TruVue Vango - Owner's Thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 762 Old 06-28-2014, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CoreyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
And that last post may have been premature.

I'm now testing with shorter, better quality HDMI cables (had to run through a pass through device) and at first glance no problems.

Maybe I'll try to watch both world cup matches on Monday downstairs and follow up with a movie for a true test.

So many reasons to think it was a power issue that if it really was a cable issue I'm baffled, but relieved for now.
CoreyM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 762 Old 06-29-2014, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Glad you had a good outcome. I am using a 30 ft (I think) from Blue Jeans cable. Never had a problem even using an L shaped adapter to help eliminate cable strain. It fit tightly in the socket.

Now only if I could get my projector back. Going to send another email tomorrow.


Kevin
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #753 of 762 Old 06-29-2014, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CoreyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Today's findings are less encouraging. Got some experimenting to do though.

Definitely it is some kind of handshake issue causing the power cycles.

Going into the receiver menu while connected seems to have given me a stable connection. Also in the past the issue may have been resolved by input changes and other triggers to the receivers OSD.

Not sure if it may also have to do with powering on and off the receiver after the projector.

Problems started when I did some theater upgrades in my old house - one to put power above the projector mount but the other was a HDMI through Cat-5 which brought on all kinds of fun issues. I need to find the original cabling I was using but am at a bit of a loss.

Last edited by CoreyM; 06-29-2014 at 09:13 PM.
CoreyM is offline  
post #754 of 762 Old 06-30-2014, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have had the occasional handshake issues. Cycling the power on everything always fixed it.

Hope you find the problem.

Kevin
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #755 of 762 Old 06-30-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CoreyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Turned on for World Cup today and no issues whatsoever (using the cheap long cable, no pass through).

I did notice my Harmony turns on the receiver first. Will probably reprogram to turn on the projector and wait 15 seconds. Projector is the one device not controlled by IR.
CoreyM is offline  
post #756 of 762 Old 07-01-2014, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CoreyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Fired up again for USMNT match, no problems.

Seems once I started troubleshooting as a handshake issue all the problems have leveled off. HDCP is truly the devil.
CoreyM is offline  
post #757 of 762 Old 07-02-2014, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
First let me say, I hate HDMI handshake protocols and I hate HDMI handshake protocols. I could go on.

I do have good news! I just got the info that my projector will be repaired by Friday and the bill in $855 including shipping. (and lost sleep) So around $900 including the wire transfer fee to the bank.

Still have to work out the credit for the unneeded boards that they sent via EE so I can finally pay that $500 bill.
CoreyM likes this.
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #758 of 762 Old 07-07-2014, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Tom Bond is trying to help with the board return. (with maybe a restocking fee) The factory folks had said no return on them. This is after they were the ones who diagnosed the problem and said I needed these boards.


Tom is a great guy. I wish that EE had continued in the PJ business.

K

Last edited by PhotoKevin; 07-07-2014 at 02:22 PM.
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #759 of 762 Old 07-07-2014, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 3,636
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 139
No reason for you to pay if its their fault they didn't diagnose the issue properly. Did they ever say exactly what the issue was? Sounds like a scaler/DMD controller board issue.

Last edited by Seegs108; 07-07-2014 at 03:11 PM.
Seegs108 is offline  
post #760 of 762 Old 07-07-2014, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It turned out to be the formatter board.

They also found an issue with the lens assembly that was not there on shipment. They repaired this a no charge.

Might have to eat this cost just to get my projector back.

On Edit: I think I am am mistaken and it was not the formatter board. Will update when I find the info

K

Last edited by PhotoKevin; 07-07-2014 at 04:12 PM.
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #761 of 762 Old 07-07-2014, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Right now, I pretty much regret buying the Vango.

I bought it to make my life simpler. It has made it more complex.

K

Last edited by PhotoKevin; 07-07-2014 at 05:00 PM.
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #762 of 762 Old 07-07-2014, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Went back and checked. It was the DMD board that was replaced. They sent me a formatter and and the video board initially.

The string of email is very, very long.

K
PhotoKevin is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson , Stewart Firehawk G3

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off