a costly bet to loose if it is something else.
Probably safer to ship it to Sony for repair, but be sure to tell them the lamp is recent, otherwise they may replace it too.
geeji is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-30-2013, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
ibranny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm currently in the same situation, did anyone replace just the power block supply? Has anyone had any success/ failure ?
ibranny is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-31-2013, 12:24 AM
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is your Ruby S/N ?
geeji is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 05-31-2013, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
ibranny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
S/n is 2000694 I'm aware that it falls into the range of a hard mod kit, I pulled it apart and found that it was never upgraded, Sony now wants $900.00 for the kit. I know I'm taking a risk, but I'm thinking of just replacing the power supply and adding a ferrite clamp only which would run me $400. Leaving the old igniter in place. Is this a bad move? Or should I consider trashing it before even trying? (Like many others)
ibranny is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 06-01-2013, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No way to tell if the power supply only would do it.
I do not assume the Sony engineers are dumb or wasteful, so I suppose ALL parts in the Hard Start Mod Kit are needed, one way or another, to achieve the proper result in 100% of the Rubys with this problem.
The kit used to be $700, only you can tell if getting back your Ruby fully operational is worth $900 bucks.
Or you may wait for the successor of the VPL-VW95, due this year (likely >> $3000).
But this one will have a UHP lamp, not a Xenon one, which has much better colors IMHO.

BTW, I found the same kit sold in Germany for 1585 € (about $2060) !
At that price, your choice would be much simpler... wink.gif
geeji is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 06-01-2013, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
ibranny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lol, $2060. I have different opinions about Sony and the service mod kit, if they were that good we wouldnt be having this issue, so my opinion they just changing stuff out because it all falls in the same area.im going to take my chance at just doing the ballast only. I will post my results in a week or so.
ibranny is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 06-02-2013, 02:02 AM
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibranny View Post

i m going to take my chance at just doing the ballast only.
In a previous post you said you wanted to replace the Power Supply, not the Ballast.
Be aware that the Power Supply is full of electronics parts, which could have "aged", while the "Ballast" is mostly a high voltage transformer, which either works or not.
I would not bet on the ballast being the sole problem, but for your sake I hope I am wrong...
geeji is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 06-02-2013, 04:56 AM
Newbie
 
ibranny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the correction, i have been refering to changing the Lamp power supply Ballast all along, which would be a whole different thing then the units power supply. Right now the lamp wont start at all after repeated attempts, Does anyone have there "intermitting non-working or troublesome" old gutted parts available? this way i can test it with another ballast, igniter and troubleshoot my problem before buying any new parts. I will pay shipping fees and return your tested parts.
ibranny is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-06-2016, 06:33 AM
Member
 
WOLF35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Indian Head MD
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I realize this post is old but I have the issue of the Rubyclicking three times and no Bing with the unit coming on. It did come on the past two attempts aftergoing thru numerous cycles but does not stay on past twenty minutes and I wasgetting some flickering on the screen then it goes dark. The bulb has 400 hours and I removed it lastnight to replace the paste came with the bulb with Artic Silver paste. Cleaning the bulb took a while with rubbing alcohol.I used the Artic Silver for the last bulb and got 2500+ hours with noissues. I realize that I should havebought more for the new bulb. My unitSn# is 2004512 so it has the hard start kit. I wanted to know where the best place to place the Artic Silver, in thepast I coated the body of the bulb and the front area next to the lens but whenI did a fit check it seemed to me that may be excessive and I only should becoating housing areas that touch the bulb, then slide the bulb in. Any help,pictures or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
WOLF35 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-07-2016, 05:53 AM
Member
 
WOLF35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Indian Head MD
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Artic Silver worked!!!! The Ruby did not even Click it was just "BING" and it was on. I had read in other posts that to let it settle in with the new paste and ran it for an hour. One thing I noticed from the old bulb"2500 Hours+" was that the Artic Silver was complety spread evenly around the bulb base which it was not on the current bulb. I am sure that also made a difference since this is were the two power connectors are located. I have also read of people having issue with getting the mounting screws back in, if you shin a flashlight thru the back screen you can see the back two screws to get them in. The front two are still need to "feel" them in. Thanks for all the info.
WOLF35 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-11-2016, 07:57 AM
Member
 
WOLF35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Indian Head MD
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back to SQ one. The following night went to watch the Ruby and nothing but Clicks! Any Idea's would be greatly appreciated, I plan on using an old bulb to see if it works then maybe a new bulb?
WOLF35 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-11-2016, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I had the same problem last Summer that started with a lamp that had about 1,500 hrs on it. I installed an old lamp with 1968 hrs on it and all has been well for another 400 hrs.

Being dissatisfied with the 2015 crop of new projectors I ordered a new lamp yesterday.
humbug2 is online now  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-19-2016, 10:37 AM
Member
 
WOLF35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Indian Head MD
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, took the lamp apart to see if anything was amiss and saw that I may have used too much Artic Silver. Wiped down the bulb and saw that there was plenty of Artic Silver still in the chassis and put the unit back together. Put the unit back into the VW100 and it came on right away. Sounded normal so I sat down to watch some TV and after a half hour a large POP happened and the picture went blank. I guess the only thing now to do is send it in to Sony and have it fixed by a Pro. When I called and described what happened they feel it was the Ballast that blew. I have not read that here on the site. Has anyone heard of the Ballast blowing?.
WOLF35 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off