Official JVC RS40/X3 Owners Thread - Page 336 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10051 of 10054 Old 05-23-2015, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
foofoobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lamp light blinking and warning light lit...PJ won't come on..

Like may fellow RS40/X3 owners, I had been very happy with my AVSF purchase (circa 2011). However, for some reason, the standby light turns green when turned on for about a minute, after which it turns red (along with the warning light) and the lamp light continues to blink. The PJ shutter remains open even after an attempt to shut it down.

Does this mean that it's time to replace the bulb?

Note that:

  1. The bulb had < 1000 hours on it (it's sparingly, but regularly used)
  2. There was NO prior lamp life warning prior to the incident
  3. A visual inspection of the bulb failed to reveal anything obvious and the filament looked intact (however that may not be the criteria for a burnout)


Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. TIA...
foofoobar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10052 of 10054 Old Yesterday, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by foofoobar View Post
Like may fellow RS40/X3 owners, I had been very happy with my AVSF purchase (circa 2011). However, for some reason, the standby light turns green when turned on for about a minute, after which it turns red (along with the warning light) and the lamp light continues to blink. The PJ shutter remains open even after an attempt to shut it down.

Does this mean that it's time to replace the bulb?

Note that:

  1. The bulb had < 1000 hours on it (it's sparingly, but regularly used)
  2. There was NO prior lamp life warning prior to the incident
  3. A visual inspection of the bulb failed to reveal anything obvious and the filament looked intact (however that may not be the criteria for a burnout)


Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. TIA...
I know that you must know that this has been documented many times in this thread. Ante up for a new motherboard or power supply/ballast. As a free alternative before you go to that extreme try loading the latest firmware. You can find that at JVC under the UK region, I think. You need an old Windows PC to do it. Check this thread for these details as it has also been discussed many times.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #10053 of 10054 Old Today, 05:23 AM
Newbie
 
Sithuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lens position calibration

Will the lens position calibration procedure below work if the projector is not perfectly level and have its light centre axis aligned at 90 degrees to the plane of the screen? So, for example, my x3 is aligned at a slight angle to the screen and I use the feet to get it level to the screen.

Does anyone know if, or how, the lens position gearing can be damaged by using lens shift towards extremes?

Is there any image quality impact from using a slight amount of lens shift?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post


Quote:
Quote: Originally Posted by JonStatt:
If the lens wasn't centered properly at the factory this can be corrected. Move the lens to what you believe it "true centre". Then go into the service menu and select "reset lens data". This will set the new central lens position to wherever the lens is currently. This should then obtain the movement that you require.
I have an idea of how to tell if you have your projector truly set for zero lens shift. I haven't actually tried this, but I don't see why it wouldn't work. First find any test pattern (from the AVS HD Calibration disc or any other test disc such as DVE) where the center of the image is clearly identifed. If you have true zero vertical and horizontal lens shift then as you zoom in and out the center of the projected image will remain at the same point on the screen. If the image center moves up or down you do not actually have zero vertical lens offset and/or if it moves right or left then you do not actually have zero horizontal lens shift. Once you find the vertical and horizontal lens shift settings that keeps the center point of the projected image stationary as you zoom in and out then you have found the correct settings to provide zero lens offset. If you then feel it necessary you should be able to go into the JVC projector's service menu and reset the center point for lens shift to the position you have come up with.

Anyone see a reason this wouldn't work?

Last edited by Sithuk; Today at 05:29 AM.
Sithuk is offline  
post #10054 of 10054 Old Today, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
foofoobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
I know that you must know that this has been documented many times in this thread. Ante up for a new motherboard or power supply/ballast. As a free alternative before you go to that extreme try loading the latest firmware. You can find that at JVC under the UK region, I think. You need an old Windows PC to do it. Check this thread for these details as it has also been discussed many times.
JackB,

Thanks -- since the problem hasn't been resolved after an upgrade to 1.8, guess it's repair time .

A couple of things to note:

  1. The update tool flashed the FW without errors, but it couldn't get the FW version (error 50) (am assuming the update still worked). Has anyone tried getting the FW version (couldn't find anything on the thread)
  2. The tool can be made to work on any 32-bit version of Windows (including 8.1), but requires a little bit of work. If someone is stuck and doesn't have access to Windows XP, drop me a PM
foofoobar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off