Ceiling Mounts fo JVC RS 40/50/60 - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 345 Old 12-21-2010, 04:30 PM
Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I am happy to report that the Peerless PRG-UNV works out of the box. I did have to use longer screws than were provided due to the recessed mounting holes on the X3. The length of the arms is perfect. I'll be taking down my Sony and hanging the X3 tomorrow along with a new Belkin HDMI cable. Let the fun begin.

Klipsch RF-7II(2)
Klipsch RC-64II
Klipsch RS-62II(2)
Klipsch Cornwalls(2)
Velodyne HGS-15
HSU VTF-15H
Marantz AV8801
Emotiva XPA-5
Emotiva XPA-3(2)
OPPO BDP-103
JVC DLA-X3 (121" screen)
promike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 345 Old 12-21-2010, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

BTW - I mounted the RS50 last night and by drilling two holes in each back corner (one each) of the uni plate I was able to get the mount to sit perfectly (both vert & horiz) on the PJ. I'll be posting pictures tonight, but I would tell everyone needing a "right now" solution, don't hesitate to buy the RPMAU. The yaw and tilt worked perfectly.

Mark was right . . . this mount is the best I have ever used (solid as a rock!). Also anyone mounting in to a drop ceiling the CMS440 plate is a MUST for a great looking sturdy install! I'll post pics tonight.


Here are the pics of RPMAU mod!





Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #183 of 345 Old 12-22-2010, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,212
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by promike View Post

I am happy to report that the Peerless PRG-UNV works out of the box. I did have to use longer screws than were provided due to the recessed mounting holes on the X3. The length of the arms is perfect. I'll be taking down my Sony and hanging the X3 tomorrow along with a new Belkin HDMI cable. Let the fun begin.


Which screws did you end up with? No sticking or grabbing when they were put in?

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #184 of 345 Old 12-22-2010, 12:14 PM
Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

Which screws did you end up with? No sticking or grabbing when they were put in?

I used 5M 20mm and with hex cap heads and they worked perfectly. This is an excellent mount and uses a worm gear for L/R and tilt adjustments. Very pleased.

Klipsch RF-7II(2)
Klipsch RC-64II
Klipsch RS-62II(2)
Klipsch Cornwalls(2)
Velodyne HGS-15
HSU VTF-15H
Marantz AV8801
Emotiva XPA-5
Emotiva XPA-3(2)
OPPO BDP-103
JVC DLA-X3 (121" screen)
promike is offline  
post #185 of 345 Old 12-26-2010, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
For those interested I found out Chief is shipping the 281 plates to customers starting tomorrow.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #186 of 345 Old 12-26-2010, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

For those interested I found out Chief is shipping the 281 plates to customers starting tomorrow.

Where did that number come from? Do we need to contact Chief directly to get on the mailing list?

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #187 of 345 Old 12-27-2010, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
If you followed the original thread prior to release we discovered the RPMAU did not work. Chief confirmed this issue, then designed a new plate (281) and if you had already bought the RPMAU prior to this discovery, you can call them to make exchange arrangements.

This should also mean if you don't want to use/purchase the universal SLBU part you can use the specific plate designed for the new JVC's.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #188 of 345 Old 12-27-2010, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

If you followed the original thread prior to release we discovered the RPMAU did not work. Chief confirmed this issue, then designed a new plate (281) and if you had already bought the RPMAU prior to this discovery, you can call them to make exchange arrangements.

Figured that out after I posted... one is on the way.

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #189 of 345 Old 12-27-2010, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
zbroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Figured that out after I posted... one is on the way.


I assume that you were on the list and received an email?

GO HABS GO!
zbroke is offline  
post #190 of 345 Old 12-27-2010, 12:23 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I just put up a Chief joist mount kit into the attic with a standard chief 1.5"-diameter, 3" long pipe going through the attic floor into the theater room ceiling. Good project...

I was fishing the wiring through the pipe and realized I probably don't want to leave the pipe open to the attic in the Houston summer. How do people plug the pipe after the wires are sent through? Is there a reason not to do this?

Sorry - this feels like a newbie question but I haven't tried this before.
alk3997 is offline  
post #191 of 345 Old 12-27-2010, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Indeed my understanding is that these did start shipping out today.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #192 of 345 Old 12-27-2010, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbroke View Post

I assume that you were on the list and received an email?

I got on the list this morning and one shipped today. I should have the plate on Wed.

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #193 of 345 Old 12-27-2010, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

I just put up a Chief joist mount kit into the attic with a standard chief 1.5"-diameter, 3" long pipe going through the attic floor into the theater room ceiling. Good project...

I was fishing the wiring through the pipe and realized I probably don't want to leave the pipe open to the attic in the Houston summer. How do people plug the pipe after the wires are sent through? Is there a reason not to do this?

Sorry - this feels like a newbie question but I haven't tried this before.

Nothing to apologize about it's a legitimate question. I used some ~1.5" round styrofoam pieces I found at Home Depot. I also did it to isolate the power cord from the two HDMI's & emitter cable, (I split it down one side like a hot dog bun to the center then notched a bit out for the power cord so that none of the other cables made contact; then wrapped it in pro grade aluminum duct tape). I pushed it up the outer pipe first then put the inner pipe mount in while making sure it stayed in place from up top.

Oh and here's a pic of the finished product I promised (and forgot about!):





Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #194 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Just got the 281 plate in the mail today. What a great company to deal with; they were awesome in every respect!




Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #195 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Yep. Installed mine yesterday. Works like a champ..

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #196 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Eden NY
Posts: 6,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Kevin,
JOOC, how tall is that plate?

Geof
Geof is offline  
post #197 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geof View Post

Kevin,
JOOC, how tall is that plate?

The ears are 1" high (about the same as the uni arms).

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #198 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Eden NY
Posts: 6,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Thanks Kevin. I was trying to figure out how much drop there is but Chief doesn't give the dimensions for this plate.

Geof
Geof is offline  
post #199 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
aztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's a big damn plate.

mine is on it's way, i should get it monday or tuesday. chief was AWESOME to work with. i'm glad i ponied up the extra money for them.
aztech is offline  
post #200 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
GeorgeHolland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

Just got the 281 plate in the mail today. What a great company to deal with; they were awesome in every respect!


Did you originally order the RPMAU? I thought the compatible plate for the RPMAU was the SLM281 in order to support keyed locking?
GeorgeHolland is offline  
post #201 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 05:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, RPMAU requires SLM281. SLB281 won't fit...
unclemat is offline  
post #202 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,212
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 650
ok so the peerless and the cheifs are both in working order now. I need to make a mount that will allow me to mount to brace between two joists, come down about 12" through the drop ceiling, and then the plates and whatever needed to mount the PJ onto the pipe coming down. please help me put together all the different parts I need as this is my first rodeo and I have no idea where to start really!

Thanks in advance

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #203 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Yep. Installed mine yesterday. Works like a champ..

What did you receive for your RPMAU Adi? They knew I had an RPMAU so I wonder if they sent me the wrong one (that would suck).

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #204 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

ok so the peerless and the cheifs are both in working order now. I need to make a mount that will allow me to mount to brace between two joists, come down about 12" through the drop ceiling, and then the plates and whatever needed to mount the PJ onto the pipe coming down. please help me put together all the different parts I need as this is my first rodeo and I have no idea where to start really!

Thanks in advance

You don't need to mount to a joist if you buy the CMS440 with the RPM281. The 440 sits on top of your grid about 1/4" above the tile. It's worth the $75 from buy.com (or AVS of course). You'll need a threaded pipe of you choice of length you can find at a hardware store. I posted all this in the original thread.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #205 of 345 Old 12-30-2010, 11:17 PM
Member
 
lincoln_husker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is the difference between the Chief RPA and RPMA ?
lincoln_husker is offline  
post #206 of 345 Old 12-31-2010, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
monstosity12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
Just got the 281 plate in the mail today. What a great company to deal with; they were awesome in every respect!




Hey Kritcher. What does your "all points security kit" say... SLB281 or SLM281.

Im wondering since I just got my SLB281, but the all points security kit says SLM281? And since you got he SLB281 as well, need to know if this is a mistake, or intentional. By the way, chief was exceptional to work with. This is why putting up the extra $ for them is the way to go. Not to mention, you get top notch build quality - Just cant get better than chief.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln_husker View Post
what is the difference between the Chief RPA and RPMA ?
The RPMA comes with a key to lock projector to ceiling mount. The RPM is without a locking key.
monstosity12 is offline  
post #207 of 345 Old 12-31-2010, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
What did you receive for your RPMAU Adi? They knew I had an RPMAU so I wonder if they sent me the wrong one (that would suck).
I have the RPMU. Mitch (the support guy) verified it with me before sending it. There's a sticker on the top of the mount which I read off to him.That determined which one he needed to send me. The "A" is with the quick release? If so, he wanted to confirm which I had before sending since it was a different plate.

I got a little confused myself with all these variations from Chief.

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #208 of 345 Old 12-31-2010, 06:56 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

Nothing to apologize about it's a legitimate question. I used some ~1.5" round styrofoam pieces I found at Home Depot. I also did it to isolate the power cord from the two HDMI's & emitter cable, (I split it down one side like a hot dog bun to the center then notched a bit out for the power cord so that none of the other cables made contact; then wrapped it in pro grade aluminum duct tape). I pushed it up the outer pipe first then put the inner pipe mount in while making sure it stayed in place from up top.

...


Deleted by author
alk3997 is offline  
post #209 of 345 Old 12-31-2010, 07:00 AM
Member
 
MatrixVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have an X7 coming monday - have no mount - but don't even have paint or carpet finished yet --screen two week out --

question is this ---

will this work --

RPA281 chief mount
Chief Easy Installation Kit - CMA-700

Thanks

Kurt Schneider
Matrix Video Pro
MatrixVideo is offline  
post #210 of 345 Old 12-31-2010, 07:08 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

ok so the peerless and the cheifs are both in working order now. I need to make a mount that will allow me to mount to brace between two joists, come down about 12" through the drop ceiling, and then the plates and whatever needed to mount the PJ onto the pipe coming down. please help me put together all the different parts I need as this is my first rodeo and I have no idea where to start really!

Thanks in advance

Answer deleted by author
alk3997 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc Dla Rs40u , Jvc Rs50u , Peerless Prg Mount , Chief Speed Connect Rpmau Projector Ceiling Mount With Keyed Locking Rpmau

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off