post #10021 of 10029 Old 10-03-2014, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Degicank View Post
Thank you, johnsmith808, for responding. I look forward to seeing your results.

After researching a little online, I've read about the possibility that the "Ballast PWB" could be the culprit in my situation. Apparently, this part can blow out with the lamp. I'm no expert, but this sounds reasonable considering it is the part that the lamp plugs directly into. If anyone has any input or knowledge about this part, it would be much appreciated.

Also, Does anyone have experience replacing the Ballast PWB? If so, what is the level of difficulty to replace this part? I've built a few desktop PCs and a HTPC, but that's about as far as my level of expertise goes.

Thanks for your help!

BTW, I've read so many posts about how the original lamps for the RS40/x3 have burned out quickly. I must have lucked out. I bought my RS40 in 2011 when it was brand new, and my lamp (original 001 lamp) lasted past 3000 hours with minimal dimming that I could detect. However, I did have it running in high mode for the last several hundred hours. I'm now thinking that I should have replaced the lamp prior to it blowing out when I reached the 3000 hour mark. I'm thinking the blow out may have taken the Ballast with it. This is my first time replacing a lamp, so just trying to figure all this stuff out.
Okay so I got the estimate back from Mendtronix. The problem was diagnosed to be just as you guessed; the Ballast PWB. The part was listed at $195. They also are fixing my front IR receiver, cleaning optics, filters and testing all functions and updating firmware. The total came out to $495 plus $39 return shipping. That's not bad at all. I'll post again once everything is done.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #10022 of 10029 Old 10-06-2014, 07:13 AM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10