Help choose a FullHD 3D projector for 30 person mini theatre - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 12-25-2010, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone!

I am a newbie both here at AVS and in theater building.

I am considering opening a small and low-cost 3D cinema in Uzbekistan (Central Asia) for approx. 30 persons. The setup I am aiming at should be Full HD and 3D capable.

The room I am building is approx. 650 sq ft. I am considering 6 chairs x 5 rows seating with a 160" screen. Distance from screen to 1st row is 8 ft and to last row is 25 ft.

Originally I was planning a JVC RS50 projector at 1300 lumens. But it turns out that active shutter glass technology loses 80% of brightness and it is no good for my 160" screen. Now I am considering an LG CF3D polarization projector at 1250 lumens in 3D mode (2500 in 3D, according to specs).

So, guru of projectors, I need your help in choosing optimal projector and screen for my future theater.

Thanks beforehand!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 12-26-2010, 01:12 AM - Thread Starter

As one of our fellows pointed out here, it is acceptable to have 5 ftL brightness for a 3D movie, while 2D acceptable brightness is 4 ftL. If this is true and I use JVC RS50 projector with 1.8 gain non-silver screen, I can have as big as 160" screen and the visitors will be pleased.

-- OR --

should I better go with LG CF3D projector with much higher brightness but necessity of a silver screen?
post #3 of 4 Old 12-29-2010, 07:10 AM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bittabola View Post

As one of our fellows pointed out here, it is acceptable to have 5 ftL brightness for a 3D movie, while 2D acceptable brightness is 4 ftL. If this is true and I use JVC RS50 projector with 1.8 gain non-silver screen, I can have as big as 160" screen and the visitors will be pleased.