Trying to fix polarizer problem in EPSON EMP-835. Need help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-23-2010, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
I am new to projectors and need some information and help. The projector is a EPSON EMP-835(LCD).

Problem: I was seeing purple spots in the projected image from the projector. I took it apart and found the usual dust sticking on the polarizers. In this projector there are 2 polarizers before the LCD's for the green and blue LCD's.For these two LCD's, the first polarizer had the normal coloring on the filter,the polarizer closest to the LCD looked clear.with a clear film glued to it. The red path has only one polarizer before the LCD.

Most of them cleaned up very well with a lens cloth, until I came to the one closest to the blue LCD. When I was cleaning the clear one(the one closest to the blue LCD) the lens cloth scratched the clear surface very badly. I assumed this happened because this plarizer was damaged by the blue light UV causing it to be softer than the others. I did not use any chemicals, just my breath.

I assembled the projector back together and powered it up. Now the picture has less blue and is kind of yellow. I must have damaged the second blue polarizer(the clear one) with the scratches . I let it cool down, then I took it apart again and took out the second polarizer(the clear one). Reassembled the projector and powered up again. Now the picture has way too much blue. Makes sense, since I took out the second blue polarizer.

My questions:

1. Why is there 2 polarizers for the blue and green LCD's and not the red one? To filter out more of the respective colors to balance the red? Do all LCD projectors have 2 polarizers before the green and blue LCD's and only one for the red LCD? It seems like there are more polarizers in the newer designs to increase the contrast ratio.(any one has a link for a explanation?)